English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 May 2016, 23:27   #21
ptyerman
Registered User

ptyerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Worksop/UK
Age: 52
Posts: 892
As hard as it may be for you to understand, some people don't want a Vampire in their big box Amiga. Most of these are already kitted out with a 040/060 accelerator and are fast enough. And it certainly won't make my Zorro SCSI cards obsolete, or my A1200 one for that matter.
ptyerman is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 May 2016, 23:32   #22
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,301
I think there is room for both the MNT VA2000 and the vampire in the a2000, it would mean not stealing anything from the vampires performance. The MNT VA2000 fpga is much better than the old cirrus logic chip
kipper2k is offline  
Old 18 May 2016, 01:27   #23
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by UberFreak View Post
The Vampire2 costs about the same and is a CPU card, RTG and SDCard all-in-one.
When they do a big-box Amiga version, Zorro cards will become obsolete, you'll have everything integrated into the FPGA at a much higher speed than Zorro ever could, and way cheaper.
Although the Vampire is a great card you are comparing apples to oranges.

This thread is about a video card that you plug into your existing Classic Amiga computer and the other is a modern FPGA recreation of a Classic Amiga computer that you plug into your existing Amiga Computer case.


Last edited by NovaCoder; 18 May 2016 at 01:53.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 18 May 2016, 02:24   #24
wawa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: berlin/germany
Posts: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
the other is a modern FPGA recreation of a Classic Amiga computer that you plug into your existing Amiga Computer case.
it might become that eventually, but so far vampire is a cpu card that offers rtg and mass storage interfaces. for what i know.
wawa is offline  
Old 18 May 2016, 03:05   #25
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 235
What wawa said.

The Vampire is a CPU card with added bonus features, the Amiga chipset is still there and used.
I have no interest in something like what you describe, Nova.
I like my classic HW, just want it to perform faster.

For the record, I have a A4000/060 with RTG and a 060/PPC A1200.

From what I've seen, the Vampire (with its RTG) is faster than my A4000 and probably faster or equal to my 160Mhz PPC.
Once Vampire is available for both these platforms, I'll be very happy to replace the old accelerators.

But, that's just me
UberFreak is offline  
Old 18 May 2016, 03:13   #26
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 235
Just to clarify, my previous post was a reply to the quote below, I was not comparing the FPGA RTG card to the Vampire, but using it as an example to "reasonably priced"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Aga View Post
Wow, a reasonably priced graphics card. Didn't think it was possible...
UberFreak is offline  
Old 18 May 2016, 03:19   #27
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by wawa View Post
it might become that eventually, but so far vampire is a cpu card that offers rtg and mass storage interfaces. for what i know.
That's not accurate, people need to stop thinking about the new Vampire cards as simple CPU accelerators like the old Blizzard cards. They are actually an FPGA computer...the original Amiga chipset is pretty much redundant after you plug in a Vampire.

Anyway, back on topic.

I think this graphics card is great, it's always nice to see new retro hardware produced and offered for retail.

Last edited by NovaCoder; 18 May 2016 at 03:49.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 18 May 2016, 11:37   #28
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 2,440
Quote:
Originally Posted by UberFreak View Post
Not anymore:
http://mntshop.bigcartel.com/product...d-zorro-ii-iii

Supports higher resolutions, has an SDcard slot, autosensing Zorro 2/3 and much cheaper...
Can you buy it and use it as expected of an off-the-shelf graphics card? No.
idrougge is offline  
Old 18 May 2016, 11:43   #29
ptyerman
Registered User

ptyerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Worksop/UK
Age: 52
Posts: 892
Quote:
Can you buy it and use it as expected of an off-the-shelf graphics card? No.
Why would you say that?
Yes you can, in the same sense of the Vampire 500 and 1200. You make a pre-order on this graphics card but just have to wait a few week for it to be built and arrive.
As for use it as an off the shelf product, of course you can, what else you going to do with it? Use it as a dinner plate?
ptyerman is offline  
Old 18 May 2016, 16:18   #30
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
That's not accurate, people need to stop thinking about the new Vampire cards as simple CPU accelerators like the old Blizzard cards. They are actually an FPGA computer...the original Amiga chipset is pretty much redundant after you plug in a Vampire.
Don't know where you got this impression, but that's not the case.
By your logic, a BlizzardPPC + SCSI + BVision also makes the original chipset redundant.
UberFreak is offline  
Old 19 May 2016, 03:40   #31
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 2,440
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptyerman View Post
Why would you say that?
Yes you can, in the same sense of the Vampire 500 and 1200. You make a pre-order on this graphics card but just have to wait a few week for it to be built and arrive.
As for use it as an off the shelf product, of course you can, what else you going to do with it? Use it as a dinner plate?
In other words, you can't buy it and it's as near finished as the Vampire.
idrougge is offline  
Old 19 May 2016, 04:12   #32
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,301
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
In other words, you can't buy it and it's as near finished as the Vampire.
You sound so negative, whats wrong ? All good things require a wait, either due to a fresh batch being made or a rush on a product causing a backlog
kipper2k is offline  
Old 19 May 2016, 10:08   #33
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 2,440
I'm not being negative, I'm talking to people who are negative about someone making a working graphics card in the year 2015.
idrougge is offline  
Old 23 August 2016, 10:35   #34
apex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Amigaplanet
Posts: 288
The card is still available! Get it now, not later.
apex is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Collective Order: German A1K-Turbocard developpement for DIP-68K-Amigas Matze MarketPlace 0 23 November 2012 09:25
My heavy modified A1k :D Ratte Hardware mods 16 27 November 2008 22:36
homemade a1k replacement board presented on a german site wawa Amiga scene 8 29 January 2008 19:06
Amiga.org down? alexh Amiga scene 10 04 April 2007 23:40
TOSEC.org jmmijo Retrogaming General Discussion 4 06 November 2002 15:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23072 seconds with 12 queries