English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 February 2016, 15:13   #41
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by clebin View Post
Too bright for me.
For me MSX2 version is too dull and mono-themed (just brown... and brown...). Even original version has rooms in different colours. Moreover it's a day, so it's bright. Good idea is add day and night different palette, like in MSX2 version.

Day:


Night:


And that's is about adding different tilesets selection, which i was talking about. One choose "monothemed", other "colorful".
Solo Kazuki is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 February 2016, 16:59   #42
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,816
I had high hopes for Universal Monsters [ Show youtube player ] and tried to complete preview version many times. Game have everything which I liked - adventure, monsters, Indiana Jones, fair gameplay.
s2325 is offline  
Old 24 February 2016, 13:40   #43
invent
pixels

invent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Australia
Age: 46
Posts: 168
More updates on the port

http://retroports.blogspot.com.au
Colours taken from the Amstrad version
invent is offline  
Old 24 February 2016, 13:55   #44
kamelito
Zone Friend
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 830
Nice, I love the CPC gfx back then even if the game look smaller than the ZX Spectrum, being 256x192 on a 320x200 screen IIRC.
Kamelito
kamelito is offline  
Old 26 February 2016, 16:18   #45
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,141
How about the graphics from the Spec256 version?http://www.emulatronia.com/emusdaqui...knightlore.htm
Antiriad is offline  
Old 26 February 2016, 16:39   #46
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antiriad View Post
How about the graphics from the Spec256 version?http://www.emulatronia.com/emusdaqui...knightlore.htm
They look cool indeed Antiriad; much better than the Amstrad version IMHO (or the MSX2 which is too bright)
DamienD is offline  
Old 28 February 2016, 13:31   #47
IanP
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Bristol/UK
Posts: 121
I'd seen video of some 256 colour "ZX spectrum" games before but didn't know where they came from, so thanks for that. Here's video of Spec256 in action [ Show youtube player ]. An interesting solution using a parallel 64bit Z80 and memory in the emulator to provide the graphics. If they've used all 8 planes for the knightlore graphics a port to AGA would be a possibility assuming the graphics can be extracted. Some very nice graphics done on those game conversions, shame they didn't do more.
IanP is offline  
Old 28 February 2016, 13:49   #48
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by IanP View Post
I'd seen video of some 256 colour "ZX spectrum" games before but didn't know where they came from, so thanks for that. Here's video of Spec256 in action [ Show youtube player ]. An interesting solution using a parallel 64bit Z80 and memory in the emulator to provide the graphics. If they've used all 8 planes for the knightlore graphics a port to AGA would be a possibility assuming the graphics can be extracted. Some very nice graphics done on those game conversions, shame they didn't do more.
For me palette in these games is not using full 256 colours, and scrolling is very jerky. Mostly palette of 32/64 (EHB) should be enough. Games looks like PD games for Amiga.
Solo Kazuki is offline  
Old 10 May 2016, 17:59   #49
Goldrunner
Registered User
Goldrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Formby
Posts: 44
I'm a great fan of Ultimate and their games on the 8-bit computers of the early 80's. It really is a shame that this port has stalled in it's current form, playable it may be, but only with monochrome graphics and no sound. But anything it better than nothing, so I applaud the author for porting this classic game to the Amiga

To spice the Amiga version up a little I though would add a loading screen and title music, both of which have come from the Spectrum version. You can find it in the Zone, I hope someone finds it a bit more interesting this way!
Goldrunner is offline  
Old 10 May 2016, 18:08   #50
Goldrunner
Registered User
Goldrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Formby
Posts: 44
Almost forgot, you need to press the left mouse button to quit the Loading screen. You do not have to wait until the music stops, you can do it anytime. Maybe I should have put a message on the loading screen about this
Goldrunner is offline  
Old 11 May 2016, 01:13   #51
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 836
Just a Loader ?
Coz no game follows...
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 11 May 2016, 11:08   #52
Goldrunner
Registered User
Goldrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Formby
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobby_UK View Post
Just a Loader ?
Coz no game follows...
Not sure what you mean? The game is loaded after the loading screen and title music, it would make little sense doing this disk with no game to play.
Goldrunner is offline  
Old 11 May 2016, 22:54   #53
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 836

Just a Black Screen (WinUAE 3.0 = A1200 + 4 Meg - Best Compatibility)


#EDIT#
The same on my main Amiga = A1200 +040 + 32 Meg

Last edited by Nobby_UK; 11 May 2016 at 23:16. Reason: update
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 20 May 2016, 20:39   #54
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
I'm with ya Nobby_UK

Thought I'd give it a try tonight but same issue as you i.e. disk loads, see title screen / music playing, click left mouse button, disk loads for a bit then a black screen...

Using latest WinUAE beta and a standard A1200 configuration.
DamienD is offline  
Old 21 August 2016, 21:01   #55
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,816
http://www.atarimania.com/game-atari...ore_30736.html (Falcon version)

s2325 is offline  
Old 22 August 2016, 21:05   #56
Baboon
Moon Monkey
Baboon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Plymouth, Devon
Posts: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antiriad View Post
How about the graphics from the Spec256 version?http://www.emulatronia.com/emusdaqui...knightlore.htm
I love these. Thanks for sharing as I've somehow missed this before. They all look and play great (especially cybernoid and jet-pac) on my shield tablet via dosbox.

Last edited by Baboon; 22 August 2016 at 21:18.
Baboon is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Better Outrun port for Amiga tekopaa Retrogaming General Discussion 323 16 October 2017 23:39
settlers 2 amiga port ? turrican3 project.aGTW 15 22 April 2014 16:11
Serial port, parallel port, and pipe device mount errors Samurai_Crow support.FS-UAE 4 13 March 2014 01:04
Knightlore wonderful PC remake is finally released ! NewDeli Nostalgia & memories 7 15 June 2010 22:23
amiga joystick port leongt Retrogaming General Discussion 4 13 July 2002 06:38

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.36021 seconds with 12 queries