English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 February 2016, 00:13   #1
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 117
A500Flash Kickstart switcher

A500Flash is a Kickstart switcher allowing Flash-memory reprogramming. The device should be installed inside the Amiga A500/A500+/A2000.

The design of Flash memory chips being used in our product enables loading another Kickstart image by running additional software on the same Amiga computer and subsequent switching between available ROM images by holding down CTRL+A+A keys.




A500Flash 5k
  • designed for Amiga A500/A500+/A2000 models,
  • comes with 512kB of built-in Flash memory,
  • support for 512kB ROM images only the primary ones,
  • switching between available Kickstart images by holding down CTRL+A+A keys for about 3 seconds,
  • original ROM chip required,
  • PCB boards installation in place of original ROM and Gary chip,
  • Flash chips programming using native Amiga OS software,
  • included software requires Amiga OS 1.3+

A500Flash 1M
  • designed for Amiga A500/A500+/A2000 models,
  • comes with 1MB of built-in Flash memory,
  • support for 1MB ROM images - standard and extended ROM images,
  • switching between available Kickstart images by holding down CTRL+A+A keys for about 3 seconds,
  • original ROM chip required,
  • PCB boards installation in place of original ROM and Gary chip,
  • Flash chips programming using native Amiga OS software,
  • included software requires Amiga OS 1.3+
spidi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 February 2016, 11:39   #2
voyager_1701e
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Sydney / AUSTRALIA
Posts: 174
Looks great...will it be available in retailers?
voyager_1701e is offline  
Old 20 February 2016, 11:54   #3
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by voyager_1701e View Post
Looks great...will it be available in retailers?
Yes
spidi is offline  
Old 20 February 2016, 13:02   #4
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
Impressive =)
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 20 February 2016, 19:28   #5
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
Impressive =)
[ Show youtube player ] in action.
spidi is offline  
Old 22 February 2016, 22:43   #6
dirkies
Zone Friend

dirkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Belgium
Age: 45
Posts: 1,183
So can you flash 1.2 then?
dirkies is offline  
Old 22 February 2016, 23:01   #7
Mohican
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Budapest / Hungary
Age: 43
Posts: 65
Will it work together with other gary adapters (like a sandwich), e.g. 1.8/2Mb trapdoor memory expasion ?
Mohican is offline  
Old 23 February 2016, 12:02   #8
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirkies View Post
So can you flash 1.2 then?
You can save Kick 1.2.
spidi is offline  
Old 23 February 2016, 12:04   #9
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mohican View Post
Will it work together with other gary adapters (like a sandwich), e.g. 1.8/2Mb trapdoor memory expasion ?
Should work together.
spidi is offline  
Old 24 February 2016, 10:55   #10
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 2,324
Nice work!
Daedalus is offline  
Old 24 February 2016, 11:11   #11
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,378
So for the 1M version, can you use it with 2x256k+1x512k ROM in flash (so 3 in flash + 1 physical) or can it only switch between the physical ROM and one image in flash (256k->1M)?

I think some people would like to be able to switch between 1.2, 1.3, 3.1 and 3.9/custom.

And any idea as what the retail price will be?
demolition is offline  
Old 24 February 2016, 13:42   #12
dirkies
Zone Friend

dirkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Belgium
Age: 45
Posts: 1,183
I might be tempted, but still a lot of unknowns like price, usability and compatibility with other expansions. Need more info
dirkies is offline  
Old 24 February 2016, 14:47   #13
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
I think some people would like to be able to switch between 1.2, 1.3, 3.1 and 3.9/custom.
+1

And a CDTV version would be nice. (Just needs to be mirrored to fit)
Arnie is offline  
Old 24 February 2016, 19:40   #14
danko
Registered User
danko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 38
Posts: 98
Good job!
danko is online now  
Old 16 March 2016, 02:19   #15
LocoSombrero
Registered User

LocoSombrero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Up North
Posts: 29
GREAT! I will be definitely interested in having one once they are available for (pre-)order. I hope you keep us updated! Cheers!
LocoSombrero is offline  
Old 03 April 2016, 11:17   #16
LocoSombrero
Registered User

