English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 May 2016, 05:04   #41
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vega Sector
Age: 45
Posts: 2,286
You have minimum and maximum CPU rates, just make sure it is set for both 100% (or very close) when on AC.

When I was testing this, only older computers did not have this issues with JIT.

Last edited by Anubis; 06 May 2016 at 15:54.
Anubis is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 06 May 2016, 08:10   #42
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,542
Nothing is guaranteed in "power saver" mode but setting low frequency high only makes useless heat..

Find some (overclocking) utility that shows CPU frequency in realtime to see what actually happens.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 06 May 2016, 15:56   #43
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vega Sector
Age: 45
Posts: 2,286
The real question would be how JIT settings hits power setting mode on CPU.
Anubis is offline  
Old 06 May 2016, 17:48   #44
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,147
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
You have minimum and maximum CPU rates, just make sure it is set for both 100% (or very close) when on AC.

When I was testing this, only older computers did not have this issues with JIT.
This is what I have done before: set AC power minimum/maximum CPU rate to 100/100 and battery power min/max CPU rate to 30/100. It doesnt works. All other applications and emulators I use works accordingly to the advanced power settings configuration that I put there and work well, only WinUAE that not.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Nothing is guaranteed in "power saver" mode but setting low frequency high only makes useless heat..

Find some (overclocking) utility that shows CPU frequency in realtime to see what actually happens.
Yes, it's because of that which I have set battery power minimum CPU rate to 100% and after that to 30%.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
The real question would be how JIT settings hits power setting mode on CPU.
Yes good point, this is exactly where I would like to did reached before: why releases after WinUAE 2.9.0b25+ affects the power settings of the CPU, when b24- does not!

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 06 May 2016 at 18:35.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 09 May 2016, 15:36   #45
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,542
I'd still like to see some real time CPU frequency information because power saving can work (and has been reported previously to work) really strangely when CPU usage is very irregular (lots of CPU usage then short waits etc..) and to confirm CPU isn't throttling.

One possible reason for this change may be compiler update but I don't remember any details. (Perhaps it changed how some newer CPU instructions are used or something like that)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 09 May 2016, 15:47   #46
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vega Sector
Age: 45
Posts: 2,286
What would be a good tool to get you CPU data recorded with??
Anubis is offline  
Old 24 May 2016, 04:31   #47
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,147
A strange but good thing happened, I formatted my notebook and installed Windows 10 from scratch and now WinUAE is working fastly again. I think it should be a graphics driver problem, because all other Windows apps are running at the same speed as usual.

Thanks for the replies and sorry everyone for the time spent on a useless problem, unless of course if my notebook get back with that problem again. Sorry also mainly for jdog, which I interrupted his conversation with Toni.

But I also want to "talk" with Toni, I have an old "problem" with WinUAE that is coming back and I dont know why, is the a2065 emulation which cant connect to nowhere when I enable JIT. I only ask that you, Toni, analyze the logs that WinUAE generated, to see if there is some problem with WinUAE or with my configuration. The logs were generated by WinUAE 3.3.0b14 (official) with the "-a2065log2" parameter. And the problem disappears when I disable JIT.

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 15 January 2017 at 17:59.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 24 May 2016, 17:31   #48
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leandro Jardim View Post
A strange but good thing happened, I formatted my notebook and installed Windows 10 from scratch and now WinUAE is working fastly again. I think it should be a graphics driver problem, because all other Windows apps are running at the same speed as usual.

Thanks for the replies and sorry everyone for the time spent on a useless problem, unless of course if my notebook get back with that problem again. Sorry also mainly for jdog, which I interrupted his conversation with Toni.
Reinstall. Or at least "buy a new PC" always work!

Quote:
But I also want to "talk" with Toni, I have an old "problem" with WinUAE that is coming back and I dont know why, is the a2065 emulation which cant connect to nowhere when I enable JIT. I only ask that you, Toni, analyze the logs that WinUAE generated, to see if there is some problem with WinUAE or with my configuration. The logs were generated by WinUAE 3.3.0b14 (official) with the "-a2065log2" parameter. And the problem disappears when I disable JIT.
As I said (somewhere), it is "new" JIT problem -> nothing happens until Frode (or someone else who knows how it works) fixes it
Toni Wilen is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird problem tesla support.Other 2 28 March 2013 01:57
WinUAE 2.3.3 Weird problem with a real hard drive logs attached ancalimon support.WinUAE 15 12 December 2011 10:03
Very weird problem alkis21 project.WHDLoad 13 28 September 2010 20:49
Weird CF problem (maybe...) squidbass support.Other 10 01 March 2009 14:45
Weird problem BippyM Coders. General 12 03 August 2008 14:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18035 seconds with 12 queries