English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 February 2016, 20:02   #1
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,901
Raspberry Pi 3 out

Quote:
  • A 1.2GHz 64-bit quad-core ARM Cortex-A53 CPU (~10x the performance of Raspberry Pi 1)
  • Integrated 802.11n wireless LAN and Bluetooth 4.1
  • Complete compatibility with Raspberry Pi 1 and 2
https://www.raspberrypi.org/blog/ras...-pi-3-on-sale/

I already ordered one.
Retroplay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 February 2016, 21:55   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,869
My Pi2 has been in the cupboard for months as it couldn't do x265@1080p. The new Pi still uses videocore IV so no new hardware codecs :-(
alexh is offline  
Old 29 February 2016, 23:09   #3
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel
gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 36
Posts: 2,932
Wow, a Pi with on-board WiFi. That seems like a really useful tool, but I'm coming up blank for an exact reason why
gimbal is offline  
Old 29 February 2016, 23:20   #4
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,472
50% faster then RPI2.
I wonder if it will be noticeable?
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 01 March 2016, 00:07   #5
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by ransom1122 View Post
50% faster then RPI2.
I wonder if it will be noticeable?
Only in the same way upgrading a new phone every year is i.e not very!
Amigajay is offline  
Old 01 March 2016, 00:39   #6
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,678
Not true, with proper optimization, you can notice the increase a lot, for example, maybe now N64 emulation becomes decent!
Akira is offline  
Old 01 March 2016, 01:14   #7
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,472
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Not true, with proper optimization, you can notice the increase a lot, for example, maybe now N64 emulation becomes decent!
There's that word again "maybe".

Let's hope the production of rpies don't become like mobile phones. Where upgrades are minimal.

The difference from rpie 1 to 2 was worth the purchase. But from 2 to 3 I don't see what a 3 can do that my 2 can't do.

I'm sure we'll see many videos on YouTube though so we can make up our minds that way. For me the cost is not the issue its having multiple rpies just wasting space is.
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 01 March 2016, 01:15   #8
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 741
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Not true, with proper optimization, you can notice the increase a lot, for example, maybe now N64 emulation becomes decent!
Given that the 1GHz Pandora can do N64 very competently with a single core (Hell, even with the 600MHz CC Pandora's A8 a lot of N64 is very playable), I'm expecting that the Pi3 will nail it.

D.
Dunny is offline  
Old 01 March 2016, 11:16   #9
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,538
Retroplay

Let me know if this is any good. I am tempted with one myself, but only if the improvements are worth shelling out another 30-50
BippyM is offline  
Old 01 March 2016, 11:54   #10
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel
gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 36
Posts: 2,932
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
Given that the 1GHz Pandora can do N64 very competently with a single core (Hell, even with the 600MHz CC Pandora's A8 a lot of N64 is very playable), I'm expecting that the Pi3 will nail it.

D.
Hm, that might depend on how well the emulator does multithreading, otherwise the single core thingies will probably still blow it away
gimbal is offline  
Old 01 March 2016, 12:58   #11
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,472
Quote:
Originally Posted by bippym View Post
retroplay

let me know if this is any good. I am tempted with one myself, but only if the improvements are worth shelling out another 30-50
+1
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 01 March 2016, 13:28   #12
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vega Sector
Age: 45
Posts: 2,285
LOL, posted RPi3 news yesterday morning (on wrong forum - one for uae4arm ), just after I've ordered mine.

As RPi2 works miracle with Amiga emulation, RPi3 should just do it better, as for everything else... not sure you will notice big difference except for some emulators.

There is no 64bit Rasbian yet, but that is going to be another change with RPi3. I am not sure how I feel about power requirement, as most adapters are up to 2.5A and RPi3 will require 2.8A.

Here are some charts performance wise...





Only place where RPi3 is worst from its predecessors - power drawn... but I guess for extra wifi and BT.... well worth it...


Last edited by Anubis; 01 March 2016 at 13:35.
Anubis is offline  
Old 01 March 2016, 14:32   #13
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 2,056
Quote:
Originally Posted by ransom1122 View Post
There's that word again "maybe".

Let's hope the production of rpies don't become like mobile phones. Where upgrades are minimal.

The difference from rpie 1 to 2 was worth the purchase. But from 2 to 3 I don't see what a 3 can do that my 2 can't do.

I'm sure we'll see many videos on YouTube though so we can make up our minds that way. For me the cost is not the issue its having multiple rpies just wasting space is.
It is definitely and substantially faster, and it has built in Bluetooth and Wifi. But of course a Core2 can do pretty much anything an i7 can do, just a little bit slower. Of course it'll be noticeable if you do anything CPU intensive on it. If you don't, it won't. Pretty simple really.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 01 March 2016, 16:24   #14
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 769
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
My Pi2 has been in the cupboard for months as it couldn't do x265@1080p. The new Pi still uses videocore IV so no new hardware codecs :-(
Take your pi out of the cupboard. Recent improvments (end of jan 16) now make lower bitrate 1080p x265 viable on a slightly overclocked rpi2. 720p x265 is pretty much flawless now. Rpi3 'should' make most 1080p x265 ok as well.
trixster is offline  
Old 01 March 2016, 16:29   #15
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 769
UAE4ARM with jit enabled on a 1050mhz rpi2 gives 80mips and 7flops in sysspeed when emulating an 040. It'll be interesting to see what an overclocked rpi3 can deliver. 100mips?
trixster is offline  
Old 01 March 2016, 16:57   #16
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,336
Wow! the Zero draws less power in load vs Pi2/3 in idle mode!
Amigajay is offline  
Old 01 March 2016, 16:58   #17
S0ulA55a551n
Registered User
S0ulA55a551n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Rhondda, Wales
Age: 40
Posts: 462
Just ordered. For the built in wifi and Bluetooth alone makes it much easier.

had the first one on day of release and own a 2 as well
S0ulA55a551n is offline  
Old 01 March 2016, 17:35   #18
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ulA55a551n View Post
Just ordered. For the built in wifi and Bluetooth alone makes it much easier.

had the first one on day of release and own a 2 as well
I've just moved my pi to my pc monitor (it has HDMI input too) and it's too far from my network.. Don't want to sacrifice a usb port for networking, so looks like I might order one.

Last edited by BippyM; 01 March 2016 at 18:52.
BippyM is offline  
Old 01 March 2016, 18:01   #19
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
My Pi2 has been in the cupboard for months as it couldn't do x265@1080p. The new Pi still uses videocore IV so no new hardware codecs :-(
The Pi 3 has got hw support for x265 decoding 1080p@30fps. Should be good enough for every movie out there which hasn't been filmed in 60fps
jbenam is offline  
Old 01 March 2016, 18:26   #20
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 769
No it hasn't.
trixster is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
raspberry pi setup amig060 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 08 January 2016 14:49
Raspberry Pi 2 amigafreak68k support.FS-UAE 67 31 October 2015 22:52
Keyrah V2 on Raspberry Pi Boom^ support.Hardware 3 22 February 2015 00:04
For Sale Raspberry Pi lolafg MarketPlace 16 06 August 2012 15:13
Embedded Raspberry Pi? wXR Hardware mods 2 29 July 2012 17:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24754 seconds with 11 queries