English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 May 2016, 13:44   #1
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vega Sector
Age: 45
Posts: 2,286
Mac Emulation

Anyone emulating Mac?

While cleaning some emulation stuff, I found my 7.5.3 setup with few games installed. With bit of tweak and download of new version of emulator, got it to work again. (not sure why I haven't updated to 7.5.5)

Was wondering if anyone got any higher OS running on windows emulation (or even if is possible, as it is PPC iirc).

At the moment trying to find free IMG extractor so that I can install few more games.



Also this weekend I might try this setup on RaspberryPi/RetroPie.
Anubis is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 May 2016, 16:51   #2
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,370
7.6.1 was probably the latest before PPC.
zipper is offline  
Old 20 May 2016, 17:31   #3
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 469
8.1 was the last 68k version, but it had couple of things to note to get it to work on 060 at least... I had it installed with Fusion/Shapeshiter at the old days. Haven't had interest to emulating since then (after it got old, it was more fun to emulate new stuff than retro things), but probably would have the hardfiles somewhere.

Last edited by jPV; 20 May 2016 at 17:43.
jPV is offline  
Old 21 May 2016, 21:18   #4
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,698
Gimbal you can find Mac OS 8.img.sit here, iirc to run on Amiga you have to disable some extentions.
http://www9.zippyshare.com/v/d0uPzdWS/file.html
Some games id recommend Blackthorne and Alone in the Dark Series
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 21 May 2016, 21:53   #5
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 712
MacOS8 on 68k really isn't comfortable. 7.6.1 is really what you want to run if you want to run old 68k games etc.
Locutus is offline  
Old 23 May 2016, 18:59   #6
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vega Sector
Age: 45
Posts: 2,286
I haven't tried 8 on 68K, but did try 9.0 on PPC, and was able to install OS, install game and run it without issues. Everything seems to work, except networking. (still trying to figure that one out )

Here is screen shoot Civ 2 Gold running on OS9.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Civ2Gold.PNG
Views:	130
Size:	178.5 KB
ID:	48566  
Anubis is offline  
Old 23 May 2016, 19:26   #7
jizmo
Registered Abuser

 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Valencia / Spain
Posts: 119
There's a nifty little program called Boxer that packs the PC executables to independent packages so that they can be run on Apple computers by simply double clicking on the icon.

To have something similar one day on Amiga and to be able to run 68k mac games straight from the desktop would be super for us not familiar with the mac emulation.
jizmo is offline  
Old 23 May 2016, 20:12   #8
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,698
Quote:
Originally Posted by jizmo View Post
There's a nifty little program called Boxer that packs the PC executables to independent packages so that they can be run on Apple computers by simply double clicking on the icon.

To have something similar one day on Amiga and to be able to run 68k mac games straight from the desktop would be super for us not familiar with the mac emulation.
Something similar or something like RunInUae could probably be done with some scripts I wanted to do something so I could launch Mac games from AGS but couldn't get any any info on creating a batch file on the Mac side to put in the Startup Mac folder.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 24 May 2016, 21:05   #9
ma693541
Computer Wizard

ma693541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ramberg/Norway
Posts: 573
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gimba1 View Post
Anyone emulating Mac?

Was wondering if anyone got any higher OS running on windows emulation (or even if is possible, as it is PPC iirc).
I got OS X Tiger (10.4.0) to run on my old Windows XP PC, thru a custom built PearPC. Can try it again on my New Laptop running Windows 10, but OS X Tiger demands minimum of 3GB HD image.
ma693541 is offline  
Old 25 May 2016, 17:01   #10
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vega Sector
Age: 45
Posts: 2,286
That is not retro..., kudos to be able to do it.

I've emulated old systems, 7.5.5, OS8.1 and OS9. Games play well and you don't need killer system to emulate them.

There is interesting site to get some old Mac games, but not sure we can post it here.
Anubis is offline  
Old 25 May 2016, 22:32   #11
knightbeat
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 13
Anyone remember Alive Mediasoft? I recall an interview in Amiga Computing where they claimed to run various Mac games (Doom, Phantasmagoria and others) through 'transparent emulation', which allowed the user to load a game without seeing a Mac UI. I assume they were using Shapeshifter for this task. I wonder if/how they solved the scripting issue.
knightbeat is offline  
Old 27 May 2016, 18:35   #12
JimDrew
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 469
OS 8.1.1 was the last 68K compatible version.
JimDrew is offline  
Old 27 May 2016, 19:33   #13
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vega Sector
Age: 45
Posts: 2,286
I managed to emulate both, PPC and 68K. Was quite road to learn how to properly install any of OS-es, as well install essential software.
Anubis is offline  
Old 29 May 2016, 13:09   #14
jizmo
Registered Abuser

 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Valencia / Spain
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by knightbeat View Post
Anyone remember Alive Mediasoft? I recall an interview in Amiga Computing where they claimed to run various Mac games (Doom, Phantasmagoria and others) through 'transparent emulation', which allowed the user to load a game without seeing a Mac UI. I assume they were using Shapeshifter for this task. I wonder if/how they solved the scripting issue.
If Shapeshifter supported save states like some emulators, one way of doing it could be by preparing a minimal size mac partition on file with stripped OS and one game in it, and set all to colors to black so the desktop is never visible.

Then launch a script on Mac the launches the game and on shuts down the MacOS on game exit and make a save state right on the script start. And then, finally on Amiga side run a script that starts Shapershifter from that save state without the configuration screen.

Otherwise, without save states I can't think of a simple way to hide the MacOS startup.
jizmo is offline  
Old 31 May 2016, 14:57   #15
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vega Sector
Age: 45
Posts: 2,286
You still need Mac rom somewhere. It is possible to hide loading/startup screen within emulator, same as shutdown dialog within Mac OS.
Anubis is offline  
Old 01 June 2016, 03:21   #16
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vega Sector
Age: 45
Posts: 2,286
Mac emulation just got to new level today, as I was able to setup Mac 68K System 7.5.5 on my Raspberry Pi!!!

Seems that emulation works well.
Anubis is offline  
Old 02 June 2016, 16:11   #17
JimDrew
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 469
What emulator are you using?
JimDrew is offline  
Old 02 June 2016, 19:43   #18
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vega Sector
Age: 45
Posts: 2,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew View Post
What emulator are you using?
On PC and Raspberry Pi Basilisk II for 68K emulation. (Basilisk II is part of RetroPi, but I did have to edit configuration files to add extra game hard disk file)

On PC only - SheepShaver - PPC emulation, System 7.5.5 - OS 9.1.

I've tried 15-20 games, all of them worked without a problem. On RPi - can't change color depth, so only way is to setup 256 colors on PC, and move drive to RPi.
Anubis is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Emulation asm1 support.Apps 114 13 June 2016 20:46
amiga emulation on mac os 10.6.8 jongiddings New to Emulation or Amiga scene 2 13 June 2014 12:58
Mac and Amiga Emulation Washac New to Emulation or Amiga scene 18 21 February 2006 20:08
mac emulation warlord request.Apps 15 18 January 2005 10:23
Mac emulation akis support.WinUAE 9 22 December 2001 01:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20863 seconds with 12 queries