English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 June 2016, 01:41   #1
crazy46guy
 
Posts: n/a
Have shader that requires PS 4.0 or above. Can it run in WinUAE?

Have shader that requires PS 4.0 or above. Can it run in WinUAE?
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 June 2016, 08:37   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
No idea, I don't think it has ever been tested. Attach or include url to the shader and I'll check if something needs updates.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 08 June 2016, 12:55   #3
crazy46guy
 
Posts: n/a
I have a complicated shader (attached) that won't compile. Here's a section from the winuaelog (attached):

44-116 [0 000=000]: Direct3D: Pixel shader 2.0+ support detected, shader filters enabled.
44-123 [0 000=000]: Device name: 'NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660' a0012000d1aa6.a1
44-140 [0 000=000]: D3D9Ex: 00000056 00020800 E0020000 000007A0 ALPHA DYNAMIC SCANLINE
44-140 [0 000=000]: D3D9Ex: PS=3.0 VS=3.0 1434*1018*0p VS=0 B=1I 32-bit 0 (16384x16384)
44-141 [0 000=000]: D3D9Ex: Attempting to load 'C:\Emulate\Other Systems\Amiga\Bin\plugins\filtershaders\direct3d\_winuae.fx'
44-158 [0 000=000]: D3D9Ex: pixelshader filter 'C:\Emulate\Other Systems\Amiga\Bin\plugins\filtershaders\direct3d\_winuae.fx':-1 enabled
44-158 [0 000=000]: D3D9Ex: Attempting to load 'C:\Emulate\Other Systems\Amiga\Bin\plugins\filtershaders\direct3d\5xBRZ.fx'
45-395 [0 000=000]: D3D9Ex: CompileEffect failed: 88760B59 S=1 F=0876 C=0B59 (2905) () C:\Emulate\Other Systems\Amiga\Bin\plugins\filtershaders\direct3d\5xBRZ.fx(279,9): error X4505: maximum temp register index exceeded

I have DirectX 11 on my machine, but the log shows WinUAE is using DirectX 9. HLSL PS 3.0 (DirectX 9) has only 32 temp registers, but HLSL PS 4.0 or above (DirectX 10+) has 4096 temp registers.

Hopefully my shader will compile with HLSL 4.0 or above. Can WinUAE use DirectX 10+ ?
Attached Files
File Type: zip HLSL.zip (15.5 KB, 57 views)
 
Old 08 June 2016, 19:22   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
DirectX9 is the only version currently supported. DX11 may be added someday but because it probably needs total rewrite and 3D stuff is annoying, it isn't going to happen too soon. At least until there is some kind of "reference" implementation for emulator use. (2d bitmap to 3d)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 09 June 2016, 11:30   #5
crazy46guy
 
Posts: n/a
I kind of expected that. Thanks for the quick response and all your great work on WinUAE.
 
Old 09 June 2016, 12:30   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
Is there any "small" open source 2D emulators that have D3D 10/11 output support? Or any other programs that output plain 2D bitmap using D3D 10/11 API.

It is much easier to understand D3D10+ "2d" basics and D3D9 differences from simple code that does not try to too many things. Getting plain D3D11 working is the first step.

(pre-emptive comment targeted to everyone: don't even think about D3D12 or Vulkan: they don't make any sense whatsoever in 2D output. They are designed for fast draw call rate. 2D output only needs single shape: a rectangle, 4 points..)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 09 June 2016, 16:52   #7
Bastich
Registered User

Bastich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 253
Proper 2d was last supported under DX8. I do kind of miss it but TBH you can do a lot more with a custom shader. including only passing in one point and having the fragment shader build the rest

Saying that I just broke all my 3d rendering (2d is fine) under DX11 (left / right handed projection matrix issue possibly) when going over to the DirectXTK (D3DX is so out of date)
Bastich is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Some shader variable that not resets between each WinUAE frame Leandro Jardim support.WinUAE 10 03 February 2015 23:07
Please help me with my shader! tjcbs support.WinUAE 3 02 February 2013 21:49
Run a CD in Winuae Champions_2002 support.WinUAE 11 05 February 2012 13:52
how to run winuae and run Tau Ceti Academy ??? funkycatspangky support.Games 7 22 July 2007 18:51
could WinUAE run this? NPI support.WinUAE 13 24 June 2005 17:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.12601 seconds with 12 queries