English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 May 2016, 21:52   #1
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 45
Posts: 1,884
CD32 communicator

Hi,

I just remember I have a CD32 communicator module. A long time ago I could connect my CD32 and my Amiga (don't remember how)

Is it possible with WinUAE and how? (and does someone has the amiga side floppy since I lost it). That would be cool if I could create CD32Load versions and test them without having to burn a CD each time.
jotd is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 May 2016, 22:51   #2
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,655
not tested, but a history file on disk talkes about cd32 and communicator.
zoned: CD32-Communicator.II-Floppy.Disks.zip

#1) archive name comes from description on one of the BBS isos. history file says 1.01 July 30, 1994
but it is sort of remote software for the cd32 - uploads to cd32, cd play , etc.

Last edited by emufan; 11 May 2016 at 23:07.
emufan is offline  
Old 11 May 2016, 23:14   #3
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 45
Posts: 1,884
that's great, thanks.

Now I have to find the way to communicate between WinUAE & CD32 machine, and that will speed up development a lot!!
jotd is offline  
Old 12 May 2016, 00:43   #4
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,708
Would it not work if your PC has a standard serial port? I thought this kind of communication was possible with WinUAE (for example to play games by serial link)
Akira is online now  
Old 12 May 2016, 07:46   #5
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 45
Posts: 1,884
my pc is a laptop with only usb
comminucator has a rj11 socket and midi.
jotd is offline  
Old 12 May 2016, 08:52   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,565
Most USB to serial adapters should work but I am not sure if this helps because most problems seem to be related with Akiko CD stuff. (=basically the only big different part vs unexpanded A1200)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 12 May 2016, 10:05   #7
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 45
Posts: 1,884
Ok Toni, but I don't want to use the CD with WinUAE, I want to use the device to transfer builds to the CD32 and test the stuff, like you're doing with the floppy adapter.

I see I only have a minor cable problem. What is possible to buy to interface RJ11 connector with usb even if it's 2 separate cables?
jotd is offline  
Old 12 May 2016, 17:10   #8
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,708
That's weird, is it a modem? RJ11 is the telephone cable.
If it is a modem, then you just need a modem in your PC. Something like this maybe http://www.amazon.com/Lenovo-43R1814.../dp/B001696E3Q
Akira is online now  
Old 12 May 2016, 17:22   #9
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,565
All documentation says communicator has serial port that was meant to connect CD32 to "normal" Amiga. They probably just decided to use RJ11 to connected the cable to some kind of serial connector adapter.

Pinout is needed..
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 12 May 2016, 18:04   #10
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,708
Classic mentality of Commodore/Amiga products. Why would they do this? How hard was it to put a regular serial port in it? Ugh.
Akira is online now  
Old 12 May 2016, 22:29   #11
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 45
Posts: 1,884
I had the cable some time ago, even now maybe it's somewhere. I guess that the RJ11 cable can connect to a 38k modem from 199x, so it's not so exotic.
jotd is offline  
Old 13 May 2016, 10:25   #12
Tomislav
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Zagreb / Croatia
Posts: 74
I found picture of Communicator and put here that we understand what are you talking. RJ11 to serial?! Why they do that?
Tomislav is offline  
Old 13 May 2016, 10:50   #13
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 45
Posts: 1,884
That's my piece of hardware. Except that I misplaced the bloody cable. I hope I can find it.

I think they did it because you could also plug an old-school modem like 38k to access internet or BBS and they used RJ11 sockets at least here in france (but I'm not sure)
jotd is offline  
Old 13 May 2016, 10:57   #14
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 2,985
Modems use the same normal serial port as normal Amigas.
idrougge is offline  
Old 13 May 2016, 11:56   #15
Tomislav
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Zagreb / Croatia
Posts: 74
Maybe to ask him: https://nl.linkedin.com/in/frankhoen
Maybe he have original pinout.
Tomislav is offline  
Old 13 May 2016, 13:18   #16
nujack
Zone Friend
nujack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Leipzig/Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 362
I had the same problem some years ago but I found a pinout for that cable.
Have a look to the following thread for more information: http://www.a1k.org/forum/showpost.ph...85&postcount=3
Not sure if the pinout below is correct:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Pinbelegung.PNG
Views:	68
Size:	11.5 KB
ID:	48427  
nujack is offline  
Old 14 May 2016, 09:19   #17
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 45
Posts: 1,884
https://www.amazon.fr/gp/aw/d/B007G5...j7L&ref=plSrch

Found a lot of rj11 to usb adapters. Would that work?
jotd is offline  
Old 14 May 2016, 11:45   #18
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeå
Age: 37
Posts: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by nujack View Post
I had the same problem some years ago but I found a pinout for that cable.
Have a look to the following thread for more information: http://www.a1k.org/forum/showpost.ph...85&postcount=3
Not sure if the pinout below is correct:
It looks incorrect: the connector in the picture has 8 pins, so must be a RJ45 connector, while RJ11 has 4 pins. Could not get the a1k link to work btw.

Shouldn't be too hard to figure out the pinout. There are three pins needed - TXD RXD and ground. As RJ11 has 4 pins one should be spare, so I guess it is either not connected, grounded or perhaps 5V.

So:
1. Measure which of the pins is ground.
2. Try to figure out what pin is spare - if also ground or 5V it is easy.
3. If you was able to identify spare pin you now only have two possible combinations of RXD and TXD so just use quick trial and error and see what combination that works .

Last edited by patrik; 14 May 2016 at 12:09.
patrik is online now  
Old 14 May 2016, 11:58   #19
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeå
Age: 37
Posts: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
That's my piece of hardware. Except that I misplaced the bloody cable. I hope I can find it.

I think they did it because you could also plug an old-school modem like 38k to access internet or BBS and they used RJ11 sockets at least here in france (but I'm not sure)
Wasn't the RJ11 connector on the modem for the telephone line side?

In Sweden at least when purchasing a modem we often got a cable with RJ11 on both ends for the telephone line side. But as we don't have RJ11 telephone-connectors in Sweden, an adapter from RJ11->SwedishPhoneConnector was included. However the RS232/serial side connector on the modem was generally always Dsub-9 or Dsub-25.
patrik is online now  
Old 14 May 2016, 11:58   #20
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 45
Posts: 1,884
I just bought a rj11 to usb adapter. Will tell you if it works. I remember trying the device once with my amiga and it worked. But i had no interest in all this at the time.

Patrick it an rj11 and only tx rx pluS and minus are wired which seems enough

http://amiga.resource.cx/search.pl?amiga=cd32

Last edited by jotd; 14 May 2016 at 12:05.
jotd is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unofficial CD32 Release - The Ultimate Amiga Dizzy Collection CD32 Amigajay project.CD32 Conversion 26 27 October 2016 12:54
CD32 Communicator floppy disks Josh request.Other 2 02 January 2009 20:57
Amiga cd32 Communicator CD-ROM (Eureka) haribootje request.Apps 4 09 November 2008 14:38
Beneath a Steel Sky CD32 crashing on WinUAE/CD32 mk1 support.Games 0 18 September 2008 17:45
Installation CD Communicator - CD32 haribootje request.Apps 5 07 January 2005 05:38

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26300 seconds with 12 queries