English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 March 2016, 10:45   #1
Doctor Clu
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Dallas, TX- USA
Posts: 30
Oronico Silver Wireless Card and EasyNet

I Have an Amiga 1200 that I am working to connect up to the wireless internet with a Orinoco Silver card using the Prism2v2 driver and the EasyNet install of internet programs.

Installed all drivers, have all settings in place. It says I connect but pinging shows I have no pathway back to the gateway.

I have gotten these wireless cards to work on my Newton 2000 before. The procedure I used is the same:

* I have manually set a IP address in the range of my home network
* Set the gateway to what my router says it is.
* Set the DNS entries.

Network name and home password are set.

Basically I have all in play like I do on the Newton setup (not the same self addressed IP address of course). However:

* As said before, when pinging the gateway it says no pathway.
* when I ping the assigned ip address from another computer I see connection and then no connection.
* When I try to telnet out it tries a three number instead of four number IP address and ends with "Connection refused".

Obviously the card is not really connecting, but what other step do I need to do on this? Currently running OS 3.5 on the Amiga 1200 as it has 2 meg of memory currently.

Thanks in advance.

EXTRA CREDIT:

I would like to "Call" BBSs once I have the wireless connection going. Is there any way for Terminus to use the wireless connection? If not, is there a terminal program with good ANSI emulation?
Doctor Clu is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 March 2016, 10:58   #2
Sir_Lucas
Registered User

Sir_Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 454
Orinoco Silver/Gold will only work with WEP and WPA/TKIP.
Go to your router settings and check if you have it set.
WPA/TKIP - B/G mode. You can't use AES+TKIP. It has to be TKIP only.
You can't use mixed mode it has to be WPA only.

Do you have your Prism2v2 drivers installed?
Do you have C:WirelessManager Prism2.device line in your U-s?
If you so, put a ";' in front of it and reboot. Open CLI and type:
C:Wirelessmanager prism2.device

or

C:Wirelessmanager prism2.device VERBOSE
We'll see if the card can associate with the router first.
Sir_Lucas is offline  
Old 05 March 2016, 15:18   #3
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,594
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Yes, exactly what Lucas says. I had that same problem and I had to change the settings in the router. I have an Orinoco Gold.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 05 March 2016, 17:37   #4
Doctor Clu
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Dallas, TX- USA
Posts: 30
Thanks I'll give that a try and report back.
Doctor Clu is offline  
Old 05 March 2016, 19:09   #5
Doctor Clu
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Dallas, TX- USA
Posts: 30
C:Wirelessmanager prism2.device VERBOSE gave these results.

I have have copied and pasted more, but in the command shell this is all the text that would display at one time in the high res screen.

skip - SSID mismatch
skip - SSID mismatch
2: 38:3b:c8:e3:6b:96 ssid='ATT934' wpa_ie_len=28 rsn_ie_len=24 caps=0x411
skip - SSID mismatch
skip - SSID mismatch
3: 00:1e:c7:ca:96:79 ssid=' ' wpa_ie_len=0 rsn_ie_len=0 caps=0x31
skip - no WPA/RSN IE
Try to find non-WPA AP
0: 60:c3:97:f3:68:66 ssid='Drisdale' wpa_ie_len=28 rsn_ie_len=24 caps=0x411
skip - SSID mismatch
skip - SSID mismatch
1: 60:c3:97:1c:7d:1a ssid='ATT095' wpa_ie_len=28 rsn_ie_len=24 caps=0x411
skip - SSID mismatch
skip - SSID mismatch
2: 38:3b:c8:e3:6b:96 ssid='ATT934' wpa_ie_len=28 rsn_ie_len=24 caps=0x411
skip - SSID mismatch
skip - SSID mismatch
3: 00:1e:c7:ca:96:79 ssid=' ' wpa_ie_len=0 rsn_ie_len=0 caps=0x31
skip - SSID mismatch
skip - SSID mismatch
No suitable network found
Setting scan request: 5 sec 0 usec
Doctor Clu is offline  
Old 05 March 2016, 19:21   #6
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doctor Clu View Post
I would like to "Call" BBSs once I have the wireless connection going. Is there any way for Terminus to use the wireless connection? If not, is there a terminal program with good ANSI emulation?
DCTelnet is a good telnet client designed to be used with BBS'es. I don't see much point using older terminal programs because you have to setup separate telser or similar devices to get them work over Internet.
jPV is offline  
Old 05 March 2016, 19:39   #7
Doctor Clu
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Dallas, TX- USA
Posts: 30
Thanks jPV on the advice of DCTelnet.
Doctor Clu is offline  
Old 05 March 2016, 20:38   #8
Sir_Lucas
Registered User

Sir_Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 454
There's also AmTelnet.
http://aminet.net/package/comm/tcp/amtelnet

Right, can you reinstall the Prism2v2 drivers?
Check this tutorial as well:

http://www.retro-commodore.eu/networ...-on-the-amiga/
Sir_Lucas is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Orinoco Silver Wireless Card/EasyNet Doctor Clu support.Hardware 0 05 March 2016 01:14
EasyNet wireless card from AmigaKit problems.. Synthesize Me support.Hardware 7 13 August 2014 01:30
i am thinking of get EASYNET PCMCIA WIRELESS CARD (A1200/A600) mcbone Amiga scene 2 03 November 2013 15:39
Does the Amigakit Easynet Wireless Card work with a VM SuperHub? BarryB support.Hardware 44 07 January 2012 01:45
EasyNet, wireless and wired..... Doc Mindie support.Apps 4 19 August 2009 00:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21913 seconds with 11 queries