English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 April 2016, 15:41   #1
thellier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 163
Is there a "WinUAE settings" guide ?

Is there someone that did a guide that describe what really do each WinUAE settings ?
Especially the obscure ones

For example:
display/Blacker than black
CPU/JIT/Direct
misc/DirectDraw or Direct3D (naming is clear but why should I use one instead of other)
Misc/startMouse uncaptured
Misc/100/120Hz black frame insertion
etc...

Thanks
thellier is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 April 2016, 16:52   #2
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 10,877
Check the GUI -> Hardware/Host settings

http://www.vware.at/projects/winuae/

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 28 April 2016 at 16:58.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 28 April 2016, 18:19   #3
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 45
Posts: 2,291
To be able to open it in Win7/Win10 computers, use this:

http://www.komeil.com/download/1230

ps. you have to modify script to work on win10.
Anubis is offline  
Old 28 April 2016, 21:20   #4
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 10,877
There is an online version too but it doesn't seem the latest compared to the CHM help file.

http://www.vware.at/winuaehelp/
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 28 April 2016, 21:51   #5
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 45
Posts: 2,291
Help file with bit of modification to that script (just change name/version for windows) works fine, like it should.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WINUAE_HELP.PNG
Views:	114
Size:	81.2 KB
ID:	48303  
Anubis is offline  
Old 28 April 2016, 22:07   #6
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 45
Posts: 2,536
There are still several options that are not documented at all in the latest official doc, such as (in hard drives) sparse file, dynamic hdf, (in misc) allow native code, native/rtg on-screen display, blank unused displays...
Many others are documented but in a very imprecise way (e.g. gives choice between x,y,z, without saying what this implies).

I've started to think no full doc really exists
meynaf is offline  
Old 29 April 2016, 14:00   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 20,439
I can explain them quickly but I don't do documentation as usual
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 29 April 2016, 16:46   #8
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 45
Posts: 2,536
Why not ?
With more doc many questions/reports can be given an RTFM kind of reply. There is some time investment for this, but it pays off later.
Else the same questions will be asked over and over.
meynaf is offline  
Old 29 April 2016, 16:50   #9
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 45
Posts: 2,291
IIRC - Answer to your question - writing documentation is not (never was) fun. And WinUAE is fun project...
Anubis is offline  
Old 29 April 2016, 18:18   #10
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 45
Posts: 2,536
Looking for documentation that doesn't exist isn't fun either.
meynaf is offline  
Old 29 April 2016, 18:40   #11
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 45
Posts: 2,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by meynaf View Post
Looking for documentation that doesn't exist isn't fun either.
Nobody is stopping you from making WinUAE documentation page.

Above help is missing little bit, can be improved, but problem is that no one likes to spend time writing it.
Anubis is offline  
Old 29 April 2016, 19:56   #12
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 45
Posts: 2,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
Nobody is stopping you from making WinUAE documentation page.
Then explain me how i can make docs for options i have no idea what they do
meynaf is offline  
Old 29 April 2016, 20:12   #13
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 45
Posts: 2,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by meynaf View Post
Then explain me how i can make docs for options i have no idea what they do
Boy, wonder you never gonna ask...

Ask here, someone or Toni will reply - you document, move to next 'unknown' etc... and then create help file out of it.

If you decide to create web site with WinUAE documentation, I'm sure RCK would not object to host it.
Anubis is offline  
Old 29 April 2016, 20:29   #14
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 45
Posts: 2,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
Boy, wonder you never gonna ask...
I have already written a few 'unknown' examples above in this thread.
Consider this is me asking.
Now i'm waiting for the replies.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
Ask here, someone or Toni will reply - you document, move to next 'unknown' etc... and then create help file out of it.
But can anyone give something that's better than a quick explanation ?
meynaf is offline  
Old 29 April 2016, 21:25   #15
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 45
Posts: 2,291
Dynamic HDF - It grows with data stored in it. *dynamicly, as it's name suggests.

Without checking this box, WinUAE will allocate exact size of HDF file, while if it checked, it will not.

It is similar to VMWare's HD setup, unless you allocate all HD space in setup.


Sparse File - will instead of placing data at it's correct location on HD, create matadata and store data next to each other.

So for example, if you have disk that is 10MB, but only 4MB are used, on host you should have only 4MB file, while WinUAE still sees 10MB.


More on sparse file you can read here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sparse_file

Not sure why, but I don't think this works right in WInUAE (or I'm just not using it correctly)
Anubis is offline  
Old 29 April 2016, 21:50   #16
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 45
Posts: 2,536
Ok but the difference between the two is unclear. Both just seem to be dynamic HD files.
meynaf is offline  
Old 29 April 2016, 22:19   #17
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 45
Posts: 2,291
From what I know (and it would not be first time I'm wrong), difference is in how image is set and data is stored differently, where sparse creates metadata for empty space.

I do remember who requested dynamic HDFs (and few other things ).... http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=40799

Still waiting on cheat implementation that is not AR.
Anubis is offline  
Old 29 April 2016, 22:20   #18
LocalH
Amiga user since 1990
LocalH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kingsport, TN / USA
Age: 37
Posts: 277
Sparse file is an NTFS feature, and thus is quite transparent to the emulator, but won't work on a non-NTFS partition. A dynamic HDF is implemented entirely within the emulator, and thus will work on FAT32, exFAT, etc (at the cost of a tiny amount of performance).

Blacker than black - borderblank black is darker than Amiga #000/000000 black. How exactly is this implemented, Toni? Only way I can see it possible is to raise the black floor from #000000 to some slightly higher value which would seem to me to cause a very minor inaccuracy?
LocalH is offline  
Old 29 April 2016, 22:56   #19
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 45
Posts: 2,291
That option shows 'help tip' when hovering with mouse.

Back to HDF questions, it is possible to have HDF in zip file, but even it shows it's R/W, it actually does not write anything to HDF. Is it possible to make this work and edit/change HDF inside ZIP archive? (or replace disk with temporary copy of HD)
Anubis is offline  
Old 30 April 2016, 05:14   #20
B14ck W01f
m68k all the way
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Koalaland
Posts: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I can explain them quickly but I don't do documentation as usual
What a shame.

It would be useful for new users that are starting to get to know the Amiga.
B14ck W01f is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Someone should set up a "Large Drive Installation Guide" really Doc Mindie support.Hardware 5 14 April 2016 16:05
Can we start an "Optimising Workbench/Your Amiga (A Guide For Novices)" thread? vroom6sri support.Other 4 16 January 2014 11:06
Does anyone have the default System: 3.X "Media" Settings? Morbane support.Amiga Forever 2 19 April 2012 22:03
"Output" settings for seamless sound recording? Foebane support.WinUAE 2 01 October 2011 19:41
"Centering" settings under display not saving WinUAE 1.5 illy5603 support.WinUAE 3 28 July 2008 06:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.49581 seconds with 12 queries