English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 February 2016, 19:47   #1
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,481
Full-screen mode black screen with Default refresh rate

I'm testing WinUAE (3.3.0 beta 6) on Windows 10 64-bit.

My laptop has an Nvidia Quadro NVS135M graphics chip, driver version 341.92. Screen resolution is 1920×1200 with default 60Hz refresh rate. Using the Nvidia Control Panel I created a custom resolution 1920×1200 at 50Hz and that's what my desktop mode is.

In WinUAE full-screen resolution is set to Native (or 1920×1200 works the same).

In Display settings there are three choices for full-screen refresh rate: "Default refresh rate", "50Hz PAL (*)" and "60Hz NTSC". The last two work fine, but with "Default refresh rate", switching to full-screen mode the screen remains all-black. Emulation is running, just with a black screen. That only happens with graphics API Direct3D. With DirectDraw the full-screen display appears OK (just very very slow).

Is that a known issue? There don't seem to be any relevant log messages (but I'll attach part of the log shortly).
mark_k is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 February 2016, 20:06   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,543
Default only sets D3DDISPLAYMODEEX frequency parameter to zero which means "driver can decide". Perhaps it selects some out of range rate?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 15 February 2016, 22:03   #3
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,481
When the screen is blank (full-screen default refresh), pressing F12 does bring up the settings window. So it seems the problem might only be with the D3D surface???

A couple of logs and config attached. Not sure if there's any relevant info in there though.
Attached Files
File Type: zip config_and_logs.zip (8.2 KB, 37 views)
mark_k is offline  
Old 16 February 2016, 17:07   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,543
Quote:
B=0I
Try double buffer setting. No back buffers ("no buffer" display panel setting) probably isn't fully supported, at least in non-fullscreen modes.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 16 February 2016, 20:29   #5
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,481
The issue happens whatever buffering is set to: Black (emulation) screen with default refresh rate (with any buffering setting), whereas the screen appears correctly with refresh rate 50Hz or 60Hz (with any buffering setting).
mark_k is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASM-One screen refresh in RTG mode Diz_57 support.WinUAE 10 07 December 2015 21:57
a530 black screen in turbo mode weazelbeast support.Hardware 3 28 July 2015 10:01
Black screen in full screen but not full window Winuae all versions Mixter support.WinUAE 18 30 June 2013 00:45
Full screen mode WinUAE 0.8.22 Erik support.WinUAE 4 19 March 2011 19:35
Can't get games on full screen mode Gonzouk support.WinUAE 15 30 April 2007 23:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18096 seconds with 12 queries