English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 June 2016, 07:17   #1
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 38
Posts: 782
Where to buy a nullmodem cable?

Where can I pick up a correctly wired nullmodem cable? It's for gaming (Stunt Car Racer etc) but neither Vesalia nor AmiKit have any.
TenLeftFingers is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 June 2016, 08:05   #2
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 469
For gaming it doesn't need to be correctly wired for "handshaking", only three wires are enough for Stunt Car Racer, Lotus2, Super Skidmarks etc.

In the simplest form it's easy to make yourself if you don't find a suitable cable anywhere. Just two female 25-pin d-sub connectors, cross connect pins 2 and 3 (data), and straight connection for the pin 7 (ground).

Here's an another diagram with the full handshaking, which is mostly needed with different kinds of file transfer protocols: http://www.hardwarebook.info/Nullmodem_(25-25)

Last edited by jPV; 22 June 2016 at 08:17.
jPV is offline  
Old 22 June 2016, 08:12   #3
ptyerman
Registered User

ptyerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Worksop/UK
Age: 53
Posts: 927
There is one of these: https://www.cabledepot.co.uk/advance...x=0&search.y=0

I use this retailer for all my cables, they are pretty good and cheap. If not there is always eBay.
If you get one you may as well go for the full wired version, it can be used for all purposes then.
ptyerman is offline  
Old 22 June 2016, 09:54   #4
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 38
Posts: 782
Thanks jPV / ptyerman. It's good to know how to make it (or have it to reference) but I don't have the components anyway. I'll go for one of these: http://www.cabledepot.co.uk/null-mod...le-p-2124.html

And bring it to the Irish Amiga meetup on July 9th: http://www.meetup.com/Amiga-Users-Ir...nts/231909408/

Cheers!
TenLeftFingers is offline  
Old 22 June 2016, 10:03   #5
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 38
Posts: 782
Ah, they don't ship outside the UK. But I'll search ebay for the same description.
TenLeftFingers is offline  
Old 22 June 2016, 11:46   #6
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 469
And if you can link machines with 020 or 030 (like a1200s), use turbo mode in WHDLoad version of SCR, or use separate SCR Turbo executable. It's much more fun with a bit better framerate/speed than with the original A500 version

5 players league is optimal in SCR, because then every player play against each other for sure. With 6-8 player you still get four games per player, so not all are played against each other, but it'll be fun nevertheless, but just not that fair if you're very competitive persons
jPV is offline  
Old 22 June 2016, 12:29   #7
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 38
Posts: 782
I didn't know that about the leagues *or* the turbo mode - thanks for the tip!
TenLeftFingers is offline  
Old 22 June 2016, 13:14   #8
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,704
We stock Null Modem cables in our AmigaKit.com webstore:

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...rds=null+modem
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 22 June 2016, 13:22   #9
Ratteler
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Bronx
Posts: 134
I can't believe anyone doesn't have these. I just unearthed like 5 of them in my bedroom "attic".

I'm old.
Ratteler is offline  
Old 22 June 2016, 13:28   #10
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 38
Posts: 782
@amigakit.com I search "nullmodem" which is why I got no results on your site then.
@Ratteler were you worsipping the pent-amiga by candle light?
TenLeftFingers is offline  
Old 22 June 2016, 13:45   #11
Michael
A1260T/PPC/BV/SCSI/NET

Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 580
I have got this type of 4 way null modem cable.



Works as an Amiga-2-Amiga (25-25 plugs)
Works as a PC-2-PC (9-9 plugs)

Now guess how should you connect it to make it work for Amiga-2-PC link!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	nullmodem-4-way.jpg
Views:	217
Size:	47.0 KB
ID:	48931  
Michael is offline  
Old 22 June 2016, 18:10   #12
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 2,057
I'll bring one along on the 9th, or I can make one up to order and send it to you beforehand
Daedalus is offline  
Old 27 June 2016, 16:58   #13
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 38
Posts: 782
Thanks guys Daedalus, you're a gent. I've ordered one anyway as it's good to have and by the sounds of it a few more will follow suit now that they realise what they can do with them
TenLeftFingers is offline  
Old 27 June 2016, 17:11   #14
Sir_Lucas
Registered User

Sir_Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by TenLeftFingers View Post
Thanks guys Daedalus, you're a gent. I've ordered one anyway as it's good to have and by the sounds of it a few more will follow suit now that they realise what they can do with them
Now, just to follow this site
http://www.amiga-online-games.de/gam...tribut=netzart
Sir_Lucas is offline  
Old 01 July 2016, 01:37   #15
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 38
Posts: 782
The icing on the cake Sir_Lucas
TenLeftFingers is offline  
Old 12 October 2016, 22:09   #16
Michael
A1260T/PPC/BV/SCSI/NET

Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 580
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael View Post
Now guess how should you connect it to make it work for Amiga-2-PC link!
Well, oddly enough, you have to use the two plugs on the shortest links!
Not very good, unless you have an extra extension cable.
Michael is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Want to Buy - A600 Keyboard (Blue cable type) kipper2k MarketPlace 4 21 April 2012 19:00
Buy monitor cable for 1084s or RGB scart to tv? Lakanman support.Hardware 8 04 September 2011 22:48
Where to buy 3 way 44pin ide cable? Smiley MarketPlace 4 18 July 2006 22:06
Nullmodem cable Tolismlf support.Hardware 1 24 November 2004 13:12
Where can I buy a good null-modem cable? MethodGit support.Hardware 6 01 July 2001 14:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.29371 seconds with 12 queries