English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 April 2016, 22:58   #1
dave4shmups
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Posts: 74
Was the Amiga 600 ever released in the USA?

I've never seen an NTSC A600, so I'm very curious about this.

Last edited by dave4shmups; 23 April 2016 at 00:13.
dave4shmups is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 April 2016, 01:24   #2
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Never cared until you asked, since I know Americans strangely dismissed the Amiga very early. (Except for a select few who had intelligence to match their taste and computer knowledge.)

For those who didn't have immediate use for the PCMCIA and harddisk option, the A600 cost more than previous home user models and didn't do more. So it didn't sell well initially, and even less so in the USA who had already looked the other way as I said.

The A1200 and the A3000 before that fared better there.

The A600 isn't region specific, so it can be used with NTSC or PAL, but actual users of A600s in the USA seem extremely rare.

I type too much The direct answer is: it was made in Scotland, released internationally and did both NTSC and PAL out of the box. So there isn't an "NTSC" A600 model, only software made to run well on both or "made for PAL" since the greatness of Amiga was more or less discovered by the more cultured Europe. OK I'll have to stop typing and start ducking

Last edited by Photon; 23 April 2016 at 23:41. Reason: LIES stricken
Photon is offline  
Old 23 April 2016, 02:17   #3
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,064
There were definitely NTSC A600. My NTSC A600HD came from Canadia so maybe they were more popular there.
adolescent is offline  
Old 23 April 2016, 05:02   #4
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 44
Posts: 718
I have a NTSC model, but for some reason it has Spanish keyboard (I got it used from Goodwill)
amiman99 is offline  
Old 23 April 2016, 08:25   #5
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,785
@Photon

Not all Americans dismissed the Amiga. I'm American and I always loved it.
Pyromania is offline  
Old 23 April 2016, 18:57   #6
dave4shmups
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by adolescent View Post
There were definitely NTSC A600. My NTSC A600HD came from Canadia so maybe they were more popular there.
Both the Amiga and the Atari ST were both more popular in Canada. We we didn't necessarily dismiss the Amiga, it was poorly marketed here. I'm almost 39, and the only advertisement that I ever saw for an Amiga computer was that commercial with music from "The Goonies". Commodore did a terrible job marketing Amiga products here.

Can the A600 run all the same games as the A500?
dave4shmups is offline  
Old 23 April 2016, 19:48   #7
lantus360
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Olathe, Kansas
Posts: 159
yes - i have an NTSC A600
lantus360 is offline  
Old 23 April 2016, 20:21   #8
matthey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave4shmups View Post
Commodore did a terrible job marketing Amiga products here.
Same down here in the States.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dave4shmups View Post
Can the A600 run all the same games as the A500?
No. There are a few differences which can cause compatibility problems. Also, some games require the numeric keypad. The 1200 always seemed like a better value to me with AGA and a numeric keypad. The 600 was an attempt to make a C64 version of the Amiga but C= didn't reduce the price enough below the 1200.
matthey is offline  
Old 23 April 2016, 20:28   #9
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,936
A600 NTSC and PAL can't be identical:

- PAL and NTSC Amigas have different main crystal frequency.
- Different internal RF modulator.
- Internal PAL composite encoder needs extra components that are most likely not installed in NTSC version to reduce cost.
- 8375 Agnus used in A600 does not have external PAL/NTSC pin, default boot up display mode is internally hardwired. 8375 has PAL and NTSC variants. (Only 8372 has PAL/NTSC pin)
EDIT: - A600 schematics shows NTSC/PAL differences
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 23 April 2016, 23:05   #10
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthey View Post
No. There are a few differences which can cause compatibility problems.
Are there any? I know that the Kickstart (The A600 came with 2.x?) can cause some issues but that would be the same for 2.x on an A500.. I wasn't aware of any issues related to the A600 itself.. except for...
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthey View Post
Also, some games require the numeric keypad.
..this.. However the trade-off of the few games you needed a keypad for against a much less expensive hard disk would have been worth it...
If the A600 didn't cost more than the A500 at the time..
Now, yes, you'd be willing to pay more, but for....
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthey View Post
The 1200 always seemed like a better value to me with AGA and a numeric keypad. The 600 was an attempt to make a C64 version of the Amiga but C= didn't reduce the price enough below the 1200.
...this... ;-)
If you're going to spend a bit more, you spend just a bit more and get an A1200..
I do wonder if there were ever any A600's shipped to the US, other than maybe some special orders or something...

