English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 July 2016, 19:03   #1
Bastet
 
Posts: n/a
Amiga on a PC monitor.

Hello,

I've just registered and have a random question

Currently, I am using my Amiga (A1200) on a 40" Smart TV with an RGB to Scart lead. It works perfectly.

However, it is really awkward playing on the TV and I'd much rather play at my desk on the PC monitor.

I have tried two different Scart to HDMI converters on the monitor and it did not work.

How do I find out if my monitor can handle the lower res (15 KHz is it?)?

I have bought a VGA cable and was thinking of using this for the picture:

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...roducts_id=183

and then buying this for the sound cables:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Amiga-Soun...item1e93c10e92

Is this likely to work?

My monitor is a iiyama ProLite B2888UHSU (a 4k monitor) and it has 1 VGA port, 2 HDMI2 (HDMI2?!?!?!) ports, two 'display ports', some USB ports and a DVGA port.

I'd love to sit at my desk and play.

Thanks for your time!
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 06 July 2016, 19:23   #2
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,355
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
It will not work with the adapter you showed, as it does not convert the frequency, only the connector.

According to your monitor's specs:
Horizontal sync 24 - 140 KHz
Vertical sync 24 - 76 Hz

However any scandoubler will do the trick, as the monitor can do the Amiga's PAL vertical frequency, which is just under 50Hz.

Incidentally you're not missing much from the lower end of the horizontal sync, as it's a bit over 15kHz on the Amiga. Perhaps it might still work, if the monitor is a bit out of spec.

Every now and then a monitor with both HDMI and VGA inputs can take 15kHz via the VGA port too.
Jope is offline  
Old 06 July 2016, 21:57   #3
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,379
A SCART to HDMI adapter should work, however the ones I've tried are not good for gaming due to significant latency problems.

I wouldn't expect your monitor to sync to the Amiga signal directly through VGA. You can try as sometimes you get surprised, but don't get your hopes up. You can't see it from the specs, so the only way to find out is to find someone with the same monitor who tried it, or try it yourself.

Last edited by demolition; 06 July 2016 at 22:03.
demolition is offline  
Old 07 July 2016, 10:24   #4
TreacleWench
Amigaaaarrrrgghhh

TreacleWench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Cranfield, Bedfordshire, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 93
I would recommend one of these:

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...oducts_id=1148

Its expensive but it will give the best picture possible on a modern monitor.
TreacleWench is offline  
Old 07 July 2016, 11:33   #5
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,379
I wouldn't recommend the Indivision AGA MkII for gaming. It is very fiddly to get working properly in 50 Hz mode to ensure smooth scrolling and with some monitors it is almost impossible. It is ok for WB though, but it seems to me that the OP is mainly interested in gaming.

The Indivision AGA MkI is a lot better in this regard, but hard to find.
demolition is offline  
Old 07 July 2016, 12:11   #6
TreacleWench
Amigaaaarrrrgghhh

TreacleWench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Cranfield, Bedfordshire, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 93
To be honest I have never had any issues getting an Indivision working on any monitor or TV and I have had the Mk1, Mk2 and ECS. Yes, there is the scrolling artifacts but they never bothered me. If you are playing a fast moving game you will be too busy to notice them.

If you really want a perfect picture then a 15KHz CRT monitor or an RGB connection to a CRT PVM is the way to go.

Last edited by TreacleWench; 07 July 2016 at 12:16. Reason: Atrocious grammar
TreacleWench is offline  
Old 07 July 2016, 12:22   #7
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by TreacleWench View Post
To be honest I have never had any issues getting an Indivision working on any monitor or TV
But many other people have. You have just been lucky. I could never get my TV to show a signal from my Indivision AGA MkII no matter what I tried.
demolition is offline  
Old 07 July 2016, 12:27   #8
TreacleWench
Amigaaaarrrrgghhh

TreacleWench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Cranfield, Bedfordshire, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 93
Fair enough

The only trouble I really had was that the Mk1 would come off the chip if the amiga was jogged, it was never a good fit!
TreacleWench is offline  
Old 07 July 2016, 13:31   #9
attle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: RAM:
Posts: 64
A small CRT TV connected with a RGB SCART cable will be a better experience than any LCD solution you try. A lot cheaper, too.
attle is offline  
Old 07 July 2016, 15:32   #10
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 710
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
But many other people have. You have just been lucky. I could never get my TV to show a signal from my Indivision AGA MkII no matter what I tried.
why would you use an indivision to connect an amiga to a tv?
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 07 July 2016, 15:37   #11
TreacleWench
Amigaaaarrrrgghhh

TreacleWench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Cranfield, Bedfordshire, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooverphonique View Post
why would you use an indivision to connect an amiga to a tv?
You get a nice picture on a modern LCD, connecting via RGB SCART looks terrible.
TreacleWench is offline  
Old 07 July 2016, 17:53   #12
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,355
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Quote:
Originally Posted by TreacleWench View Post
Yes, there is the scrolling artifacts but they never bothered me.
I hate them.

There's no point in playing with real hardware, if you don't get smooth scrollers.

You can get the same tearing and shuddering with WinUAE for free.
Jope is offline  
Old 07 July 2016, 18:00   #13
TreacleWench
Amigaaaarrrrgghhh

TreacleWench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Cranfield, Bedfordshire, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
I hate them.

There's no point in playing with real hardware, if you don't get smooth scrollers.

You can get the same tearing and shuddering with WinUAE for free.
Lol, true! All my retro gaming these days is done on a CRT, there is no replacement.
TreacleWench is offline  
Old 08 July 2016, 00:22   #14
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooverphonique View Post
why would you use an indivision to connect an amiga to a tv?
Because my TV doesn't have a particularly good RGB SCART input (it cuts off part of the picture) so I wanted to try how it looked through the HDMI input. With some tweaking, it could even have been possible to achieve almost smooth 50 Hz scrolling since 50 Hz is a standard with HDMI. But no go - I never even got a picture.
demolition is offline  
Old 08 July 2016, 17:12   #15
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,355
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Quote:
Originally Posted by TreacleWench View Post
Lol, true! All my retro gaming these days is done on a CRT, there is no replacement.
I've done a lot of work searching for shudder/tear free TFTs and signal paths to get the picture visible on them, so I'm mostly happy with those.
Jope is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which monitor is better for my Amiga? stu232 support.Hardware 2 23 April 2014 22:23
Amiga To Monitor LazerBall support.Hardware 2 19 February 2007 19:14
Schematic diagram of an Amiga 1942 or Amiga 1940 monitor Vaclav support.Hardware 0 18 May 2006 06:18
Amiga Monitor xalakibaniou support.Hardware 2 06 October 2005 16:12
Amiga Monitor Brent MarketPlace 0 12 August 2002 15:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.29706 seconds with 11 queries