LocoSombrero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Up North
Posts: 29
Any developments on this? I would desperately need one for my A500 - now that I've got my games running with the USB floppy adapter (HxC w/ Cortex firmware), I've noticed that installing Amiga Forever's Kickstart 3.X was a bad choice for retro gaming as long as I'm without an HDD adapter and WHDLoad. As I still have my old 1.3 Kickstart, this product would definitely make my life a lot easier ..!
LocoSombrero is offline  
Old 03 April 2016, 11:41   #17
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,378
Quote:
Originally Posted by LocoSombrero View Post
now that I've got my games running with the USB floppy adapter (HxC w/ Cortex firmware)
How does that work? Do you mean Gotek w. Cortex Firmware? Because I have never heard about anyone reflashing an HxC board and I couldn't see the reason for it either.
demolition is offline  
Old 03 April 2016, 12:54   #18
dirkies
Zone Friend

dirkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Belgium
Age: 45
Posts: 1,183
is this now vaporware?
dirkies is offline  
Old 04 April 2016, 12:35   #19
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by LocoSombrero View Post
Any developments on this? I would desperately need one for my A500 - now that I've got my games running with the USB floppy adapter (HxC w/ Cortex firmware), I've noticed that installing Amiga Forever's Kickstart 3.X was a bad choice for retro gaming as long as I'm without an HDD adapter and WHDLoad. As I still have my old 1.3 Kickstart, this product would definitely make my life a lot easier ..!
The device will soon be available for purchase. A500Flash website has been updated with a memory map and software.
spidi is offline  
Old 06 April 2016, 04:29   #20
LocoSombrero
Registered User

LocoSombrero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Up North
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
How does that work? Do you mean Gotek w. Cortex Firmware? Because I have never heard about anyone reflashing an HxC board and I couldn't see the reason for it either.
Ahh, sorry, was a bit "sombrero on the eyelids" after a long day. Yep, it's the Gotek one, was joggling the two different options for a long time since the shop I purchased it from offers so many different choices ... Been real happy with it -- well, apart from the 3-digit LED display and the fact that I haven't had the time to figure out a proper solution for the disk selection buttons and the display (just installed the whole thing straight inside the computer and that's that).

Anyway, I'm really looking forward to the A500Flash, because as I've now found out upon fixing my dear old Amiga 500 back to life (typical silly sombrero): replacing the v1.3 Kickstart ROM to Amiga Forever's 3.x before getting a HDD adapter wasn't a good move (all the ACA500's were sold out before I got the chance to get one). The sad fact is that if you're using the Kickstart 3.X ROM - I have the latest version for my A500 - a majority of old A500 games need to be softkicked into Kickstart 1.3 in order for them to work 100% or in some cases, at all.

And I initially thought the majority of my disks were going bad .... geez. The problem seems to be related especially to either games that use certain audio filter/memory routines or especially applications such as trackers. I really do wonder what's the problem all about. All the guru codes are in the 8000-register, but I've even bought a new trapdoor 512k memory expansion, with no luck whatsoever.

Now I should probably start figuring out which version of the A500Flash would be the better option. Any opinions on possible pros and cons of the two different versions? I'd want to be able to switch between Kickstart v3.X and v1.3 for compatibility reasons, will be getting an ACA500plus as soon as they are available.

Last edited by LocoSombrero; 06 April 2016 at 04:32. Reason: typos
LocoSombrero is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Troubleshooting a kickstart switcher jman support.Hardware 10 25 September 2013 19:52
Kickstart switcher help for A600 fc.studio support.Hardware 18 27 October 2007 17:06
Trying to get a REALLY OLD Kickstart switcher to work Computolio support.Hardware 1 12 May 2007 07:47
Kickstart Switcher Uukrul support.Hardware 7 08 March 2002 06:48
Kickstart ROM Switcher jmmijo support.Hardware 2 10 January 2002 08:38

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23679 seconds with 11 queries