Were there shops in the US that had A600's?
I don't remember seeing them.. I saw the 1200's (and got one), but not the 600.. I know the 600 was in Canada, so some would have made it down. And combine that with some special orders..
But was it ever shipped to retailers/computer stores as a US product??

desiv
desiv is offline  
Old 23 April 2016, 23:36   #11
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
<--

I assumed the A600 came in PAL/NTSC like the others, then misread a thread on Amiga.org badly to write the nonsense above. Corrected.
Photon is offline  
Old 23 April 2016, 23:59   #12
Acill
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 82
I had a friend in the early days of the Amiga that I spent most of my time at his place. His younger brother bought the A600 when it was first released and it was here in the US, NTSC new from the Amiga shop we had in the area.
Acill is offline  
Old 24 April 2016, 00:06   #13
matthey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by desiv View Post
Are there any? I know that the Kickstart (The A600 came with 2.x?) can cause some issues but that would be the same for 2.x on an A500.. I wasn't aware of any issues related to the A600 itself.. except for...
Yes, the kickstart change was one of the problems. I believe the address location and type of memory was another. Even the HD, PCMCIA slot, and newer custom chips could cause problems in rare cases. Some games made very poor assumptions about the hardware they ran on. C= should have upgraded the Amiga 500 to the newer kickstart and added IDE much earlier which would have sold more 500s and made the jump to newer hardware easier.

Quote:
Originally Posted by desiv View Post
I do wonder if there were ever any A600's shipped to the US, other than maybe some special orders or something...

Were there shops in the US that had A600's?
I don't remember seeing them.. I saw the 1200's (and got one), but not the 600.. I know the 600 was in Canada, so some would have made it down. And combine that with some special orders..
But was it ever shipped to retailers/computer stores as a US product??
I don't remember seeing any Amiga 600s in shops (not many shops in the Midwest) but there weren't many shops here that had Amigas. I remember seeing the 500, 1000, 2000, 3000 and 1200 only (and not all were for sale). The only 600 I have seen was at an Amiga show but that doesn't mean they weren't available. Lantus360 lives not far from me and I expect his was not brought from Australia/Europe since it is NTSC. I ended up with a NTSC CD32 from a friend's connections without ever seeing one before. C= had some weird marketing channels.
matthey is offline  
Old 24 April 2016, 00:16   #14
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthey View Post
Some games made very poor assumptions about the hardware they ran on.
Surely games made after mid 1992 work well though? I mean, it's impossible to be future-compatible. Compatibility means going the other way, backwards in time.
Photon is offline  
Old 24 April 2016, 01:19   #15
matthey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
Surely games made after mid 1992 work well though? I mean, it's impossible to be future-compatible. Compatibility means going the other way, backwards in time.
Yea, newer games were significantly better about problems. Failure to work on new hardware meant even fewer sales. The Amiga Hardware Reference Manual gave recommendations and programmers who followed it were generally fine until AGA. A platform that is free to sell games is going to have amateur game creation attempts. Some Amiga users don't want to lose any games but most of the ones that are worthwhile get WHDLoad treatment.
matthey is offline  
Old 24 April 2016, 02:41   #16
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,170
I have three NTSC A600's. Definitely rarer than the EU PAL models.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 24 April 2016, 03:55   #17
dave4shmups
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Posts: 74
Are the compatibility issues worse on the A600 then they are on the A1200?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
dave4shmups is offline  
Old 24 April 2016, 11:17   #18
matthey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave4shmups View Post
Are the compatibility issues worse on the A600 then they are on the A1200?
No. Not only was AGA significantly different at the hardware level, but it had limitations which adversely affected compatibility and required an updated AmigaOS with major changes. The limitations of AGA could be largely done away with today using newer hardware. An FPGA AGA implementation can be more compatible than the original AGA hardware and much faster. The FPGA CPU can also be more compatible and faster using writethru caches than the 68040 and 68060 Motorola CPU caches which caused incompatibility with self modifying code. Of course we can change the FPGA configuration for multiple hardware simulations but it is still impossible to have one setup which works with all games. WHDLoad is still needed to use the most games possible.

Last edited by matthey; 24 April 2016 at 11:22.
matthey is offline  
Old 24 April 2016, 13:36   #19
spannernick
Retro Nuts

spannernick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: London/UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,074
I am not from the US but I love my A600,it was the first real Amiga I got,I don't use it anymore,I have A1200 now.I did get A500 before the A600 but had that for like 5 minutes before swapping it for a Atari ST 520 big mistake. My A600 had a option when you boot up and press and hold the mouse buttons you can pick PAL or NTSC.
spannernick is offline  
Old 24 April 2016, 20:57   #20
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,170
Quote:
Originally Posted by spannernick View Post
My A600 had a option when you boot up and press and hold the mouse buttons you can pick PAL or NTSC.
Any Amiga with Kickstart 3.x has that option. It's called the Early Startup menu.
TjLaZer is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First Amiga 600 FPGA Accelerator - Vampire 600 majsta Hardware mods 736 18 July 2016 19:31
SILVER3 core released for Vampire 600 V2 TuKo News 4 03 April 2016 15:01
why usa never liked the amiga ??? turrican3 Retrogaming General Discussion 35 26 March 2015 05:21
Amiga crackers from USA fuzzylogic Amiga scene 11 18 November 2013 00:35
PAL Amiga usage in the USA thgill support.Hardware 26 08 December 2008 22:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21883 seconds with 11 queries