English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.CD32 Conversion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 February 2016, 02:42   #1
Neil79
Registered User
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 37
Posts: 2,381
Amiga CD32 Bubble Bobble Trilogy special - Amiga Jay



Quote:
I was just about to go to bed when my mobile started dinging at me to let me know of a new message in my inbox. As soon as I saw Earok's name popping up, telling me of a new Amiga CD32 release, I was just too excited to ignore it and thus turned my computer on to share this glorious news. It's the ' Amiga CD32 Bubble Bobble Trilogy ' by AmigaJay, a brand new Amiga CD32 conversion by the same person who also does those fantastic CD sized CD32 covers!
http://www.indieretronews.com/2016/0...y-special.html

Thanks to a heads up by Earok! Having the game pack as a single post in another thread doesn't do it justice from Amiga Jay
Neil79 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 February 2016, 09:40   #2
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,281
Cheers for the news post mate!
Amigajay is offline  
Old 08 February 2016, 11:14   #3
Neil79
Registered User
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 37
Posts: 2,381
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigajay View Post
Cheers for the news post mate!
Hey bud, one of my friends just sent me this, not sure if you can look into it?

Quote:
Can't start Parasol stars = failed returncode 20 , missing ENd if
Neil79 is offline  
Old 08 February 2016, 12:15   #4
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil79 View Post
Hey bud, one of my friends just sent me this, not sure if you can look into it?
Bugger, was fine when i tested yesterday, will have a look later when i get home, apologies to whoever burned a disc.

Anyone else, just hold off downloading until i check it out.
Amigajay is offline  
Old 08 February 2016, 13:21   #5
Neil79
Registered User
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 37
Posts: 2,381
Quote:
Phil O'Brien works almost perfectly in winuae as well. The games work the loader breaks if you press an option its not expecting
Another

I noticed this just now too, pressed numpad 3 through Amiga Forever and it crashes the loader
Neil79 is offline  
Old 08 February 2016, 13:28   #6
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,375
Parasol stars worked for me with winuae.
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 08 February 2016, 13:30   #7
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,281
Ah so the games load, but if you press an option on the menu i.e the green button the loader fails as it has nothing set for that key.
I've tried all the games and removed any quit key in-game, so there shouldn't be a problem in a game.
This is all on a CD32 of course, I sort of forgot people play these on emulators too doh!
Amigajay is offline  
Old 08 February 2016, 15:29   #8
Neil79
Registered User
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 37
Posts: 2,381
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigajay View Post
Ah so the games load, but if you press an option on the menu i.e the green button the loader fails as it has nothing set for that key.
I've tried all the games and removed any quit key in-game, so there shouldn't be a problem in a game.
This is all on a CD32 of course, I sort of forgot people play these on emulators too doh!
Phil O'Brien - Comment Below

Quote:
Is part of the startup sequence missing, or just the way it appears on my download

there is an endif missing for the yellow option, and an extra endif on the red and blue options. Also nothing to catch pressing the wrong buttons

IIRC you could catch any unexpected buttons using the skip command after the last check (once the no endif error is fixed) to jump back to the start (after using the LAB command to set a lable to skip to
Neil79 is offline  
Old 08 February 2016, 19:43   #9
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,281
Ive had a look and all the games load fine, again if you press the wrong button on the menu it will give and error and will have to reboot, im on the case of fixing it with the skip loop option, but until then press the correct colour as indicated on screen lol
Amigajay is offline  
Old 08 February 2016, 19:49   #10
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,009
You'll need to use the BACK option of skip to make it work. I haven't seen your startup sequence, but it should be something like this I guess:
Code:
*display intro image*
lab main_loop
 waitForInputCommand
   if input is yellow do this
    else if input is red do that
     else if input is blue do this other thing
 else skip main_loop back
That should skip back to the input command when you input anything but the first three options.
Akira is offline  
Old 08 February 2016, 19:53   #11
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,281
Yeah im having trouble placing it in the correct place of the sequence, tried like 30 times, had it work once but the music didnt come back on on loop, so tried loads more now i cant even get that back up lol you can tell i dont program!
Amigajay is offline  
Old 08 February 2016, 20:18   #12
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,009
If you post the startup sequence here or on a message to me I can have a look.
Akira is offline  
Old 08 February 2016, 21:38   #13
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,281
assign env: ram:
assign t: ram:
doublespeed
setpatch quiet

hip hide sys:music/bb.mod

picboot sys:bbtmenu.gif vo

on DETACH
waitjoy >env:choice
hip quit
stoppicboot
avail flush >nil:

