English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 March 2016, 13:32   #41
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vega Sector
Age: 45
Posts: 2,286
What power supply did you get?

Best one I have is 2.5A.

Do you use PS3 controller? Did you test BT?
Anubis is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 March 2016, 15:55   #42
S0ulA55a551n
Registered User
S0ulA55a551n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Rhondda, Wales
Age: 40
Posts: 462
I just been using an old Nokia phone charger. That not good enough for the three ?
S0ulA55a551n is offline  
Old 04 March 2016, 16:22   #43
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,656
Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ulA55a551n View Post
I just been using an old Nokia phone charger. That not good enough for the three ?
No way. Those are 1A at best. Fine for RPi 1 and Zero, but not for 3 (and probably not for 2), especially when you add peripherals that need bus power.

I bought this for my Pi recently, and it's been working great:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005P2BY5I
I'm powering the Pi from it as explained in the product description. I velcro'd the hub to the Pi case for tidiness
VERY recommended.
Akira is offline  
Old 04 March 2016, 16:26   #44
S0ulA55a551n
Registered User
S0ulA55a551n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Rhondda, Wales
Age: 40
Posts: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
No way. Those are 1A at best. Fine for RPi 1 and Zero, but not for 3 (and probably not for 2), especially when you add peripherals that need bus power.

I bought this for my Pi recently, and it's been working great:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005P2BY5I
I'm powering the Pi from it as explained in the product description. I velcro'd the hub to the Pi case for tidiness
VERY recommended.
Been using it fine on 2 for ages no problem, But using it with no keyboard, mouse, wireless attached and external hdd has its own power source
S0ulA55a551n is offline  
Old 04 March 2016, 17:13   #45
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,656
As I said it depends on your load. But it's obviously up to you, if you want to risk your computer with a shitty adapter or not
Akira is offline  
Old 04 March 2016, 18:57   #46
S0ulA55a551n
Registered User
S0ulA55a551n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Rhondda, Wales
Age: 40
Posts: 462
Raspberry Pi 3 out

Tell I lie was using the Asus usb plug that came with my nexus 7. Chucks out a massive 0.3amps

And I'm obviously a bit dull cause I can see how too much amps would be an issue. But why not enough ?

Last edited by S0ulA55a551n; 04 March 2016 at 20:00.
S0ulA55a551n is offline  
Old 04 March 2016, 21:23   #47
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 728
If the power led blinks under load there is not enough power, and something will error or crash. Don't know that it would cause damage though.
rare_j is offline  
Old 05 March 2016, 00:42   #48
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,656
Quote:
Originally Posted by rare_j View Post
Don't know that it would cause damage though.
On a long term yes, but on a short term it can cause data corruption on the SD card or any disk you have attached to it.
Akira is offline  
Old 05 March 2016, 10:40   #49
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 728
Yes I had errors reading and writing to disk when insufficiently powered.
A good indication is if the power led blinks while booting into raspbian. But if you see it blink at any time you need a better psu.
rare_j is offline  
Old 05 March 2016, 14:07   #50
appnjoy
Amiga lover
appnjoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Italy
Posts: 19
I just bought my Raspberry Pi 2 Model B few months ago...
The question is , to buy or not to buy model 3?

I think i don't really need an upgrade.......mmmmm, on second thought.... Ok, i'm going to buy
appnjoy is offline  
Old 05 March 2016, 14:53   #51
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,520
Quote:
Originally Posted by appnjoy View Post
I just bought my Raspberry Pi 2 Model B few months ago...
The question is , to buy or not to buy model 3?

I think i don't really need an upgrade.......mmmmm, on second thought.... Ok, i'm going to buy
Once you have 3 or 4 pies you will realize upgrading is not worth it unless its a substantial unit upgrade. Each to their own though. All the best rpi2 & 3's are good. So no loss.
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 05 March 2016, 14:54   #52
S0ulA55a551n
Registered User
S0ulA55a551n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Rhondda, Wales
Age: 40
Posts: 462
Built in Wales
S0ulA55a551n is offline  
Old 07 March 2016, 21:49   #53
jediknight
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: bolton
Posts: 77
I just ordered a nice pi 3 I love emulators works great and now with wifi ad a bit more speed , I just buy them when they come out as there cheap and I like to support british people but its a great machine for kodi too love kodi.

but I would love someone to compile workbench to work on the rapberry wouldn't that be so cool. os3.1 self booting on a pi wahoo I can dream.
jediknight is offline  
Old 07 March 2016, 22:02   #54
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Can I use one of these to stream movies from the net to a TV, instead of using my PC?
Arnie is offline  
Old 07 March 2016, 22:38   #55
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,900
Yes, OpenELEC can do that.

I got my Pi3 today, Kodi/OpenELEC runs smooth as butter.
I had one stubborn movie which had some stutter on my Pi2, but not anymore.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 07 March 2016, 22:53   #56
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
I've never owned a Raspberry, so if I get the RP3 then it will be my first.

How do you put the OpenELEC files on to the sd card, do I need a Linux install?
Arnie is offline  
Old 07 March 2016, 23:02   #57
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,656
OpenElec is installed like any other SD card, writing the image to SD with winimage (on windows) or something. There are plenty tutorials online explaining how to do it. I recommend doing the split install where you put the basic boot things on a small SD card but then you load the rest of OpenElec from a USB stick. I never had volume corruption that way, even if the Pi crashed.

Here it is explained for Retropie but I did it with OpenElec:
http://blog.petrockblock.com/forums/...e-best-method/

The only thing I can't do with my OpenElec server is Netflix, because I don't want to install Plex server or anything else in another device. Airplay works partially, video sometimes works, sometimes doesn't. YouTube works great from desktop with Chrome plugins like "Play To Kodi", you can also stream music this way (I use it to stream Soundcloud, Mixcloud and others). I don't think it does Chrome casting though, so no streaming from an Android device (unless I am not knowing any better). It really is a beautiful and cheap setup, I had it for a couple of years now and imagine that I am still running it with a Pi 1 without problems so a Pi 3 system should run beautifully.
Akira is offline  
Old 07 March 2016, 23:13   #58
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Thanks for the info. I think my best bet would be to get the RP3 and learn how it works before installing anything. Baby steps, baby steps....
Arnie is offline  
Old 08 March 2016, 00:02   #59
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,656
It's really easy. I hate fiddling around with command lines and stuff yet managed to do it all on my own rather quickly.
Akira is offline  
Old 08 March 2016, 00:12   #60
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Yeah, I'm not too comfortable with the sudo judo stuff plus messing around with the partitions seems a bit hit and miss according to the link you posted.

I'll look at getting one in the next couple of weeks and have a play around with it.
Arnie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
raspberry pi setup amig060 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 08 January 2016 14:49
Raspberry Pi 2 amigafreak68k support.FS-UAE 67 31 October 2015 22:52
Keyrah V2 on Raspberry Pi Boom^ support.Hardware 3 22 February 2015 00:04
For Sale Raspberry Pi lolafg MarketPlace 16 06 August 2012 15:13
Embedded Raspberry Pi? wXR Hardware mods 2 29 July 2012 17:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28531 seconds with 11 queries