English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 March 2016, 19:39   #21
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,642
Yeah unfortunately it doesn't have support for x265 and it seems a lot of people are turning to this format so it better support it soon.
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 March 2016, 19:57   #22
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,330
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Yeah unfortunately it doesn't have support for x265 and it seems a lot of people are turning to this format so it better support it soon.
Maybe, but i think RP are doing their own thing, i think 8 million units shows they have enough support doing what they are doing, they cant please everyone, heck nvidia cant even get updates and support formats and look at their userbase!
Amigajay is offline  
Old 01 March 2016, 21:20   #23
spiff
Oh noes!
spiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Neverland
Posts: 659
Nice podcast with Eben from the RBP foundation about RBP 3.

http://thepipodcast.com/the-pi-podca...th-eben-upton/

He among other things say that they are working on x265 decoding. A software/hardware combination, and that they hope to achieve 1080p on medium bitrates.
spiff is offline  
Old 01 March 2016, 23:33   #24
DonAmiga
Registered User

DonAmiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 518
Nice one Thanks for sharing, just ordered
DonAmiga is offline  
Old 01 March 2016, 23:53   #25
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 276
Here is a nice review of the 3 ad well as a comparison of it next to the 2.

http://www.trustedreviews.com/opinio...y-pi-3-vs-pi-2

I have overclocked my Pi 2 to nearly 1100 Mhz and it was able to run a decent amount of PSP and Dreamcast titles full speed, so I imagine this will be that extra little push that I was looking for. Then considering the GPU is faster and the RAM is faster, plus the fact that it's now 64-bit....
...ya no complaints really.
XDelusion is offline  
Old 01 March 2016, 23:58   #26
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,519
I'd like to see video of amiga emulation on it when people start showcasing them
ransom1122 is online now  
Old 02 March 2016, 00:10   #27
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by ransom1122 View Post
I'd like to see video of amiga emulation on it when people start showcasing them

No doubt, I really need to save up and buy a nice HDMI video recording device.
XDelusion is offline  
Old 02 March 2016, 00:12   #28
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Yeah unfortunately it doesn't have support for x265 and it seems a lot of people are turning to this format so it better support it soon.

When the Pi 2 was released the man behind this said he kind of regretted not having updated the video, but intends to make that a step in the future, so I'm sure it's on the way. In the mean time let's enjoy what these can do right now!
XDelusion is offline  
Old 02 March 2016, 11:20   #29
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by trixster View Post
No it hasn't.
I've just re-read the article and it just said "support for h265" which I had obviously read as "hardware support for h265", since it doesn't make ANY sense to say that it supports h265 unless it's there in hardware - it goes by itself that it supports software decoding (even the Pi 2 had support for it, performance is another matter though).

So yes, stupid article wording which got me confused. Sorry
jbenam is offline  
Old 02 March 2016, 12:00   #30
jayminer
Registered User

jayminer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Umeň / Sweden
Posts: 159
I read up a bit about h265 on the rpi3 and it seems it's capable of quite a bit of h265 playback in software:

"1080p60 H.264 has been available on Pi2 for some time with a minor GPU overclock.
The Pi3 includes this overclock by default.

Recent Milhouse builds of OpenELEC have included H.265 optimisations (a mixture of NEON on ARM plus GPU acceleration) for some time.
Because it is a software implementation, the performance does vary with the stream, but I'd say you can play a lot of 1080p H.265 content on a Pi 3. This optimisation work is still ongoing."

*edit*
That quote is from here: https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/v...?f=29&t=138027
jayminer is offline  
Old 03 March 2016, 20:28   #31
S0ulA55a551n
Registered User
S0ulA55a551n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Rhondda, Wales
Age: 40
Posts: 462
S0ulA55a551n is offline  
Old 03 March 2016, 21:03   #32
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 728
Full write-up plz!
rare_j is offline  
Old 03 March 2016, 21:06   #33
S0ulA55a551n
Registered User
S0ulA55a551n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Rhondda, Wales
Age: 40
Posts: 462
Not sure if that will be today. Shit day at work. Doubt will get it out of box sorry. Though will be able to compare against a 2 and a 1
S0ulA55a551n is offline  
Old 03 March 2016, 21:49   #34
brett71
Registered User

