English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 May 2016, 00:28   #1
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,148
WinUAE file dialogs and more

Hi,

If there is something I miss from AmigaOS apps in many Windows apps, is the way ASL requesters automatically fill the text gadget used for entering the file name with the name of the last file which the user selected. It's much better than simply displaying a empty gadget because with a simple keystroke I can automatically select the next file on the current directory for selecting, for example, another game or the next disk from a same game. Toni, could you modify the WinUAE file dialogs for filling them with the last file name?

There is something more: mouse/joystick autoswitch is a great feature for plugging the joysticks like we have done with on our Amiga's at that time, but it can't detect the joystick or mouse properly when the input configuration is set to any other than of "Game Ports Panel". I am using the "Configuration #1" to fix a small incompatiblity with my brazillian keyboard with AmigaOS 68k.

Thank you much for accepting my suggestion about the "Master harddrive write protection". Unfortunately I think there is something wrong with it, the last time I selected it and booted Workbench from a floppy, my IDE RDB hardfile was still unprotected. And I cant write anything to the directory file system I have mounted, because WinUAE protects it always, no matter if I boot from floppy or HD.

Greets

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 15 January 2017 at 17:59.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 May 2016, 16:35   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leandro Jardim View Post
If there is something I miss from AmigaOS apps in many Windows apps, is the way ASL requesters automatically fill the text gadget used for entering the file name with the name of the last file which the user selected. It's much better than simply displaying a empty gadget because with a simple keystroke I can automatically select the next file on the current directory for selecting, for example, another game or the next disk from a same game. Toni, could you modify the WinUAE file dialogs for filling them with the last file name?
Windows dialogs unfortunately can't work that way. Currently selected file name in file list can't be pre-selected (or automatically scrolled to). File name field can be filled but it won't help.

But there is easier way to select other disks (at least when using GUI), right click floppy "Select image click" button.


Quote:
There is something more: mouse/joystick autoswitch is a great feature for plugging the joysticks like we have done with on our Amiga's at that time, but it can't detect the joystick or mouse properly when the input configuration is set to any other than of "Game Ports Panel". I am using the "Configuration #1" to fix a small incompatiblity with my brazillian keyboard with AmigaOS 68k.
It is not that easy to do in that mode. Maybe later, if even possible.

EDIT: explain a bit what happens or does not happen.

Quote:
Thank you much for accepting my suggestion about the "Master harddrive write protection". Unfortunately I think there is something wrong with it, the last time I selected it and booted Workbench from a floppy, my IDE RDB hardfile was still unprotected. And I cant write anything to the directory file system I have mounted, because WinUAE protects it always, no matter if I boot from floppy or HD.
IDE write protection is not supported. Problem is that there is no "write protected" error code in IDE protocol, IDE only has unrecoverable errors like "bad block", "CRC error" and so on. Any write attempt most likely would cause filesystem to return some annoying error dialogs or retrying it forever.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 23 May 2016 at 17:25.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 23 May 2016, 22:16   #3
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,148
Quote:
It is not that easy to do in that mode. Maybe later, if even possible.

EDIT: explain a bit what happens or does not happen.
The joystick is not "inserted" on WinUAE when I hold the button. The joystick button itself is working, because I can use the button to dismiss the presentation of most games (even without any joystick set on WinUAE port 2). But I can't use the d-pad to control anything. I must set the joystick manually.

Quote:
IDE write protection is not supported. Problem is that there is no "write protected" error code in IDE protocol, IDE only has unrecoverable errors like "bad block", "CRC error" and so on. Any write attempt most likely would cause filesystem to return some annoying error dialogs or retrying it forever.
It would be possible for WinUAE to temporarily disable the autoconfig entry for all the HDs like it is possible to do with the Early Setup manually? This would be the prefered way for working with WinUAE hardfiles and TOSEC disks found on the NET.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 24 May 2016, 16:49   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leandro Jardim View Post
The joystick is not "inserted" on WinUAE when I hold the button. The joystick button itself is working, because I can use the button to dismiss the presentation of most games (even without any joystick set on WinUAE port 2). But I can't use the d-pad to control anything. I must set the joystick manually.
Did you also configure the joystick using Input panel? Autoswitch in Input panel mode basically only enables the device in Input panel.

Does it work if you manually enable the joystick using Input panel?

Quote:
It would be possible for WinUAE to temporarily disable the autoconfig entry for all the HDs like it is possible to do with the Early Setup manually? This would be the prefered way for working with WinUAE hardfiles and TOSEC disks found on the NET.
I don't see the point (just use different config?) but I'll add disable option to ROM panel boot ROM selection.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 24 May 2016, 19:10   #5
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,148
Quote:
I don't see the point (just use different config?) but I'll add disable option to ROM panel boot ROM selection.
Toni if you wish, remove this option and also the old "master harddrive write protection" from misc panel. Before I had thought it was possible to use it to protect the harddrive during accidental reboots with infected disks from infecting the harddrive but it would not work, because the virus would resist on memory to a reboot. I promise I will not suggest anymore any "fantastic" features for WinUAE, sorry. Hopefully I am not the only to ask weird things for you.

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 17 June 2016 at 15:58.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shadow of the Beast II dialogs s2325 request.Other 0 25 July 2011 00:57
New Winuae help file available pjhutch support.WinUAE 1 09 October 2005 08:13
WinUAE help file... Djay support.WinUAE 1 25 November 2002 01:53
Windowed/Full Screen Display Dialogs Quickbeam support.WinUAE 3 09 July 2002 11:58
New WinUAE Help File Paul support.WinUAE 0 03 June 2002 10:40

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14280 seconds with 11 queries