English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

View Poll Results: What is the preferred format for a new amiga game?
A500 39 37.50%
A1200 65 62.50%
Voters: 104. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 April 2016, 00:08   #81
DanScott
Registered User

DanScott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReadOnlyCat View Post
Truxton on the other hand often has way over 30% of the screen covered by just the player weapons especially with the blue laser one.

You need more than a good programmer to modify 50% of an 8 bpl screen on a 1200, you need additional hardware.
or a very very good HW-Sprite muliplexer
DanScott is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 April 2016, 06:27   #82
AnimaInCorpore
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Willich/Germany
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
It's doable, but it needs a very good programmer
The myth that will never die.
AnimaInCorpore is offline  
Old 19 April 2016, 13:25   #83
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 661
@ReadOnlyCat

What Dan said. AGA can sport quite wide hw sprites, enough to fill the screen. Besides, there's no need to have the exact same colour count the arcade machine has. You can have a lower amount of colours and enhance the backgrounds with the copper. I'm no programmer mind you, just from what I've read and seen.
vulture is offline  
Old 19 April 2016, 14:04   #84
AnimaInCorpore
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Willich/Germany
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by vulture View Post
@ReadOnlyCat

What Dan said. AGA can sport quite wide hw sprites, enough to fill the screen.
You may be not aware of the two parallax scrolling layers with 16+ colours each. So I am very curious how this could be done with "sprite multiplexing".
AnimaInCorpore is offline  
Old 19 April 2016, 14:07   #85
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,395
A500 with AGA
kipper2k is offline  
Old 19 April 2016, 14:07   #86
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
you don't need to multiplex AGA sprites to fill the screen, they can be 64 pixels wide so you only need 5 of them. Then of course you can use Dual Playfield as well.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
A500 with AGA

hey i don't suppose you've tried running Mr Beanbag on the Vampire?
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 19 April 2016, 14:15   #87
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 2,440
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
Well...First ever AGA Amiga the world saw shipped with the following specs: 040 CPU, 2MB Chip 4MB FastRAM. ��

Anyway, this discussion is quite irrelevant. The important thing is that the Dev can find the strength and motivation to finish the project. As we all know, starting projects is real easy, finish a polished, fun game that pushes the hardware to its limits.... is rare and will require the Dev to "walk the extra mile". EDIT: --> (Whatever target platform he chooses for his project) <--
But just out of curiosity, you say this a lot; that AGA games have barely scratched the surface of what's possible.. What magic is it you envision when you repeat this..
What is it about games like SlamTilt, SuperStardust, Banshee, Street racer, GeneticSpecies...etc.... that barely scratch the surface of what a vanilla A1200 can do?
Yes I agree with everything you've said here, I was thinking the same thing when reading this thread.

For the past 24 years we've been hearing "AGA hardware hasn't been pushed to it's limit" and nothing has ever come to fruition ever since the Amiga's already aforementioned AGA titles that really did make fantastic use of the AGA Chipset.

Hearing of a new AGA title that will push it to the maximum is as old hat as the time the Amiga would make a comeback all through the 90's as it passed hands.

I appreciate the possibility of this happening but I would just like to see it actually happen for once, so I'm not trying to piss on anyone's Bonfire here, I love the Amiga and would LOVE to see AGA pushed too it's max!
blade002 is offline  
Old 19 April 2016, 14:16   #88
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,395
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrs Beanbag View Post
you don't need to multiplex AGA sprites to fill the screen, they can be 64 pixels wide so you only need 5 of them. Then of course you can use Dual Playfield as well.


hey i don't suppose you've tried running Mr Beanbag on the Vampire?
where is it, i can do a little video ?
kipper2k is offline  
Old 19 April 2016, 14:22   #89
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
where is it, i can do a little video ?
http://www.glastonbridge.co.uk/mrbeanbag/downloads.php
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 19 April 2016, 14:27   #90
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,395
k, thanks, i notice it is AGA, as soon as we get AGA implemented i will use it for testing
kipper2k is offline  
Old 19 April 2016, 15:04   #91
DanScott
Registered User

DanScott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 217
Maybe i should just port Truxton to A500 to show it can be done

Then we can think about the possibilities of an AGA hardware pushing monster!
DanScott is offline  
Old 19 April 2016, 16:43   #92
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,063
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
hehehe why not ?
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 19 April 2016, 16:54   #93
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanScott View Post
Maybe i should just port Truxton to A500 to show it can be done
I would love that, Truxton is awesome. Or maybe something like V-Five? There's so, so many good arcade games that were never ported...
Akira is offline  
Old 19 April 2016, 18:25   #94
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,395
I actually voted for a1200 only because i expect the a500 to have AGA and mega speed
kipper2k is offline  
Old 19 April 2016, 18:37   #95
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
i voted A1200 because i thought A500 would have more votes... but i think there should be new games for all the different Amigas, why not
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 19 April 2016, 18:49   #96
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,395
The A500 has some amazing games but with the possibility of x13 clock speed (and higher), HDD, AGA and fastmem is it time to start upping the Ante to make better looking games ?
kipper2k is offline  
Old 19 April 2016, 19:11   #97
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
i don't know but i'll still be targetting stock A1200
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 20 April 2016, 02:59   #98
Cobe
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Belgrade / Serbia
Age: 34
Posts: 495
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanScott View Post
Maybe i should just port Truxton to A500 to show it can be done
With two player mode!

At the end I voted for A1200. Not just because I want two player mode but really, hardware wise there are a lot more jawdropping games on A500 than on A1200 and A1200 means CD32 too
Cobe is offline  
Old 20 April 2016, 10:16   #99
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 661
@AnimaInCorpse

Mrs Beanbag explained it much better than I could've. I'd just like to add that, even if you go for 16+16 colours, it's not a problem. Sprites can still have a separate palette (afaik) and the background layer can have enhanced colouring with copper's help. So, it's doable. I wasn't talking about 1:1 conversion anyway, but rather a convincing port which may have a few differences, but still be faithful to the original and maybe even be superior at some points (sound, background colours).
vulture is offline  
Old 20 April 2016, 10:50   #100
DanScott
Registered User

DanScott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobe View Post
With two player mode!
argghh has to be 2 players for Cobe, of course
DanScott is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AGA Games on ECS/OCS Computers fondpondforever Retrogaming General Discussion 16 30 July 2015 06:23
Mad Crash Racing for Amiga OCS/ECS/AGA DDNI Amiga scene 10 20 February 2015 16:16
AGA Upgrade for ECS/OCS Games? slowtide project.Amiga Game Factory 3 03 December 2013 20:11
Using an LCD/TFT display with an OCS/ECS/AGA Amiga Photon support.Hardware 1 15 August 2009 00:28
ecs ocs games on aga memothejanitor support.Apps 4 16 June 2007 04:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25900 seconds with 12 queries