English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 March 2016, 13:10   #1
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,222
MAME now fully open source - time for Voodoo 3 emulation in WinUAE?

Hey Toni,

It looks like MAME finally went open source with a decent license:
http://mamedev.org/?p=422

Maybe it's time for that Voodoo 3 emulation in WinUAE?
jbenam is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 March 2016, 13:11   #2
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,222
Duh, just saw http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...&postcount=125

I suppose this can be closed
jbenam is offline  
Old 07 March 2016, 13:52   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,542
Separate thread is better because it is practically guaranteed there will be no Voodoo emulation in 3.3.0 and beta threads are closed when official version is out.

But yes, I already knew, even before beta thread posts.

It is much easier said than done, so many dependencies...
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 07 March 2016, 14:56   #4
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,222
Ah right. Great, at least there's a possibility now!

It might be a fun project to tackle when you want some new challenges

Thanks for your work, Toni!
jbenam is offline  
Old 07 March 2016, 15:27   #5
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
I wonder where is the relationship between MAME and the voodoo 3 on the amiga
Sandro is offline  
Old 07 March 2016, 16:38   #6
Aegis
Gentleman

Aegis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: The Fortesque Mansion
Posts: 235
Send a message via Skype™ to Aegis
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandro View Post
I wonder where is the relationship between MAME and the voodoo 3 on the amiga
Some of the emulated games in MAME use an emulated Voodoo 3 - Toni can (hopefully) re-purpose that code to enable Voodoo 3 emulation in WinUAE.
Aegis is offline  
Old 07 March 2016, 21:24   #7
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 729
Does any 68k software use voodoo3 (specifically) or is it ppc only?
rare_j is offline  
Old 07 March 2016, 21:58   #8
Aegis
Gentleman

Aegis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: The Fortesque Mansion
Posts: 235
Send a message via Skype™ to Aegis
Quote:
Originally Posted by rare_j View Post
Does any 68k software use voodoo3 (specifically) or is it ppc only?
Anything that uses Warp3D - you'll also be able to use it as an RTG device as an alternative to uaegfx. I believe Toni was interested in Voodoo 3 because it was a nice compromise of functionality for both AmigaOS 3.9 and 4.1 with sufficient video RAM to use it with HD displays.
Aegis is offline  
Old 07 March 2016, 22:40   #9
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,542
Exactly. So far MAME Voodoo 3 emulation is the only license compatible display card that:

- "All AmigaOS" supported. Including linux, netbsd etc..
- Full HD resolution support (=enough VRAM)

- 3d is only a bonus and is not in my requirements list (but I don't think there are any >=8M VRAM capable display chips that don't have any kind of 3d hardware..). It is also software emulated in MAME code. So don't expect anything fast.

(CyberVision/BlizzardVision would have been sort of better choice because there are demos that only work with those boards. But Permedia 2 is not emulated and it is far too complex to code from scratch just for "fun"..
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 08 March 2016, 12:50   #10
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 661
@Toni

Would a Permedia 2 wrapper of sorts be possible instead of a full on emulation? Or am I just talking nonsense (most likely)?
vulture is offline  
Old 09 March 2016, 02:52   #11
CiroConsentino
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Curitiba/PR - Brazil
Posts: 1
Slowly, MAME devs are starting to add real 3D acceleration via hardware, but it will take a loong time before we have something to play games with.

There is a way to use a 3Dfx Glide wrapper to use the video card to render graphics of 3D games (Glide to Direct3D wrapper). I don't know how accurate would a wrapper be though or how hard it would be to implement this. I don't know how to do it.

Last edited by CiroConsentino; 09 March 2016 at 02:58.
CiroConsentino is offline  
Old 09 March 2016, 09:46   #12
Meshuggah
1200 gamer

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Paris, France
Age: 40
Posts: 34
Would a uae Warp3D implementation be easier? Directly using the host 3d acceleration.
I have no idea how complex this is, just asking
Meshuggah is offline  
Old 09 March 2016, 11:38   #13
thellier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 148
>Would a uae Warp3D implementation be easier?
Already exists in WinUAE 68k as WaZp3D
[ Show youtube player ]

Alain Thellier - Wazp3D
thellier is offline  
Old 09 March 2016, 12:02   #14
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by CiroConsentino View Post
Slowly, MAME devs are starting to add real 3D acceleration via hardware, but it will take a loong time before we have something to play games with.

There is a way to use a 3Dfx Glide wrapper to use the video card to render graphics of 3D games (Glide to Direct3D wrapper). I don't know how accurate would a wrapper be though or how hard it would be to implement this. I don't know how to do it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meshuggah View Post
Would a uae Warp3D implementation be easier? Directly using the host 3d acceleration.
I have no idea how complex this is, just asking
"Somebody else's problem" again.

I only do hardware emulation. I don't do drivers, especially 3D drivers. I don't want to know what 3D drivers need to do. They just work automatically when emulation is good enough.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 09 March 2016, 12:30   #15
Meshuggah
1200 gamer

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Paris, France
Age: 40
Posts: 34
Good point.
Meshuggah is offline  
Old 09 March 2016, 13:30   #16
S0ulA55a551n
Registered User
S0ulA55a551n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Rhondda, Wales
Age: 40
Posts: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post

(CyberVision/BlizzardVision would have been sort of better choice because there are demos that only work with those boards. But Permedia 2 is not emulated and it is far too complex to code from scratch just for "fun"..
AOS4.1 needs a lot more than 8MB VRam though ? Or would you be able to emulate this card with more VRAM ?
S0ulA55a551n is offline  
Old 09 March 2016, 13:56   #17
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ulA55a551n View Post
AOS4.1 needs a lot more than 8MB VRam though ? Or would you be able to emulate this card with more VRAM ?
I don't care.

It is OS4 supported card (and everything else) and it has enough VRAM for full HD. My checklist is complete.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 09 September 2016, 21:05   #18
Rob1
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ulA55a551n View Post
AOS4.1 needs a lot more than 8MB VRam though ? Or would you be able to emulate this card with more VRAM ?
Only if you're using compositing and that requires Radeon hardware anyway.
Rob1 is offline  
Old 14 October 2016, 01:48   #19
esc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Palo Alto, California, USA
Posts: 372
Sorry to reopen old thread but I've been gone for a while - @Toni - were you able to make any headway emulating the Voodoo 3?
esc is offline  
Old 14 October 2016, 08:42   #20
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,542
I am hoping that PCem implements it someday (or some other single system emulator), MAME separates it in dozens of different source modules with dozens of dependencies. It is practically impossible task to merge.
Toni Wilen is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Voodoo GFX Emulation FOL request.UAE Wishlist 6 20 February 2015 22:55
REQ: Open source AMIGA voodoo driver Zetr0 request.Other 6 05 November 2006 08:20
MAME and Amiga emulation DamienD Retrogaming General Discussion 10 28 April 2006 12:28
NewsRog goes Open Source Paul News 0 04 December 2004 16:37
BlitzBasic - Is now open source Djay Amiga scene 2 08 February 2003 01:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20949 seconds with 11 queries