English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 June 2016, 18:53   #1
IvanEBC
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 356
Downgrade Disk for A4000

Hi Folks.

Being Emulating for years, was easy if you had a game that didn't work on my emulated A4000/060 - just downgrade it to a souped up A500 and try again.

Having a Real A4000 back in my life, i have a box of disks and finding either
1> Floppy Drive isn't what it used to be
2> Floppies aren't what they used to be
3> Stuff i'm running doesn't like the A4000

I know number 3 was a common issue but i recall ... and i could be VERY wrong - there was some disc you could boot from first that would downgrade your AGA machine to a 1.3 machine, then you could insert the floppy you wanted and it run as if it was an A500.

Its been 25 years so i could be wrong, does this still exist? or even a better method? and how would one go about finding that, as i don't know the name.

Thank you folks.

Ivan
IvanEBC is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 June 2016, 19:19   #2
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,372
Several, Degrader, Relokick for instance on the EAB file server.
zipper is offline  
Old 11 June 2016, 19:21   #3
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 8,985
Welcome to EAB and have a look in this thread for hints my Aussie colleague

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=82618
DamienD is offline  
Old 11 June 2016, 20:38   #4
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,224
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
How about WHDLoad, or do you want the actual ritual of inserting a disk?
Jope is offline  
Old 12 June 2016, 05:09   #5
IvanEBC
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 356
Zipper - Thank you - relokick i believe is the one. Had to hear it to remember it.

DamienD - Thanks for the welcome - i'll check that thread as well.

Jope - I have a complete tosec collection that will eventually move onto a gotek drive. But i have many originals here in a box as well. WHDload is something i've not considered before and not even 100% sure what it offerings over traditional disks or adfs. I might peek my head around and check it out though.

Thanks.
IvanEBC is offline  
Old 12 June 2016, 07:28   #6
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,224
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Definitely give it a go. Original disks belong in a display case or something. :-D
Jope is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Process for writing original game disk image to disk Doc99 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 6 19 May 2016 12:20
A4000 HD floppy in A1200 - Not a DOS disk OverDose support.Hardware 26 01 May 2011 01:37
Copying A4000 hard disk to PC chris74 support.Other 38 30 May 2009 16:17
Disk-2-Disk by Central Coast Software (full or demo version) mark_k request.Apps 3 09 July 2006 14:10
Newbie question: how to access files on an Amiga disk using PC disk drive? Nethead New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 04 July 2003 23:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.12383 seconds with 11 queries