English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 February 2016, 02:52   #1
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 38
Posts: 783
Anyone else tried FriendUP?

Check this out: https://beta.openfriendup.net/webclient/index.html
Above link seems to only work for registered users like myself. Sign up for a beta account here: https://friendos.com/en/beta/index.html
Amiga like shell, prefs, screens etc. Best of all, it's open source unlike OS3.x

Started by David Pleasance, Colin Proudfoot and at least one AROS dev. Interview here: [ Show youtube player ]


Last edited by TenLeftFingers; 15 February 2016 at 00:25.
TenLeftFingers is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 February 2016, 22:38   #2
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by TenLeftFingers View Post
Requires login.
prowler is offline  
Old 14 February 2016, 22:45   #3
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
I clicked 'Remember Me' and up came a popup saying:
"Remember you! We're still having nightmares about you!"
Arnie is offline  
Old 14 February 2016, 23:16   #4
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
Nothing like that happens here.

I tried logging in as guest, only to get

Invalid credentials. Please check you [sic] input.

Edit: How about a registration page first?
prowler is offline  
Old 14 February 2016, 23:19   #5
SkulleateR
Registered User

SkulleateR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 243
Just use "test" / "test" and check "remember me"
SkulleateR is offline  
Old 14 February 2016, 23:24   #6
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkulleateR View Post
Just use "test" / "test" and check "remember me"
Hey, it works!

How did you know that?

Edit: It's actually very well done, if a little limited at the moment.
prowler is offline  
Old 14 February 2016, 23:28   #7
SkulleateR
Registered User

SkulleateR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 243
Uhm ..... please donīt ask
SkulleateR is offline  
Old 14 February 2016, 23:36   #8
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 768
So some web javascript something desktop, what is the point of this?
Locutus is offline  
Old 15 February 2016, 00:25   #9
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 38
Posts: 783
First post updated with link to create an account. I got my activation email within around an hour IIRC.
TenLeftFingers is offline  
Old 15 February 2016, 00:58   #10
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 38
Posts: 783
I've updated the original post with a link to get a beta account.

Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
It's actually very well done, if a little limited at the moment.
I agree - the potential is partly apparent and partly realised. I can save documents and access them later on a new session, even from a different device.

The IRC client doesn't let me enter the chat rooms after registering my nick when using Firefox on the desktop (Ubuntu), but works on my phone (also Ubuntu ) oddly enough.

It's nice to see the similarities in the shell/DOS. I'm looking forward to the updates. If this keeps improving I will be looking for the fastest and lightest machine to get me to a fullscreen browser session to use this.
TenLeftFingers is offline  
Old 01 July 2016, 02:32   #11
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
I've just heard now about this FriendUP thing.

https://www.facebook.com/david.j.pleasance

Quote:
For all Amiga lovers worldwide - please take a look at FriendUP a brand new and amazing web/cloud based meta operating system which uses the best parts of the Amiga operating system and brings the spirit of Amiga into the 21st century incorporating incredible new technology.
And he worked with Amiga Inc.

So what is this all about? Do you only need an internet connection -Amiga for example- and all of the software programs run in the cloud at another speed? Or what is it exactly?

Last edited by Retrofan; 01 July 2016 at 02:51.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 01 July 2016, 02:36   #12
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 38
Posts: 783
That's exactly it Retrofan, it's like Ulteo. The entire desktop system is running in the cloud and delivered to your browser. They provide the apps. Already there is an IRC client, text editor, paint program, some games, a browser, a terminal/shell and I think a video conferencing app.

That was last time I checked which was many months ago.
TenLeftFingers is offline  
Old 01 July 2016, 02:39   #13
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Great. I know the future is in the Cloud (like where games actually are with Steam for example), but I hadn't seen anything already working, and also I didn't think in the miggy using it.

If it implements an OS or just ...what do you use/want in the PC? Access to your files, full web browsing and to some/a-lot-of programs. And that could work fast in the cloud, that's the future made real for slow computers like the Amiga, so we only should take care about a fast internet connection.

Last edited by Retrofan; 01 July 2016 at 03:59.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 01 July 2016, 10:13   #14
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,070
I think you'll find out that the overhead for running a big ball of Javascript and HTML as well as constant network access makes a slow computer ill-suited for this.
idrougge is offline  
Old 01 July 2016, 13:08   #15
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,196
Can not log in, try typing
Username: test
Password:test
Check: remember me

where I'm wrong ?
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 01 July 2016, 16:35   #16
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 38
Posts: 783
I'm logging in at this url MAGISYSTEM: https://eu.openfriendup.net/webclient/index.html

I never tested though, just registered for an account (see post #1).

And idrougge is correct, your computer will need to be powerful even to run cloud systems since the javascript, css etc will be run on the client side. However with VNC like solutions like wrp-qt ( http://askamiga.com/questions/questi...s-with-ibrowse ) you can actually use a heavily bloated site using a helper like the RaspberryPi and display it on your Amiga. Nothing wrong with doing that either. Even the iPhone hasn't replaced the desktop/laptop.
TenLeftFingers is offline  
Old 01 July 2016, 23:33   #17
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,196
Ok I think I understand, first you need to register a account HERE
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 03 July 2016, 12:33   #18
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,196
Did little test, I must say that it is cute, i run some programs on the Amiga and how each application has its own screen, probably not yet ready to do this, we expect the stable version.


AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 05 July 2016, 14:21   #19
Yasu
 
Posts: n/a
One question I've been trying to find out is if this WebOS will come with power hungry apps and the power to execute them or not. Like movie conversions, editing, compiling and such. Things my computers of course can do but I would prefer to do a lot faster (like converting a movie in 10 minutes rather than an hour). Or if it will have useful apps that work out of the box with a lot of easy to use but important features. Like a good sound converter.

If it does, then I find this useful as I can let FriendOS do all the heavy stuff my computers aren't up for. Otherwise, I really don't see the point.
 
Old 05 July 2016, 18:25   #20
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,282
This sounds terribly pointless.
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28734 seconds with 10 queries