English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 February 2016, 23:54   #1
Zilog
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 76
Max Fast Memory with Winuae 64Bit.

Hi,
with the winuae 64bit is normal that can't use more that 1792M of fast ram?

If set z3 fast 1.5gbyte and 32-chip 1gb anyway the fast ram avalible are 1792mb;

If use more rtg memory , less fast ram is avalible.

Is normal?

Thanks.
By Zilog.
Zilog is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 February 2016, 00:46   #2
Aegis
Gentleman

Aegis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: The Fortesque Mansion
Posts: 235
Send a message via Skype™ to Aegis
Yes - remember, the Amiga is a 16/32-bit system even though you're running a 64-bit emulator. Also, various hardware expansions require their own address space so by adding RTG RAM (for example) you're actually reducing the amount of fast RAM the Amiga can use.
Aegis is offline  
Old 17 February 2016, 09:35   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
64-bit JIT has address space limits which makes total useful limit of about 2G of Amiga address space.

JIT limit is not a major problem because Amiga also does not officially support memory outside of first 2G. Some API functions use highest address bit for status information.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 17 February 2016, 20:35   #4
Zilog
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aegis View Post
Yes - remember, the Amiga is a 16/32-bit system even though you're running a 64-bit emulator. Also, various hardware expansions require their own address space so by adding RTG RAM (for example) you're actually reducing the amount of fast RAM the Amiga can use.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
64-bit JIT has address space limits which makes total useful limit of about 2G of Amiga address space.

JIT limit is not a major problem because Amiga also does not officially support memory outside of first 2G. Some API functions use highest address bit for status information.
Ok, i inderstood for limit of fast ram.

But is normal that fast ram avalible decrease if increase the rtg video ram? Only video card have access to rtg vram?

Thanks By.
Zilog is offline  
Old 17 February 2016, 20:48   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zilog View Post
Ok, i inderstood for limit of fast ram.

But is normal that fast ram avalible decrease if increase the rtg video ram? Only video card have access to rtg vram?

Thanks By.
VRAM uses same address space as "normal" RAM, it is linear mapped from CPU point of view (but quite slow to read in real hardware). Technically you can even execute code from VRAM.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 17 February 2016, 20:54   #6
Zilog
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
VRAM uses same address space as "normal" RAM, it is linear mapped from CPU point of view (but quite slow to read in real hardware). Technically you can even execute code from VRAM.
Ok. i understood.

Thanks Tony.
Zilog is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 3.2.1. memory dump for fake fast memory areas broken StingRay support.WinUAE 1 14 December 2015 20:39
Adding more then 8 MB of Fast Memory in WINUAE? Kenan support.WinUAE 3 16 June 2013 19:20
Use of 4MB PCMCIA Fast Flash Memory as Fast RAM in A1200 nkarytia support.Hardware 10 16 September 2011 13:37
Max fast ram BippyM support.WinUAE 8 28 March 2006 15:27
Max Fast Memory In WinUAE CodyJarrett support.WinUAE 11 19 April 2002 21:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.12307 seconds with 11 queries