English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 July 2016, 01:13   #41
Adrian Browne
Jackie Chan
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ireland
Age: 39
Posts: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Ambermoon. 3D texture mapped
Legends of Valour

AGA

Albion
Shame about albion - it looks beautiful.
Adrian Browne is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 July 2016, 19:35   #42
paul1981
Registered User

paul1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: England
Posts: 121
Two games spring to my mind:

MF Tanks
http://hol.abime.net/5065

Trex Warrior
http://hol.abime.net/1506
paul1981 is offline  
Old 17 July 2016, 20:08   #43
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,327
Someone said long ago that wireframe looks dated and developers avoided this kind of vector graphics even if it was faster than filled.
s2325 is offline  
Old 18 July 2016, 08:58   #44
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,792
If you're going to do wire frame you'd at least do hidden surface removal. MF tanks looks like sheer lazy programming
alexh is offline  
Old 19 July 2016, 00:24   #45
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul1981 View Post
Two games spring to my mind:

MF Tanks
http://hol.abime.net/5065

Trex Warrior
http://hol.abime.net/1506
MF Tanks, really? Or are you being sarcastic? MF Tanks looks severely dated. In fact, for pure visuals (technicalities aside), it looks worse than Battlezone on Atari 2600 ;-)
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 22 July 2016, 13:11   #46
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
Someone said long ago that wireframe looks dated and developers avoided this kind of vector graphics even if it was faster than filled.
example - screenshot comment http://amr.abime.net/review_26321
s2325 is offline  
Old 05 August 2016, 16:12   #47
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,327
Quote:
Texture mapping for the ocs/ecs chipset.
[ Show youtube player ]
s2325 is offline  
Old 06 August 2016, 08:45   #48
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
[ Show youtube player ]
Longest spinning cube sequence ever?
Or maybe it's a song demo? :-)

Skickat från min HTC One via Tapatalk
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 07 August 2016, 16:54   #49
paul1981
Registered User

paul1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: England
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
MF Tanks, really? Or are you being sarcastic? MF Tanks looks severely dated. In fact, for pure visuals (technicalities aside), it looks worse than Battlezone on Atari 2600 ;-)
No, I wasn't being sarcastic. I like wireframe graphics. :-)

The transparency is a deliberate feature too, as it enables you to engage more efficiently. ;-)
paul1981 is offline  
Old 19 October 2016, 13:40   #50
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
Someone said long ago that wireframe looks dated and developers avoided this kind of vector graphics even if it was faster than filled.
NOT wireframe is feature of Skyblaster http://hol.abime.net/3401/boxscan
s2325 is offline  
Old 21 October 2016, 07:58   #51
kovacm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Serbia
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
[ Show youtube player ]
This is recorded on 7.xMHz 68000 (original Amiga 500 speed)??
kovacm is offline  
Old 21 October 2016, 11:07   #52
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovacm View Post
This is recorded on 7.xMHz 68000 (original Amiga 500 speed)??
I don't think so TBH. In the video you can see the WINUAE preferences window and it has CPU set to 'fastest possible'.
roondar is offline  
Old 22 October 2016, 18:45   #53
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 582
Citadel works wit A500 with 1mb ram, but screen size needs to be redused to size of stamp.

[ Show youtube player ]
utri007 is offline  
Old 22 October 2016, 20:07   #54
Sir_Lucas
Registered User

Sir_Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by utri007 View Post
Citadel works wit A500 with 1mb ram, but screen size needs to be redused to size of stamp.

[ Show youtube player ]
Great game. There's also Behind the iron gate.

This is pretty impressive:
http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=66639

[ Show youtube player ]
Sir_Lucas is offline  
Old 23 October 2016, 17:29   #55
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by utri007 View Post
Citadel works wit A500 with 1mb ram, but screen size needs to be redused to size of stamp.

[ Show youtube player ]
Citadel was mentioned already in post #4
But while at it, what did the OP mean exactly? Proper 3d? Or any pseudo / fake 3d? Citadel is of course not running on a proper 3d engine.

Skickat från min LG-H850 via Tapatalk
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 23 October 2016, 17:30   #56
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,419
Btw, that Wildcat demo looks real smooth if its running on a real A500.

Skickat från min LG-H850 via Tapatalk
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 23 October 2016, 19:14   #57
kovacm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Serbia
Posts: 201
Yes, wildcat wolfenstein 3d part is very impresive!!
kovacm is offline  
Old 23 October 2016, 23:35   #58
Sir_Lucas
Registered User

Sir_Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
Btw, that Wildcat demo looks real smooth if its running on a real A500.
I've just found an even better video:
[ Show youtube player ]

There's only one way to find out if it really runs that good on a real hardware. Run it on a real hardware. This demo runs on any Amiga 500 with Kick 1.2
Honestly, I've never seen such smooth 3D on OCS/ECS.
Sir_Lucas is offline  
Old 24 October 2016, 22:25   #59
LuMan
Amigan - an loving it!!
LuMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 500
That is one hell of a good demo. Shame my Miggies are all in storage. Once we get moved, I'm cranking that one up!!
LuMan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why is the homebrew scene on the Amiga not as impressive... trydowave Amiga scene 383 21 September 2015 18:25
What is the technically most impressive A500 game? mc68060 Amiga scene 67 03 June 2015 22:32
The Tales of Grupp - Another impressive homebrew ZX Spectrum title! Neil79 Retrogaming General Discussion 3 24 February 2015 19:19
emulators for unexpanded CD32? s2325 Retrogaming General Discussion 5 20 April 2009 18:41
Impressive and Amazing PD Software! Any thoughts? hamster Retrogaming General Discussion 0 18 July 2004 01:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21039 seconds with 11 queries