English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 June 2016, 07:35   #1
superfrog
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: San Francisco, USA
Posts: 9
Conquests of the Longbow (Sierra) Crash Guru on WinUAE

I'm having trouble getting Sierra On-Line's "Conquests of the Longbow" to run in WinUAE. I've tried various hardware/software configurations, and every time, it gets just past the "Loading..." screen, the screen turns black, and then a couple of seconds later, the power LED flashes, and the guru follows.
I have tried the SPS IPF as well as the TOSEC ADF copies of the game disks.

What I have tried:

WinUAE versions 3.3, 3.2.2, 3.0, and 2.4 (to eliminate a possible recently-introduced bug)
Default A500 configuration (NTSC and PAL)
Max-compatibility A500 config (all settings as close to real A500 as possible)
Stock A4000/040 configuration (This is the real Amiga I ran the game on)
Up to 3MB of RAM
With and without hard drive
1.2/1.3 and 2.0/2.1 Kickstart/Workbench

This game, and Sierra games in general on the Amiga, run from AmigaDOS, have minimal system requirements (OCS, no more than 1MB RAM, any version of Kickstart/Workbench, and no disk-based copy protection.)

I'm stumped as to why it won't run. Has anyone else had this problem, or successfully run it? If you got it to work, what configuration did you use?

Thanks!
superfrog is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 June 2016, 10:32   #2
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 8,992
Hey there superfrog,

Works fine for me with WinUAE 3.2.2 & 3.3.0 (haven't tested on previous versions as no need).

I created a 25MB HDF, setup standard WB 3.1 and then installed the game from SPS / IPF.

I run it on either of the following configurations (which are probably overkill):

... ECS / KS v3.1 (A500-A600-A2000) / 2MB Chip & 1MB RAM
... AGA / KS v3.1 (A1200) / 2MB Chip & 4MB RAM

I've uploaded the .HDF and sent you a PM with a link for you to try

Last edited by DamienD; 07 June 2016 at 10:39.
DamienD is online now  
Old 07 June 2016, 10:51   #3
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 8,992
Just tested running with slightly smaller RAM configurations and still all good

... ECS / KS v3.1 (A500-A600-A2000) / 1MB Chip RAM
... ECS / KS v3.1 (A500-A600-A2000) / 2MB Chip RAM
... AGA / KS v3.1 (A1200) / 2MB Chip RAM
DamienD is online now  
Old 07 June 2016, 11:06   #4
superfrog
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: San Francisco, USA
Posts: 9
Hey, thanks for the quick reply, DamienD. I think I figured it out, at least partially. So I was using an emulated Commodore A2091 HD controller when I installed and tried to run it from an HDF. When I ran it from a filesysem, usehf.device, or A4000 IDE scsi.device HDF, it works.

However, what still puzzles me is that it still crashes always whenever I try to run just from floppies. AFAIK it is supposed to be able to run from only floppies, so long as there are 2 floppy drives to use concurrently.

Anyway, I found a way to get it to run, so I'm not going to spend any more time fiddling around with it for now.

Cheers!
superfrog is offline  
Old 07 June 2016, 11:25   #5
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 8,992
Glad to hear that all is working for you

Oh, I've never tried running from floppy disks as I thought it needed to be installed...
DamienD is online now  
Old 07 June 2016, 15:39   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,564
It crashes somewhere inside KS ROM dos functions, jsr (a0) jumps to middle of some dos function from another dos function. Possibly due to invalid parameters or something.

Then I lost interest. Debugging KS function calls is so boring.
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crash without Guru when "expanding" Window of CubicIDE tygre support.Apps 4 31 May 2017 05:18
Conquest of the longbow - sierra jonathan project.WHDLoad 20 20 February 2016 09:19
Conquests Of The Longbow mai request.Old Rare Games 5 19 September 2010 18:07
Conquest of the Longbow Fred the Fop support.Games 8 06 June 2007 18:16
Guru problems with WinUAE HD directories Marcuz project.ClassicWB 5 04 July 2004 14:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20724 seconds with 11 queries