English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

View Poll Results: What is the preferred format for a new amiga game?
A500 39 37.50%
A1200 65 62.50%
Voters: 104. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 March 2016, 18:15   #21
DanScott
Registered User

DanScott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by brett71 View Post
anticipate people having accellerators, 32+ MB of memory, stuff like that.
That's something I really would not want to do. I like to work to the constraints of a fixed hardware set.

A500 or basic A1200 is great for this

This is why I don't like writing stuff for PC's
DanScott is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 10 March 2016, 18:40   #22
Meshuggah
1200 gamer

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Paris, France
Age: 40
Posts: 34
I always thought a good metroidvania with intricate level design and exploration was missing on the Amiga, it being aga or not.
Meshuggah is offline  
Old 10 March 2016, 20:50   #23
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by brett71 View Post
8><---- if you were going to make something AGA, then push THAT hardware to the limit, take full advantage of the capabilities, anticipate people having accellerators, 32+ MB of memory, stuff like that. Make something that looks absolutely stunning.
that's quite a demand 😆

Anyhow, just maybe, an AGA game that pushes the A1200 maybe needs a wee bit of FastMEM so that at least the CPU can do its thing at full throttle ;-)
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 10 March 2016, 20:56   #24
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,628
16:16 atm. Exciting.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 10 March 2016, 21:15   #25
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,348
Or just write any old trash and flog it on iOS/Android, muppets on those platforms will buy anything!
BarryB is offline  
Old 10 March 2016, 21:20   #26
Gzegzolka
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Warszawa / Polska
Posts: 947
I would love to see good game for A1200, but A500 is a good choice too.
Gzegzolka is offline  
Old 10 March 2016, 22:55   #27
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 610
Amiga 500 with 1MB memory and kickstart 1.2/1.3 is the real Amiga in my opinion so make games for that system.
turrican9 is offline  
Old 10 March 2016, 22:59   #28
Cylon
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Europe
Posts: 450
A500 time is over, at least ten times. Make it A1200+, with a big plus. There have been plenty of games maxing out old/ecs chipset. it is time for more aga torture.
Cylon is offline  
Old 11 March 2016, 00:22   #29
Adrian Browne
Jackie Chan
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ireland
Age: 40
Posts: 647
Yeah, something that really shows what the a1200 is capable of. There are indeed many games that max out the a500- lotus turbo challenge 2- lionheart- shadow of the beast etc.
Adrian Browne is offline  
Old 11 March 2016, 13:11   #30
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,710
As you can see, it doesn`t make much sense to ask the users. One likes this one likes that. Do what you like to do.

If you go for AGA then use fastram because an AGA system without doesn`t makes sense. You can predefine the amount of ram if you like to limit. If it comes to accelerators then you may activate some extras if detected.

Amount of colors depends on game style. For action less and more for rather static style.

And don`t aks the user too much because you will get a very large wish list.
daxb is offline  
Old 11 March 2016, 13:27   #31
invent
pixels

invent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Australia
Age: 46
Posts: 163
While I voted for A1200, I'd be very happy for either system. I'm actually more curious about the project itself.
invent is offline  
Old 11 March 2016, 13:40   #32
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,336
Dan, as you have already stated, stick with your unexpanded base machines, if you start adding fastram, faster CPU's it will never end, plus you know the limits and its more fun for you to reach those limits be it on OCS or AGA target base machines.

I look forward when you let us know more about the project!
Amigajay is offline  
Old 11 March 2016, 13:46   #33
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 661
I agree, basic configs. Well, A500 with 1mb if it's ECS, but other than that, stock systems.
vulture is offline  
Old 11 March 2016, 13:48   #34
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigajay View Post
Dan, as you have already stated, stick with your unexpanded base machines, if you start adding fastram, faster CPU's it will never end, plus you know the limits and its more fun for you to reach those limits be it on OCS or AGA target base machines.

I look forward when you let us know more about the project!
Ok, Base systems is a well defined platform, but the A1200 reeeeeally needs some fastRAM to even utilise it's full potential, so that *could* also be a fair and well defined limit. I think there were some A1200 4MB games released back in the day.
Anyhow, as I mentioned myself earlier, the developer should listen more to himself and make the project fun and challenging for himself, that way it maximises the chances of it actually being completed rather than listening to all kinds of request and initiate "project: feature-creep 3000".
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 11 March 2016, 13:53   #35
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,443
I would go stock A1200 with benefits from possible expansions (usage of extra ram, 030 or so.)
Predseda is offline  
Old 11 March 2016, 14:03   #36
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 908
I would allow the A1200 a few megabytes of Fast RAM and a hard drive. That was a very common configuration, similar to an A500 having the extra half meg of RAM and a second floppy drive.

030 accelerators and beyond were already rather expensive.
ajk is online now  
Old 11 March 2016, 14:38   #37
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajk View Post
...and a hard drive.
Predseda is offline  
Old 11 March 2016, 16:44   #38
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 661
I suppose a hard drive is not even beyond the basic specs, since:
a) There were A1200HD models
b) There's always the WHDLoad treatment waiting to happen, so....
vulture is offline  
Old 11 March 2016, 17:06   #39
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajk View Post
I would allow the A1200 a few megabytes of Fast RAM and a hard drive. That was a very common configuration, similar to an A500 having the extra half meg of RAM and a second floppy drive.
Hard drive installability or dependence is a must, since we had Amigas sold with in-built hard drives since 1992 at least. RAM not as much.

Saying an A1200 needs Fast RAM to realize its full potential when AGA games barely scratched the surface of a stock A1200 setup is totally wrong, there's much to do on stock setup and people, blinded by expansion availability, always get sidetracked and cave in and use that because it's "easier". Can't fit it in 2MB RAM? Make 4MB Fast a requirement. That's never a good approach. Unless the game is worth that upgrade. When people release shitty Backbone games that look like 8-bit computers but need 4MB of RAM, you can tell something is wrong.
Akira is offline  
Old 11 March 2016, 19:06   #40
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 908
@Akira

It's not about stuff not fitting in memory, but because Chip RAM really cripples the 020 speed-wise. The Fast RAM should be there not to allow for sloppy coding, but to properly take advantage of the A1200. That would make for spectacular stuff in the hands of proficient coders
ajk is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AGA Games on ECS/OCS Computers fondpondforever Retrogaming General Discussion 16 30 July 2015 06:23
Mad Crash Racing for Amiga OCS/ECS/AGA DDNI Amiga scene 10 20 February 2015 16:16
AGA Upgrade for ECS/OCS Games? slowtide project.Amiga Game Factory 3 03 December 2013 20:11
Using an LCD/TFT display with an OCS/ECS/AGA Amiga Photon support.Hardware 1 15 August 2009 00:28
ecs ocs games on aga memothejanitor support.Apps 4 16 June 2007 04:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22591 seconds with 12 queries