brett71's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ames, IA, USA
Posts: 348
Does the Pi3 have gigabit wired ethernet yet?
brett71 is offline  
Old 03 March 2016, 21:51   #35
S0ulA55a551n
Registered User
S0ulA55a551n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Rhondda, Wales
Age: 40
Posts: 462
If 2 didn't then 3 hasn't. It's basically new cpu. Gpu running at higher MHz and built in wifi and Bluetooth. Apart from that same as 2
S0ulA55a551n is offline  
Old 03 March 2016, 21:56   #36
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vega Sector
Age: 45
Posts: 2,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by brett71 View Post
Does the Pi3 have gigabit wired ethernet yet?
Nop, that did not change. But WiFi and BT is nice addition.

With PS3 controller and wireless keyboard and mouse I will be able to hide it behind TV - no wires that boss of the house hates so much.
Anubis is offline  
Old 03 March 2016, 23:54   #37
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 765
I've upgraded from an rpi2 to an rpi3. I've only had a little while to test it but it's good so far.

My rpi2 was running arm 1050mhz, core 500mhz, sdram 600mhz, schmoo 0x2000020.

On medium bitrate 1080p x265 videos it would begin to stutter during action scenes. Slow scenes would be OK.

With the rpi3 running at default arm 1200mhz, core 500mhz, sdram 600, schmoo 0x2000020, medium bitrate 1080p x265 recordings do not stutter at all, even in high action scenes.

In UAE4ARM, the Amiga emulator, the rpi2 will return 6MFLOPS, whilst rpi3 gives over 10.

AmiQuake still isn't as fast as an 060 but it's quicker than my old 040 at 40mhz. It does 11.8fps at the settings i'm using at 320x200. For reference my 060 gives 16.3fps.

RetroPie in general feels much more responsive; n64 emulation is smoother, dreamcast soul caliber is full speed.

I have not tried overclocking further yet.

I've had to buy a better psu. My old 2amp one wasn't up to it so I've replaced it with a 3.5 one.

Last edited by trixster; 04 March 2016 at 09:25.
trixster is online now  
Old 04 March 2016, 00:08   #38
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,642
Quote:
Originally Posted by trixster View Post
RetroPie in general feels much more responsive; n64 emulation is smoother, dreamcast soul caliber is full speed.
Can you possibly test PSX's R-Type Delta?
Akira is offline  
Old 04 March 2016, 01:49   #39
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,519
Quote:
Originally Posted by trixster View Post
I've upgraded from an rpi2 to an rpi3. I've only had a little while to test it but it's good so far.

My rpi2 was running arm 1050mhz, core 500mhz, sdram 600mhz, schmoo 0x2000020.

On medium bitrate 1080p x265 videos it would begin to stutter during action scenes. Slow scenes would be OK.

With the rpi3 running at default arm 1200mhz, core 500mhz, sdram 600, schmoo 0x2000020, medium bitrate 1080p x265 recordings do not stutter at all, even in high action scenes.

In UAE4ARM, the Amiga emulator, the rpi2 will return 6MFLOPS, whilst rpi3 gives over 9.

AmiQuake still isn't as fast as an 060 but it's quicker than my old 040 at 40mhz. I'll put a timedemo result for demo1 up here tomorrow.

RetroPie in general feels much more responsive; n64 emulation is smoother, dreamcast soul caliber is full speed.

I have not tried overclocking further yet.

I've had to buy a better psu. My old 2amp one wasn't up to it so I've replaced it with a 3.5 one.
Nice review, looking forward to reading more from other people who purchased it.
ransom1122 is online now  
Old 04 March 2016, 09:26   #40
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 765
I've updated my post above with the amiquake timedemo demo1 result - 11.8fps
trixster is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
raspberry pi setup amig060 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 08 January 2016 14:49
Raspberry Pi 2 amigafreak68k support.FS-UAE 67 31 October 2015 22:52
Keyrah V2 on Raspberry Pi Boom^ support.Hardware 3 22 February 2015 00:04
For Sale Raspberry Pi lolafg MarketPlace 16 06 August 2012 15:13
Embedded Raspberry Pi? wXR Hardware mods 2 29 July 2012 17:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23714 seconds with 11 queries