English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 June 2016, 03:58   #21
B14ck W01f
m68k all the way
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Koalaland
Posts: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
@Galahad; we haven't seen your Ghosts 'N Goblins regular AmigaDos format .ADF appear anywhere as yet...

I presume that means you are working on a nice cracktro and more importantly a full option trainer to wow us all?
...or maybe fixing the game up is just too difficult for him.
B14ck W01f is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 June 2016, 01:35   #22
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,092
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by B14ck W01f View Post
...or maybe fixing the game up is just too difficult for him.
Well i know him personally, he is simply real life busy.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 17 June 2016, 13:30   #23
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,956
I played Ghosts n Goblins for the first time yesterday. It's crazy how good of a conversion it is compared to Ghouls N Ghosts which plays like a shitty Amstrad game (sorry Denis :P).

The added thingies on the WHDLoad version like the ability to turn in the air make it quite perfect! I am sure any fellow cracker can add these features to the disk version and make it real cool. JOTD did teh WHD one so he might be the man for the job to making a floppy version.

Why weren't more arcade conversions done right like this? I have noticed a few games using that kind of vertical-ish screen format too, it's quite good for certain 80s coinop conversions!
Akira is offline  
Old 17 June 2016, 14:03   #24
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,092
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
I played Ghosts n Goblins for the first time yesterday. It's crazy how good of a conversion it is compared to Ghouls N Ghosts which plays like a shitty Amstrad game (sorry Denis :P).
Well, a lot of games were basically 8 bits games with a 16 bits low res graphics. Ghouls'n'Ghosts is one of them.

It's the not tied to the game itself, but to the coder ability, and we all know the nasty feats U.S.Gold was able to lol!

Quote:
The added thingies on the WHDLoad version like the ability to turn in the air make it quite perfect! I am sure any fellow cracker can add these features to the disk version and make it real cool. JOTD did teh WHD one so he might be the man for the job to making a floppy version.
CFOU did the GNG whdload patch.

Quote:
Why weren't more arcade conversions done right like this? I have noticed a few games using that kind of vertical-ish screen format too, it's quite good for certain 80s coinop conversions!
Why ? Ok let me explain then : because you need to extract all the tiles from the arcade roms, and this can be a complicated engineering process.
Back in the day, only the best engineers could do that. The others were mimicking the coin-op they were converting.

The amiga coder, Rich Frankish got access to the game tiles. That's why they are so arcade faithfull. The game was also an amiga first (the ST version was done a bit later).
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 17 June 2016, 15:29   #25
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
CFOU did the GNG whdload patch.
Woops! I got it wrong, sorry! Then we need to count on someone else as CFOU is MIA.

Quote:
Why ? Ok let me explain then
Yeah that makes sense, I heard of this. But that didn't explain why that kind of screen format was used. The only other game I can think of right now that uses it is Dynablaster.
Akira is offline  
Old 24 June 2016, 13:51   #26
musashi9
Registered User

musashi9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Japan
Posts: 157
Send a message via ICQ to musashi9
http://www.flashtro.com/index.php?e=...aHTML5&id=4221
musashi9 is offline  
Old 24 June 2016, 14:16   #27
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 42
Posts: 624
Excellent work as usual Musashi9.
Superman is offline  
Old 24 June 2016, 14:44   #28
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,715
I dont know what anyone else thinks but I thought some of the a.I in the cracks seems different to the ipf like the Red Devils seemed to move a bit different.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 24 June 2016, 18:20   #29
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,092
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by musashi9 View Post
Merci Musashi9 for the credits
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 24 June 2016, 23:18   #30
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by musashi9 View Post
thanks for this but it doesn't works very fine

there are pauses during game and when you activate the jump+turn I find that in the 1st level the snakes trow their bullets touching the ground which is not as it should be :check this please

can you add 2nd button joystick support ?
Sandro is offline  
Old 25 June 2016, 00:28   #31
demoniac
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: -
Posts: 1,274
Quote:
Originally Posted by musashi9 View Post
This is great, but why does DamienD think that there are no 100% cracks of this game? The crack by Defjam/CCS/Accumulators has a +7 trainer that works till the end.
demoniac is offline  
Old 25 June 2016, 00:49   #32
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by musashi9 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandro View Post
thanks for this but it doesn't works very fine

there are pauses during game and when you activate the jump+turn I find that in the 1st level the snakes trow their bullets touching the ground which is not as it should be :check this please
Is Musashi's release simply a disk crack + trainer, or is it supposed to be fixed for higher CPUs also? If it's just a disk crack, then that would explain the pauses. Fixing Ghosts 'n' Goblins is no trivial task as even the WHD patchers had trouble.

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=60335

Can anyone tell me if CFOU's WHD patch eliminates the pauses 100%? For that matter, did Jeff ever manage it with his JST patch?
DrBong is offline  
Old 25 June 2016, 05:03   #33
B14ck W01f
m68k all the way
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Koalaland
Posts: 475
Amazing work, musashi, amazing.

You can even expect even before you download what sort of cracktro you can expect to see. This is certainly a refreshing change from the bad cracks that obviously lack sound effects.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandro View Post
thanks for this but it doesn't works very fine

there are pauses during game and when you activate the jump+turn I find that in the 1st level the snakes trow their bullets touching the ground which is not as it should be :check this please
Why would anyone use this "jump+turn" feature when this feature is not even present in the original coin-op?
B14ck W01f is offline  
Old 25 June 2016, 08:10   #34
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by B14ck W01f View Post

Why would anyone use this "jump+turn" feature when this feature is not even present in the original coin-op?
it seems you never played the original arcade because have this feature otherwise you can't beat the big demons

Last edited by prowler; 27 June 2016 at 21:53. Reason: Cleanup.
Sandro is offline  
Old 25 June 2016, 08:15   #35
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBong View Post
Is Musashi's release simply a disk crack + trainer, or is it supposed to be fixed for higher CPUs also? If it's just a disk crack, then that would explain the pauses. Fixing Ghosts 'n' Goblins is no trivial task as even the WHD patchers had trouble.