cd games

if $choice eq red
C:WHDLoad

bubblebobblentsc.slave data=bubblebobblentsc PRELOAD

endif

if $choice eq blue

C:WHDLoad

rainbowislands.slave data=rainbowislands PRELOAD

endif

if $choice eq yellow
C:WHDLoad

parasolstars.slave data=parasolstars PRELOAD
endif

Last edited by Amigajay; 08 February 2016 at 21:52.
Amigajay is offline  
Old 08 February 2016, 21:45   #14
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,863
Is that a typo at the bottom endifif ?
Arnie is offline  
Old 08 February 2016, 21:51   #15
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,281
oops one to many ifs!
Amigajay is offline  
Old 08 February 2016, 21:54   #16
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,663
After If Red etc skip to label at the Very end of script
Then at the end Skip Back to Label at Start
Something Like that
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 08 February 2016, 21:57   #17
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,009
Stick out tongue

OK it's longer but it should work as intended:

Code:
assign env: ram:
assign t: ram:
doublespeed
setpatch quiet

hip hide sys:music/bb.mod
 
picboot sys:bbtmenu.gif vo 

loop main_loop
on DETACH
waitjoy >env:choice

if $choice eq red
   hip quit
   stoppicboot
   avail flush >nil: 
   cd games
   C:WHDLoad bubblebobblentsc.slave data=bubblebobblentsc PRELOAD
   skip exiting
   else if  $choice eq blue
             hip quit
             stoppicboot
             avail flush >nil: 
             cd games
             C:WHDLoad rainbowislands.slave data=rainbowislands PRELOAD
             skip exiting
             else if $choice eq yellow
                  hip quit
                  stoppicboot
                  avail flush >nil: 
                  cd games
                  C:WHDLoad parasolstars.slave data=parasolstars PRELOAD
                  skip exiting
                  else skip main_loop back
endif

lab exiting
endcli >NIL:
I'm sure there's a way to just call the cleanup routine once and save some size but I am rusty on this.
Basically it cleans up and stops music+removes pic only if you press the right button. Otherwise it just goes back to waiting for input without resetting the pic or audio routine.
I just added an exit routine as I always do, you can put anything there for when the games exit or don't put anything.
Akira is offline  
Old 08 February 2016, 23:09   #18
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,281
Keep getting errors with that, 'picboot error value after keyword missing'?
Amigajay is offline  
Old 08 February 2016, 23:45   #19
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,403
Regarding picboot error, the line "on DETACH" is meant to be part of the picboot line. Otherwise Akira's script looks good to me



CD32 Pad support request: Rainbow Islands, extensive CD32 mapping with custom3=3 (blue to jump, choose 1 or 2 players, set controls etc).

The other two games have trainer keys that could potentially be mapped via CD32Load, though I'm not sure if it's worth doing.
earok is offline  
Old 09 February 2016, 00:04   #20
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,009
Yeah I have no idea what that was, I kept it as Amigajay made it, so I guess it's some dragged error from the copypasting.
Thanks for clearing that up earok!

Like this, then, I guess?
Code:
assign env: ram:
assign t: ram:
doublespeed
setpatch quiet

hip hide sys:music/bb.mod
 
picboot sys:bbtmenu.gif vo on DETACH


loop main_loop
waitjoy >env:choice

if $choice eq red
   hip quit
   stoppicboot
   avail flush >nil: 
   cd games
   C:WHDLoad bubblebobblentsc.slave data=bubblebobblentsc PRELOAD
   skip exiting
   else if  $choice eq blue
             hip quit
             stoppicboot
             avail flush >nil: 
             cd games
             C:WHDLoad rainbowislands.slave data=rainbowislands PRELOAD
             skip exiting
             else if $choice eq yellow
                  hip quit
                  stoppicboot
                  avail flush >nil: 
                  cd games
                  C:WHDLoad parasolstars.slave data=parasolstars PRELOAD
                  skip exiting
                  else skip main_loop back
endif

lab exiting
endcli >NIL:
I don't know what "vo" on that picboot line is, never used picboot, so that would have to be fixed by you Amigajay.
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Some new floppy scan from Bubble Bobble :) Foul HOL contributions 6 13 November 2012 19:15
Bubble Bobble 4 CPC :) Vollldo Retrogaming General Discussion 98 12 March 2012 21:09
Bubble Bobble + Arkanoid PAL Vollldo request.Old Rare Games 2 27 March 2011 19:14
Req. Bubble Bobble for Amiga on floppy Fogg MarketPlace 12 25 July 2010 21:24
FIXED: Bubble Bobble (resload_LoadFile) Codetapper project.Killergorilla's WHD packs 3 17 July 2007 15:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.29964 seconds with 12 queries