English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 June 2016, 11:52   #1
headkase
Highly Contagious

headkase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 60
Bug in x64 file requester and bug in Blizzard PPC ROM filesize

Two bugs I've come across:

1. Opening a file requester with the x64 version of WinUAE causes it to crash. For example, the file requester to attach a adf image or select a hard drive directory.

2. The ROM lookup for the Blizzard PPC preset, selecting the A1200 with one in the quick-start, says "512k" ROM. The actual ROM is 256K, and while that preset is selected as the default every launch of WinUAE will complain about the "missing" ROM.

Thank you Toni, has anybody told you today that you rock? Because you do.

Edit: WinUAE 3.3.0 for both bugs.

Edit2: Not WinUAE bugs, problem exists between keyboard and chair.

Last edited by headkase; 26 June 2016 at 14:20.
headkase is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 26 June 2016, 12:07   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by headkase View Post
Two bugs I've come across:

1. Opening a file requester with the x64 version of WinUAE causes it to crash. For example, the file requester to attach a adf image or select a hard drive directory.
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=80216

Quote:
2. The ROM lookup for the Blizzard PPC preset, selecting the A1200 with one in the quick-start, says "512k" ROM. The actual ROM is 256K, and while that preset is selected as the default every launch of WinUAE will complain about the "missing" ROM.
BPPC flash chip is 512k and boot menu config is saved above first 256k.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 26 June 2016, 12:11   #3
headkase
Highly Contagious

headkase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 60
For 1: I did just reinstall my Amiga Forever 2016 yesterday, and that is about when I also started to get the crash. Right clicking an ADF in explorer does now show an "RP9" entry. That sucks.

For 2: Is there anything I can do to "make it right"?
headkase is offline  
Old 26 June 2016, 13:39   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by headkase View Post
For 1: I did just reinstall my Amiga Forever 2016 yesterday, and that is about when I also started to get the crash. Right clicking an ADF in explorer does now show an "RP9" entry. That sucks.
You need to do boring debugging (as listed in linked thread) to find out which extension is the broken one.

Quote:
For 2: Is there anything I can do to "make it right"?
Don't enable quickstart? (not much point with "high end" configs anyway).
Enter BPPC boot menu and save config, it should generate missing part of rom image.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 26 June 2016, 13:57   #5
headkase
Highly Contagious

headkase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 60
Thank you Toni, I chose a quickstart A1200 w/ BPPC and held escape while booting to get the boot menu. Then I saved the configuration and that gave me the 512kb ROM. That's one down.

For the errant explorer extensions, I installed C64 Forever 2011, Amiga Forever 2016 (then updated that to the latest beta) yesterday. So it is likely one of those context extensions is to blame. That one I'm just going to stick my middle finger up at and just use the x86 version of WinUAE. Really, memory amounts for emulated Amigas don't need to be anywhere near as high to run into the limits.
headkase is offline  
Old 26 June 2016, 14:17   #6
headkase
Highly Contagious

headkase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 60
I decided to not be lazy after all and went and found the extension causing the crash: Avast Antivirus was the culprit.

So, two out of two down - thank you for putting up with me.
headkase is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bug: Floppies is not included in default File Scanner xerion567 support.FS-UAE 1 19 September 2015 22:25
Unusual Pointer Bug caused by corrupt file bits? Mnemesi support.Other 2 02 April 2012 19:10
Requester Bug when copying IPF to Standard ADF with X-Copy/Power Copy. BarryB support.WinUAE 9 17 January 2012 20:20
Boing Bag 2 ROM Updade Bug? Leandro Jardim support.WinUAE 14 12 May 2010 20:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11890 seconds with 11 queries