English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 May 2016, 02:20   #1
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,422
Optimal Amiga OS3.x installation?

Is there such a thing?
What is the official most up to date OS3.x installation available?
Is it the retail 3.9 + Boing Balls or is there some more obscure unofficial (but "better") installation available? ClassicWB? Amikit (AKReal)?
And.. Is there someone selling a pre-installed CF card with (the latest and most up to date version of) OS3.9? (I've seen 3.1 from Cloanto)

On my A1200, I have OS3.9 but installed as an upgrade over 3.0 some time ago and there are some issues (like having difficulties to get wifi over PCMCIA working). On my A600 with the Vampire I actually only have OS3.0 for now (had the disk readily available when I installed on CF card). But Im having issues, leading me to think I should be running a more updated OS on it. (With MUI probably)
eXeler0 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 May 2016, 02:25   #2
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,076
Officially most up-to-date is 3.9 with BB2. Stay away from the unofficial later Boingbags, and stay away from those pre-packaged Workbench installations.

To many people, a clean install of 3.1 is the optimal installation.

Your issues on the Vampire are probably due to the Vampire, not the OS.
idrougge is offline  
Old 11 May 2016, 03:36   #3
gururise
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28
I've had good luck with OS 3.1 + ClassicWB. I then update the following:
+ MUI (4.0 is avail)
+ AmiTCP (if needed for internet)
+ FinalWriter 97

You may want to give NetSurf 3.5 browser a try as well, should run good on a Vampire as long as you have 64MB ram or more.
gururise is offline  
Old 11 May 2016, 14:44   #4
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,422
Thanx @idrougge & @gururise
Is the Cloanto 3.1 version considered as official?

Skickat från min HTC One via Tapatalk
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 11 May 2016, 14:46   #5
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 768
what does 'Official' even mean here?
Locutus is online now  
Old 11 May 2016, 16:35   #6
Nibbler
nam nam nam

Nibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Austria
Age: 38
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
Officially most up-to-date is 3.9 with BB2. Stay away from the unofficial later Boingbags, and stay away from those pre-packaged Workbench installations.

To many people, a clean install of 3.1 is the optimal installation.

Your issues on the Vampire are probably due to the Vampire, not the OS.
No problems so far with Boing Bag 3&4 on the Amiga Cd32 + 8MB Fast-Ram.
Nibbler is offline  
Old 11 May 2016, 16:44   #7
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,076
Cloanto is about as official as any other HDF you'll find.
idrougge is offline  
Old 11 May 2016, 20:27   #8
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 2,335
I'm a little wary of the Cloanto 3.X ROMs and Workbench, but the 3.0 and 3.1 releases are basically the same as the Commodore ones. On my three A1200s I'm running a fairly standard 3.9 setup with BoingBags 1 & 2, the Euro update and certain other components that also feature in BB 3 & 4. I haven't installed the full BBs 3 & 4 though...

Important components (for me) that I have on all my Amigas to add to the standard OS:
SFS
Fat95
compactflash.device
New icon.library
mmu.library
smbfs
RC-FTPd
SnoopDOS
ReqAttack
Magic Menu

And on my main A1200 I have the new layers.library too.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 15 May 2016, 11:09   #9
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,422
Is there a good (legal probably) reason for why no one is offering OS3.9 + BB1&2 pre-installed on a CF card?

Skickat från min HTC One via Tapatalk
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 15 May 2016, 13:22   #10
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 768
from what i understood the rights to OS3.9 are a bit in limbo, as usual.
Locutus is online now  
Old 15 May 2016, 15:34   #11
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,422
Quote:
Originally Posted by Locutus View Post
from what i understood the rights to OS3.9 are a bit in limbo, as usual.
So someone should release it just to see if the lawyers can work it out. Time to call that friendly Nigerian royalty chap and propose a business opportunity ;-)

Skickat från min HTC One via Tapatalk
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 28 October 2016, 07:49   #12
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 1,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
So someone should release it just to see if the lawyers can work it out. Time to call that friendly Nigerian royalty chap and propose a business opportunity ;-)

Skickat från min HTC One via Tapatalk
Cloanto ?

http://amiga-news.de/en/news/AN-2015-02-00027-EN.html

Quote:
The combination of the multiple agreements makes Cloanto the rights holder of not just any Amiga related products and media, but also the system software, documentation, Commodore-owned publications, videos and advertisements for Commodore's various product lines.
whiteb is offline  
Old 28 October 2016, 08:43   #13
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,358
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
3.5 and 3.9 are not in Cloanto's hands.
Jope is offline  
Old 28 October 2016, 09:41   #14
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,422
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
3.5 and 3.9 are not in Cloanto's hands.
IMO they should try and see who challenges them to sort out this mess once and for all ;-)

Skickat från min LG-H850 via Tapatalk
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 28 October 2016, 10:50   #15
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,358
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
IMO they should try and see who challenges them to sort out this mess once and for all ;-)

Skickat från min LG-H850 via Tapatalk
At least we'd see if haage&partner can still afford a lawyer.
Jope is offline  
Old 28 October 2016, 11:35   #16
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,422
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
At least we'd see if haage&partner can still afford a lawyer.
Lol ye...
They might afford a lawyer but I highly doubt they´d spend money on defending Amiga IP as they aren't making any money of it. Wouldn't make much sense tbh..
But If want them to *officially* let go and let someone who actually cares take care of it.

Skickat från min LG-H850 via Tapatalk
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 28 October 2016, 13:25   #17
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
Lol ye...
They might afford a lawyer but I highly doubt they´d spend money on defending Amiga IP as they aren't making any money of it. Wouldn't make much sense tbh..
But If want them to *officially* let go and let someone who actually cares take care of it.

Skickat från min LG-H850 via Tapatalk
Haage&Partner are not interested in 3.5 / 3.9 any more. They refuse to sell stock to anyone.
FOL is offline  
Old 29 October 2016, 02:50   #18
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 39
Posts: 1,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Haage&Partner are not interested in 3.5 / 3.9 any more. They refuse to sell stock to anyone.
I am curious to know where do these amiga retailers obtain new copies of 3.9 cdroms in this age, because I am sure they have all been sold out long ago

One can only speculate...
gulliver is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Was CDXL format Optimal for CD32 Mad-Matt Retrogaming General Discussion 11 18 June 2016 10:04
ISOCD Optimal settings? Whitesnake support.Apps 7 07 March 2007 21:24
Optimal setup for LCD monitor (v1.2) Ross support.WinUAE 4 10 August 2006 02:15
Optimal sound configuration? Melvein support.WinUAE 0 03 May 2003 13:42
A1200 - the optimal configuration ? malino New to Emulation or Amiga scene 2 03 January 2003 11:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.30753 seconds with 11 queries