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=60335

Can anyone tell me if CFOU's WHD patch eliminates the pauses 100%? For that matter, did Jeff ever manage it with his JST patch?
of course the pauses are fixed in the whdload CFOU release, such release is perfect
Sandro is offline  
Old 25 June 2016, 12:50   #36
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 42
Posts: 624
Speaking of Ghost N Goblins I just dug out my old cracked copy from years ago and it seems to be a version that isn't in TOSEC. It's a Paradox crack but it also has a cracktro from The Dual Crew saying its "100%". It has no trainer options on it but I did write on my disk that entering your name as )!( on the score board gives you invunerability which does actually work when you restart.

It does still have that message about the last 2 levels being broken but I have not tested it.

I will attach it here if anyone wants to look as I have made an ADF.
Attached Files
File Type: rar Ghost'n'Goblins.rar (423.2 KB, 49 views)
Superman is offline  
Old 26 June 2016, 04:50   #37
B14ck W01f
m68k all the way
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Koalaland
Posts: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman View Post
Speaking of Ghost N Goblins I just dug out my old cracked copy from years ago and it seems to be a version that isn't in TOSEC. It's a Paradox crack but it also has a cracktro from The Dual Crew saying its "100%". It has no trainer options on it but I did write on my disk that entering your name as )!( on the score board gives you invunerability which does actually work when you restart.

It does still have that message about the last 2 levels being broken but I have not tested it.
Then it's not 100%. You see, back in the day crackers like Paradox were notorious for not testing their cracks. What's worse with the Paradox crack is that they blamed Elite for the glitch in the graphics.
B14ck W01f is offline  
Old 26 June 2016, 12:24   #38
WayneK
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Somewhere secret
Age: 43
Posts: 238
That's because there were a bad batch of originals that had corrupted data for the last 2 levels (level 5 + 6) - presumably PDX got one (or more) of these copies to work from.
WayneK is offline  
Old 26 June 2016, 17:50   #39
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBong View Post
Can anyone tell me if CFOU's WHD patch eliminates the pauses 100%? For that matter, did Jeff ever manage it with his JST patch?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandro View Post
of course the pauses are fixed in the whdload CFOU release, such release is perfect
Well, I originally supplied Ghosts 'n' Goblins to Codetapper for WHD patching some years back and he had troubles resolving the random slowdowns or pauses. I remember CFOU taking over the patch, but didn't know if he had sorted out the bug 100% (I was crazy busy in 2013 and never did test his patch). The bug was quite perplexing as it was truly random and could not be reproduced at the same points in any one game on a particular Amiga config. Even from game to game the slowdowns were often vastly different, and sometimes the bug wouldn't appear at all until the later levels. That's why I asked.

Anyway, from what I read in this thread, it sounds like Bertrand did a great job in trying to cover all the bases with the final patch! It also seems that Jeff's JST patch was for a pre-release crack of the game, so it probably doesn't matter too much if it has the same problem or not.

Quote:
Originally Posted by B14ck W01f View Post
Then it's not 100%. You see, back in the day crackers like Paradox were notorious for not testing their cracks. What's worse with the Paradox crack is that they blamed Elite for the glitch in the graphics.
Quote:
Originally Posted by WayneK View Post
That's because there were a bad batch of originals that had corrupted data for the last 2 levels (level 5 + 6) - presumably PDX got one (or more) of these copies to work from.
Yeh, what WayneK said and what Denis said in post #3.

Quote:
Originally Posted by B14ck W01f View Post
Why would anyone use this "jump+turn" feature when this feature is not even present in the original coin-op?
The link that Denis gave in post #3 would've led you to a really interesting thread that, among other things, talked about the "jump+turn" feature in the coin-op too.....

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=54410&page=3
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=692269&postcount=45
DrBong is offline  
Old 26 June 2016, 20:45   #40
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBong View Post
Well, I originally supplied Ghosts 'n' Goblins to Codetapper for WHD patching some years back and he had troubles resolving the random slowdowns or pauses. I remember CFOU taking over the patch, but didn't know if he had sorted out the bug 100% (I was crazy busy in 2013 and never did test his patch). The bug was quite perplexing as it was truly random and could not be reproduced at the same points in any one game on a particular Amiga config. Even from game to game the slowdowns were often vastly different, and sometimes the bug wouldn't appear at all until the later levels. That's why I asked.

Anyway, from what I read in this thread, it sounds like Bertrand did a great job in trying to cover all the bases with the final patch! It also seems that Jeff's JST patch was for a pre-release crack of the game, so it probably doesn't matter too much if it has the same problem or not.
which difference is between the version you supplied to codetapper and the one by dlfrsilver?

it seems the pauses bug is related to the game running on the A1200 o related to the a 020+ because it doesn't appear when playing it on a plain A500
Sandro is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ghosts 'n Goblins DeafDaz support.Games 5 09 August 2011 16:25
Ghosts'n Goblins for KS V2.0 or V3.1? D4Ni3L3 support.Games 7 30 September 2008 20:05
Ghosts'n Goblins fc.studio Games images which need to be WHDified 59 24 March 2008 09:51
HD Installer for Ghosts'N'Goblins zambot3 support.WinUAE 2 04 February 2008 10:33
Ghosts 'n Goblins Kodoichi HOL data problems 8 03 March 2003 16:55

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23834 seconds with 12 queries