English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 February 2016, 02:16   #21
tcdev
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by IanP View Post
Anybody had any luck running the port? First try it wanted ixemul.library for some reason and after adding that running the kl file gives "illegal instruction" (running on winuae 68020 AGA).
OK, that was easy. New version uploaded, ixemul.library NOT required!
tcdev is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 February 2016, 04:16   #22
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 2,124
On behalf of all ixemul haters, I thank you.
idrougge is offline  
Old 05 February 2016, 05:17   #23
tcdev
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
On behalf of all ixemul haters, I thank you.
I'm guessing it's the cygwin of the Amiga world?

I simply followed the instructions on setting up a gcc-based development environment for Amiga cross development, and it happened to include ixemul. A quick Google earlier today and I discovered what it was for, and how to avoid having to use it. I'm on your team!
tcdev is offline  
Old 05 February 2016, 13:45   #24
IanP
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Bristol/UK
Posts: 103
Thanks tcdev. Program failed with fast ram enabled. With it disabled it works
IanP is offline  
Old 07 February 2016, 18:07   #25
Neil79
Registered User
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 37
Posts: 2,272
http://www.indieretronews.com/2016/0...e-classic.html

Neil79 is offline  
Old 07 February 2016, 19:28   #26
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
Mazes look like mix of HeroQuest and Cadaver to me. I think Amiga Knight Lore should be closer to Head Over Heels graphics http://hol.abime.net/677/screenshot
I think best looking game similar to Knight Lore is in Treasure Trap. It will be great to add choice of "classic" and better graphic to Knight Lore (e.g. from [ Show youtube player ] mentioned before), like in Bignonia games.
Solo Kazuki is offline  
Old 08 February 2016, 21:49   #27
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 36
Posts: 17,153
Someone recorded few minutes [ Show youtube player ]
s2325 is offline  
Old 08 February 2016, 23:32   #28
kamelito
Zone Friend
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 783
look like the speed of the ZX Spectrum version too
Kamelito
kamelito is offline  
Old 09 February 2016, 00:08   #29
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York City
Posts: 16,386
Sorry to say this is just pretty sad to see on an Amiga running and looking like that.
Akira is offline  
Old 09 February 2016, 06:37   #30
invent
pixels

invent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Australia
Age: 45
Posts: 151
As Solo Kazuki mentions, the MSX2 remake is excellent and would be very nice to convert the current Amiga version.

The map for MSX2 is here http://www.retroworks.es/upload/knightlorerkmapa.png

P.S. enjoyed playing this game on the [ Show youtube player ] CPC464
invent is online now  
Old 09 February 2016, 11:00   #31
kamelito
Zone Friend
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 783
if the msx2 and Spectrum version share the same resolution, I don't see why not we can't use the MSX2 gfx, that is once Tcdev release the source code.
Kamelito
kamelito is offline  
Old 09 February 2016, 11:22   #32
Leffmann

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,938
It plays perfectly fine on an A1200, and if you press 'T' it runs in a faster mode that looks like 30 FPS or so.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 09 February 2016, 13:52   #33
LuMan
Amigan - an loving it!!
LuMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 498
Quote:
Originally Posted by invent View Post
That is one nice looking map

I sort of agree with Akira, too. While the charm of the Speccy version is evident, it doesn't really lend itself to the Amiga in this form. We could play a version like that under emulation, in fairness (or crank up your Speccy if you have one).

Remaking the game with graphics more similar to the MSX2 version would be good, or even more like Treasure Trap.

Having said that, it is still nice to see an Amiga version of a great game.
LuMan is offline  
Old 09 February 2016, 14:27   #34
IanP
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Bristol/UK
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamelito View Post
if the msx2 and Spectrum version share the same resolution, I don't see why not we can't use the MSX2 gfx, that is once Tcdev release the source code.
Kamelito
The isometric engine used on the Retrospec game ports allows you to set the pixel count used for the game tiles/objects (although the graphics in the examples seem to be twice the resolution specified in the source). If the Retro Ports source doesn't have that feature I think it could probably be added relatively easily.

MSX low res modes seem to be the same width as the speccy, 256 pixels. The height is either 192 (same as speccy) or 212 pixels. so the MSX2 graphics should work with the Retro Ports source code once tweaked for more bit planes. The game should be centred properly on the Amiga's 320 width screen. Almost the full NTSC height would be used, PAL mode would allow larger rooms or bigger tiles.

Last edited by IanP; 09 February 2016 at 14:43.
IanP is offline  
Old 09 February 2016, 18:10   #35
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 689
Quote:
Originally Posted by LuMan View Post
That is one nice looking map
Pfft. Here's a better one, even if it is the Spectrum version:

http://maps.speccy.cz/maps/KnightLore.png

I'd love one like that with updated graphics...

D.
Dunny is offline  
Old 09 February 2016, 23:56   #36
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by LuMan View Post
Remaking the game with graphics more similar to the MSX2 version would be good, or even more like Treasure Trap.
There is version of [ Show youtube player ] which looks like Treasure Trap. Less "gloomy", but colorful.

Solo Kazuki is offline  
Old 10 February 2016, 10:47   #37
clebin
Registered User
clebin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solo Kazuki View Post
There is version of [ Show youtube player ] which looks like Treasure Trap. Less "gloomy", but colorful.
Too bright for me. At least they've kept the original Sabreman though.

In general I really like the MSX2 version but I'm not a fan of the GBA-style Sabreman. The original sprite is so beautifully stylised and distinctive that it just shouldn't be meddled with.
clebin is offline  
Old 10 February 2016, 21:19   #38
LuMan
Amigan - an loving it!!
LuMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 498
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
Pfft. Here's a better one, even if it is the Spectrum version:

http://maps.speccy.cz/maps/KnightLore.png

I'd love one like that with updated graphics...

D.
Oooh. That's nice as well!

BTW - I'm more than happy to keep responding to any other KnightLore-esque maps that folk want to post
LuMan is offline  
Old 10 February 2016, 21:28   #39
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 36
Posts: 17,153
GP2X version modified screenshot:

s2325 is offline  
Old 10 February 2016, 22:30   #40
Aegis
Gentleman

Aegis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: The Fortesque Mansion
Posts: 235
Send a message via Skype™ to Aegis
If you're looking for full-on, completely redrawn graphics, we could do far better than the MSX/GP2X versions (or Head over Heels).
Aegis is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Better Outrun port for Amiga tekopaa Retrogaming General Discussion 160 09 October 2016 03:33
settlers 2 amiga port ? turrican3 project.aGTW 15 22 April 2014 15:11
Serial port, parallel port, and pipe device mount errors Samurai_Crow support.FS-UAE 4 13 March 2014 00:04
Knightlore wonderful PC remake is finally released ! NewDeli Nostalgia & memories 7 15 June 2010 21:23
amiga joystick port leongt Retrogaming General Discussion 4 13 July 2002 05:38

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24766 seconds with 12 queries