English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 February 2016, 23:54   #1
optimusfox
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 13
Thumbs up A1200 online!

Hey guys,

I joined the forum recently and with some help from you guys have managed to get my beloved A1200 online! I swapped out the 8MB FastRAM card I bought a couple of years ago for a shiny new ACA1221 and got a PCMCIA network card from amigakit.com.

Spent a few days installing Workbench 3.1 and EasyNet + tools onto a CF card, could get online but couldn't browse - AWeb crashed every time it was loading images. Traced the error down and it seemed related to an FPU instruction... I don't have an FPU installed. However I tried a few installs of AWeb (inc 68000) and all did the same thing.

I tried from scratch with ClassicWB, and could get online using IBrowse easily with no crashes! Clearly something I'm doing wrong with my WB3.1 build but not too bothered at the moment, I feel I've achieved something just getting the ClassicWB build online!

I've been creating plenty of backups of the CF image as I've been going along too so can recover if I need to!

Anyway, just wanted to share my experience but more importantly thanks to the people who've helped me, particularly with regards to advice around the ACA1221, and to the folk behind ClassicWB. You guys rock.
optimusfox is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 February 2016, 01:02   #2
Sir_Lucas
Registered User

Sir_Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 454
Great to hear that. I can tell you only one thing. The adventure has just only started
Sir_Lucas is offline  
Old 03 February 2016, 10:23   #3
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 2,147
Well done getting it working! I would suspect the original crashes might have something to do with a datatype using the FPU since these can be used for decoding the images. Datatypes are independent of the browser code, so even the 68000 version will use the 68030+FPU version of a datatype if that's what is installed, which will obviously crash.
Daedalus is online now  
Old 03 February 2016, 12:20   #4
crazyc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gravesend - UK
Posts: 408
Congratulations!
Admittedly I tend to use my online abilities just for Aminet and transferring files over my house network, buts its nice to be able to do more if I really wanted.
crazyc is offline  
Old 03 February 2016, 12:35   #5
TCMSLP
Registered User

TCMSLP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Swindon / England
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyc View Post
Congratulations!
Admittedly I tend to use my online abilities just for Aminet and transferring files over my house network, buts its nice to be able to do more if I really wanted.
Wot no AmIRC or Wookiechat?
TCMSLP is offline  
Old 03 February 2016, 12:44   #6
Sir_Lucas
Registered User

Sir_Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 454
SMBFS, FTP, Telnet, AmRSS, IRC. You can even run WIFI under Shapeshifter/Fusion emulation and transfer the files via FTP straight to your emulated Mac
Sir_Lucas is offline  
Old 03 February 2016, 13:08   #7
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 38
Posts: 782
Congratulations on the new setup optimusfox I've recently set up something similar with Workbench 3.0. I'm only a few months ahead of you but I'm sure either myself or others here can give you any guidance you need.

As Sir_Lucas says, there's a lot of fun to be had - and that doesn't even include the games
TenLeftFingers is offline  
Old 03 February 2016, 13:23   #8
crazyc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gravesend - UK
Posts: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by TCMSLP View Post
Wot no AmIRC or Wookiechat?
Real life is keeping me away from my amigas at the moment - but I dont even know how to use those - any idiots guides?
crazyc is offline  
Old 03 February 2016, 14:02   #9
Sir_Lucas
Registered User

Sir_Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 454
Oh, I forgot to mention two more things:
Google Drive handler:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...43#post1067843

And you can even start your own server on Amiga:
http://www.amiga.org/forums/showthre...ghlight=server

FTP server as well:
http://aminet.net/package/comm/tcp/rc-ftpd
http://aminet.net/package/comm/tcp/amiftpd19
Sir_Lucas is offline  
Old 03 February 2016, 16:05   #10
zerohour1974
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Swindon UK
Posts: 201
I really could not get mine to resolve the DNS. Tried MiamiDX and Genesis and it claims to be connected but can't seem to get DNS resolution no matter which IP I try. Tried Google, OpenDNS and even the ones of Virgin Media (my ISP) no dice.

Ibrowse and Aweb just do not display a page no matter what I do.

