English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 February 2016, 22:08   #101
grond
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 385
I don't think caches speed up a streaming read or write operation. After all, the test is supposed to show reading from RAM, not from the CPU caches. One may safely assume that the latter are fast.

EDIT: the apollo core can read 8 bytes per cycle from its dcache and write 8 bytes per cycle to the dcache (at the same time!) resulting in something like 700 to 800 MB/s each for read and write or a total throughput of one and a half gigabytes per second. Not bad for a 90 MHz processor, huh?

Last edited by grond; 07 February 2016 at 22:15.
grond is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 February 2016, 22:16   #102
1time
Amiga Lover

1time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 565
This is so impressive! .. Thanks to all the ppl behind this project.
1time is offline  
Old 07 February 2016, 23:00   #103
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,419
Poor AIBB... 11.8 GHz CPU? 😆
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 07 February 2016, 23:09   #104
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeň
Age: 37
Posts: 349
@grond:
I am very very rusty on the specifics of the 060, but in general, without caches enabled and or mmu tables setup properly (done by setpatch + 68040/68060.library) the 68040/68060 processors will have massive performance penalties on memory accesses.

The reason I did react however is because I have no memory of my old 50MHz Blizzard1260 having that lousy memory performance. That card should be very similar to the CyberstormMK2, if anything it should perform worse in every aspect.

I did even find an old bustest run from it:
http://megaburken.net/~patrik/amigab...test/b1260.txt
patrik is offline  
Old 07 February 2016, 23:43   #105
TuKo
Apollo Team

TuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 184
Dear Patrik,

You're totally right, I forgot to run SetPatch first. Thanks for pointing it.

Here is the correct result (my previous post has been edited too) :

Last edited by TuKo; 08 February 2016 at 08:04.
TuKo is offline  
Old 07 February 2016, 23:53   #106
TuKo
Apollo Team

TuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 184
Here is another one, with core 3024 x14

Last edited by TuKo; 08 February 2016 at 07:53.
TuKo is offline  
Old 08 February 2016, 01:02   #107
IanP
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Bristol/UK
Posts: 121
x14 would be nice if it was stable, to hit that 100MHz clock on the Apollo would be cool.
IanP is offline  
Old 08 February 2016, 07:43   #108
grond
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 385
Stability also depends on the specific fpga. Some can take the speed without any problems. It's just like normal overclocking. In any way you need to consider that no speed tuning has been done yet. The whole core will be able to run at higher clock rates once that has been done even on slow fpga chips. So take this as a preview of what will be possible.
grond is offline  
Old 13 February 2016, 18:32   #109
TuKo
Apollo Team

TuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 184
Doing some memory tuning with new WIP cores :


400Mb/s is approaching !
TuKo is offline  
Old 14 February 2016, 15:06   #110
TuKo
Apollo Team

TuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 184
Bustest 68k on AOS 4.1fe (SAM440ep)
TuKo is offline  
Old 20 February 2016, 09:43   #111
TuKo
Apollo Team

TuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 184
WIP Core. 21.5fps on Adoom (640x480x8)

TuKo is offline  
Old 20 February 2016, 20:17   #112
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by TuKo View Post
WIP Core. 21.5fps on Adoom (640x480x8)

Impressive.... most impressive...
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 24 February 2016, 22:48   #113
TuKo
Apollo Team

TuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 184
Simon The Sorcerer 2 RTG on 320x240x8
[ Show youtube player ]

ADoom on 320x240x8
[ Show youtube player ]
TuKo is offline  
Old 25 February 2016, 00:50   #114
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 901
^ Is this Dell 2408WFP
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 25 February 2016, 02:05   #115
jdog320
I dunno

jdog320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Anywhere City
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
Poor AIBB... 11.8 GHz CPU? 😆
Seems really that the fpga cpu can't report it's proper clock speed. Same problem goes for winuae, etc.
jdog320 is offline  
Old 26 February 2016, 14:58   #116
OlafSch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Nuernberg
Posts: 456
first sign of life :-)

AROS RTG test (Ignore the speed because Beta Core is in safe mode during on this test)

https://vimeo.com/156826082
OlafSch is offline  
Old 26 February 2016, 15:17   #117
TuKo
Apollo Team

TuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Aga View Post
^ Is this Dell 2408WFP
Dell U2410 ;-) roll's'royce LCD for retrocomputing (15KHz compatible) !
TuKo is offline  
Old 27 February 2016, 12:40   #118
sardine
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: St Helens
Posts: 13
I got my Vampire 2 a few weeks ago.

yes its fast...doom is very smooth

but my main use was for whdload for games (and some floppy)

I have a few issues..

a reply from the apollo core team say they know about a bug that will be fixed in the gold core.

any game that runs from chip ram runs slow. I mean slower than a stock A600

can anyone with beta core try a couple of games for me and see if its been fixed.


1, Secret of monkey island runs WAY to fast
2, Elite Frontier II is a joy to play very smooth
3, Monkey Island II very smooth great to play.

4, Hybris runs slower than stock A600
5, Virus runs slower than stock A600
6, Stunt Car Racer runs slower than stock A600
7, ZeeWolf runs slower than stock A600

I have tried the above games from floppy and the same result.

Oh! and the "State of the Art" demo runs too fast and messes up on the screen (doesn't crash)

thanks.

Last edited by sardine; 27 February 2016 at 12:47.
sardine is offline  
Old 27 February 2016, 15:18   #119
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,419
@Sardine I haven't received mine yet, but it seems some games run differently depending if it's whdl or floppy version.
You mention Virus running slowly, in some other thread someone posted a side by side video where Virus runs at max framerate.
Not sure if some whdl games have been patched to use FBlit or something... ?
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 27 February 2016, 16:44   #120
cgugl
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: italy
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by sardine View Post
I got my Vampire 2 a few weeks ago.
yes its fast...doom is very smooth
but my main use was for whdload for games (and some floppy)
I have a few issues..
a reply from the apollo core team say they know about a bug that will be fixed in the gold core.
any game that runs from chip ram runs slow.
thanks.
We know the problem, It depends by the low frequencies of your core.
Your vampire has a 77mhz core (X11), but it's designed to run at 84 or 91mhz.
For that reason, when the core runs in chip-memory, it seems slow.
When a core X12 will be released, the problem will resolve itself.

Gunnar showed me also a core that runs very fast in chip-mem (with fastmem disabled, sysinfo gives 3,5mips),
but i don't know if it has sideeffects and when it will be released.
cgugl is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newly received A1200 zerohour1974 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 13 12 March 2015 03:35
Received a fake and copied OS 3.9 D4Ni3L3 support.Other 5 26 June 2010 13:38
The Omega of hardware p0rn..? Charlie Hardware pics 11 12 September 2009 03:42
Hey Zetr0! some p0rn Charlie Hardware pics 1 16 August 2008 13:15
Just Received SWOOPER in the mail stainy HOL contributions 0 05 May 2006 11:55

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21353 seconds with 12 queries