English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 February 2016, 08:55   #21
whitegiant89
Lone CBM user

whitegiant89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Atherton / Australia
Age: 46
Posts: 136
Send a message via MSN to whitegiant89 Send a message via Skype™ to whitegiant89
[QUOTE=Arnie;1073558]Good. How about scart. Do the TV's have scart? The reason I'm asking is if they do, then you can use RGB to Scart instead of the A520 TV module.


Australia does not use scart, we have to make do with composite ,rgb ,or hdmi
whitegiant89 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 March 2016, 02:55   #22
invent
pixels

invent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Australia
Age: 46
Posts: 163
Hi Kissmad, good luck in finding an A500.
I bought my A1200 on www.gumtree.com.au and for $300AU in November last year.

No expansions except CF Harddrive, Composite to VGA Adapter.
invent is offline  
Old 08 March 2016, 07:11   #23
B14ck W01f
m68k all the way
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Koalaland
Posts: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by invent View Post
Hi Kissmad, good luck in finding an A500.
I bought my A1200 on www.gumtree.com.au and for $300AU in November last year.
I can tell you right now that, on eBay, people are selling A1200's in droves. This contradicts my earlier statement:

Quote:
While there are A500s in abundance on eBay in Australia, the same cannot be said about A1200's.
B14ck W01f is offline  
Old 09 March 2016, 19:22   #24
niobyte
AMR / HOL Contributor

niobyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by KISSMAD View Post
I'm just going to dump some disk magazines at the moment.

I've already looked into the Kryoflux and the SuperCard Pro. They are overkill at this stage.

I don't mind it been a hassle to create the adf's, it's not like I'm going to be creating them 24/7.
Hi KISSMAD,

I already had several A500s around 10 years ago that I intended to use for dumping ADF images. Unfortunately, due to the Chip RAM constraints of the system (unless you have a revision 8A A500+) there is only 512k Chip RAM.

This is not enough RAM to dump disks. As unfortunately Chip RAM is used to dump the ADF image into memory. Kipper2k is right you would need to modify the Amiga 500 motherboard (revision 6A or earlier).

There is a motherboard hack to do this (have to cut traces and modify solder joint pads). This will convert all Fast RAM to Chip RAM. This would then provide the 1 MB of Chip RAM required to dump ADFs.

Minimum requirements are:
- 1 MB Chip RAM
- Null modem cable in order to transfer the ADF to a PC.
- 1 disk (880KB ADF) takes 15 minutes to transfer via Null Modem Cable @ ~ 9600bps. I had tried with higher speeds, but I was experiencing too many errors when transferring.

Optional requirements:
- Use TrackSaver GUI to create ADFs easily. Preferably as ADZ, as the ADF is compressed.
http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/tsgui

If you only have 512k chip and 512k fast. You can also use a very bare bones shell and a null modem cable to transfer a disk from a PC. You will of course need a PC that has a serial or parallel port to be able to do this.

Either way to get the 880K ADF image back to a PC with an A500 without a harddrive the only way is via a null-modem or parallel cable transfer setup.

If a disk after compression ends up being less than ~720KB it could also copied to a 720KB IBM formatted DD disk. Something like CrossDOS or MessySID can be used on the A500 to copy the ADF from one disk to the other. You will need 2 floppy drives to do this.

There is also another method that uses the parallel port instead of serial. It appears to be a lot faster at transferring ADFs (it is also a vastly simpler solution):
http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php...and-amiga-500!

There is also a great Knowledge Base article on the Amiga Forever website on this topic:
https://www.amigaforever.com/kb/13-118

Amiga Explorer is another simple solution to transfer files (using a null modem serial cable):
https://www.amigaforever.com/ae/

I honestly think in the end, the time and money spent, it would be easier to just purchase a Kryoflux or a SuperCard Pro to dump the disks. Unless you manage to find an A500 that works reliably for < $100, then I would suggest the methods above which require extra items to get the job done.

I personally use both an Amiga 1200 and a Kryoflux to dump disks. An A1200 takes ~40 seconds to dump an ADF file using tracksaver.device (with error checking) VS ~2 minutes with a Kryoflux.

Last edited by niobyte; 10 March 2016 at 18:01. Reason: Additional Options
niobyte is offline  
Old 16 April 2016, 09:11   #25
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 1,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
It's hard to say. Some people think they are worth a fortune, but the A500 is quite common in the UK. I picked up an A500+ (console only) for 25. Most are Pal versions. What TV standard does Aus use?
Pal, one of my 3 is from Dixons in the UK before I moved in 1990 to Australia.
whiteb is offline  
Old 16 April 2016, 09:21   #26
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 1,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by B14ck W01f View Post
If you can, get a A500 with KS1.2 built in. It can run many games that KS1.3 can't. But many of the A500's sold on eBay already have 1.3 built-in. The downside of 1.2 is that you cannot use external hard drives like A590 or GVP.
You can use them on a 1.2, they just wont autoboot, which was fixed in V1.3.

The problem with 1.3 was that it did not support Fastfilesystem as it was not in ROM, but on one of the disks, and had to be present for FFS to be recognised. If you had a FFS formatted HDD, the system wouldn't boot unless it was present in L:, but you could put FFS in to the RDB of the HDD using HDToolbox. This was fixed in Kickstart 2.0, when Fastfilesystem was moved in to ROM.

Last edited by whiteb; 16 April 2016 at 09:31.
whiteb is offline  
Old 16 April 2016, 09:57   #27
BigFairy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 70
well im glad a hoarded a few A500's and a few A1200 several years ago when there were still plenty ..
BigFairy is offline  
Old 30 April 2016, 04:19   #28
B14ck W01f
m68k all the way
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Koalaland
Posts: 475
I don't understand why some people have more than 1 A500 or more than 1 A1200. For me, one of each model is enough.
B14ck W01f is offline  
Old 03 August 2016, 14:31   #29
jabsy
Yeah Hup!

jabsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Australia
Age: 47
Posts: 340
Is a catweasel any good for dumping disks? I've only really used mine to write C64 images back to disk. It should be a piece of cake shouldn't it? Unless it was copy protected?
jabsy is offline  
Old 03 August 2016, 17:53   #30
Prosonic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Morwell Victoria Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 77
been toying with the idea of getting a 500 for a gortek dive setup as well but not many for sale in Victoria that's for sure i haven't seen a 1200 for sale in a while i wouldn't mind a spare i use mine a lot there are those 3d printed emulated things but i don't think it will feel quite rite
Prosonic is offline  
Old 04 August 2016, 02:23   #31
TroyWilkins
Registered User

TroyWilkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 344
My suggestion to you would be to put an advertisement on Gumtree http://www.gumtree.com.au/ stating 'Wanted: Amiga 500'

I did that, only I was after an A600 or A1200, and very quickly was contacted by someone local who had an A600 that didn't boot, but other than that was complete (power supply, mouse, box of disks) and he said I could have for free if I drove the 20 minutes or so to pick it up...

So I got it and it's now away being re-capped (as I don't have the equipment, skills or knowledge required) and tested for what I consider to be a very reasonable price.
TroyWilkins is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted Amiga 600 (Australia) Audronic MarketPlace 15 17 April 2015 11:09
Amiga 1200 wanted in Australia Strages MarketPlace 0 14 January 2014 13:25
FREE Amiga 1200 For Anyone In Australia Loedown MarketPlace 3 25 November 2011 21:04
Anything Amiga - Australia - blade002 Amiga websites reviews 9 28 August 2008 20:25
Wanted Amiga 3000 (Australia) Vaclav MarketPlace 5 01 May 2007 11:17

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16090 seconds with 11 queries