I am probably doing something wrong in the configuring.
zerohour1974 is offline  
Old 03 February 2016, 16:57   #11
Sir_Lucas
Registered User

Sir_Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 454
@zerohour1974
If you're using MiamiDX why don't you try the DHCP. It seems to be a lot easier.
Genesis supports only static IP, it doesn't have the DHCP option.
Btw, have you seens this tutorial?
http://www.retro-commodore.eu/networ...-on-the-amiga/
Sir_Lucas is offline  
Old 03 February 2016, 20:19   #12
crazyc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gravesend - UK
Posts: 408
I use Miami dx with virgin media fine.
crazyc is offline  
Old 04 February 2016, 11:05   #13
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 2,147
It also might be worth trying to set your router's IP as the DNS. Works well for my A1200s.
Daedalus is online now  
Old 04 February 2016, 19:49   #14
optimusfox
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
Well done getting it working! I would suspect the original crashes might have something to do with a datatype using the FPU since these can be used for decoding the images. Datatypes are independent of the browser code, so even the 68000 version will use the 68030+FPU version of a datatype if that's what is installed, which will obviously crash.
Thought it might be something like that, after playing around a lot with the datatype settings it did seem to get a bit further every time
optimusfox is offline  
Old 05 February 2016, 22:03   #15
Sir_Lucas
Registered User

Sir_Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 454
I've found one more interesting tutorial for Miami.
http://doctorq.info/guide/miami.html
Sir_Lucas is offline  
Old 13 April 2016, 22:05   #16
optimusfox
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 13
Quick update... I wrote a blog post about getting the Amiga online (http://blog.danfox.me/2016/04/12/return-of-the-amiga) should anyone want to read it.

Please let me know if there are any technical Amiga-related errors in the blog post, would hate to publish incorrect information.

And thanks again to the guys that helped advise me!
optimusfox is offline  
Old 27 June 2016, 11:53   #17
debiani386
New generation Amiga user

debiani386's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: West jordan
Posts: 16
At the moment, I have my Amiga 4000 connected to the Internet via serial. Serial going from Amiga to my Mac which I have pppd running. I don't really surf the web so much on my amiga, except maybe floodgaps gopher page.

I have wget installed on my Amiga, so I just use that if I want to download anything, say, from aminet.

Back in the day, I used to have my own closed circuit dial up network which I would connect my older computers that didn't have Ethernet up to. Slow, sure, but at least I could get something in the form of a network connection on them
debiani386 is offline  
Old 27 June 2016, 17:09   #18
Sir_Lucas
Registered User

Sir_Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 454
Serial connection is quite ok. However, if you can get yourself Plipbox it might be a bit quicker.

Have a look here:
http://lallafa.de/blog/amiga-project...pbox-hardware/

[ Show youtube player ]

[ Show youtube player ]
Sir_Lucas is offline  
Old 13 July 2016, 16:52   #19
debiani386
New generation Amiga user

debiani386's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: West jordan
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir_Lucas View Post
Serial connection is quite ok. However, if you can get yourself Plipbox it might be a bit quicker.

Have a look here:
http://lallafa.de/blog/amiga-project...pbox-hardware/

[ Show youtube player ]

[ Show youtube player ]
I was actually waiting on my Mediator 4000 Di to come in . I now have fast Ethernet (amoungst other cards) working on my Amiga 4000.
debiani386 is offline  
Old 14 July 2016, 09:49   #20
LuMan
Amigan - an loving it!!
LuMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 505
Glad to see it's coming together, optimusfox. Always good to hear stories of folk getting their old Amigas back up and running and online.

I had my A1200 online w-a-a-a-y back in the 90s with a Motorola Voice SurfR 56k modem. More recently I got the EasyNet Wifi PCMCIA card and use it perfectly with Roadshow. iBrowse and Aweb both work brilliantly, and it's great hitting aminet with a real Amiga agin

Best of luck with your new passion.
LuMan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HEAVY BBS now online [Telnet] Over 700 ADF files online Dougal Retrogaming General Discussion 4 05 July 2016 01:53
A1200 online chocolate_boy Hardware pics 12 02 April 2011 09:44
Getting my A1200 online pan1k New to Emulation or Amiga scene 10 31 July 2006 20:31
getting Online Cactus New to Emulation or Amiga scene 6 24 October 2003 19:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22934 seconds with 11 queries