English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 May 2016, 03:29   #201
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,617
not booting from SD, i just updated my SD card drivers and am getting 3,276,800 MB/sec now
kipper2k is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 May 2016, 09:40   #202
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,424
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
not booting from SD, i just updated my SD card drivers and am getting 3,276,800 MB/sec now
So roughly 3 TeraBytes/s? Not too shabby for an SD card

Skickat från min HTC One via Tapatalk
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 01 May 2016, 16:52   #203
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
not booting from SD, i just updated my SD card drivers and am getting 3,276,800 MB/sec now
This is quite a tasty speed

Interestingly here are some tests I have here

(Native IDE Tests)
2.1 Megabytes per second ( A1200 060@80MHz 64MB RAM )
3.1 Megabytes per second ( A600 Vampire V2 Silver Core 2 128MB RAM )
1.6 Megabytes per second ( A1200 030@50Mhz 64MB RAM )


3.2MB per sec - thats really tasty - and damn close to real through put of an "IDE Fix Express" adaptor - I am really excited to see the SD CARD being able to be booted from - thats a nice treat right there!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 01 May 2016, 22:34   #204
TuKo
Apollo Team

TuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 184
We got 4.2Mb/s this Morning

http://imgur.com/tb2XVEj

Samsung 32Gb microSD with FAT95

Last edited by TuKo; 01 May 2016 at 22:47.
TuKo is offline  
Old 01 May 2016, 22:43   #205
JackLeather
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: London
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by TuKo View Post
We got 4.2Mb/s this Morning

http://imgur.com/tb2XVEj
Great progress!

What is the eta for silver 4?
JackLeather is offline  
Old 01 May 2016, 22:45   #206
TuKo
Apollo Team

TuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackLeather View Post
Great progress!

What is the eta for silver 4?
I'm very happy to announce that today we also enabled screen resolution changes... So we will need to test it a bit and if everything is stable, a new release might be around the corner ;-)
TuKo is offline  
Old 02 May 2016, 01:01   #207
JackLeather
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: London
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by TuKo View Post
I'm very happy to announce that today we also enabled screen resolution changes... So we will need to test it a bit and if everything is stable, a new release might be around the corner ;-)

JackLeather is offline  
Old 02 May 2016, 12:15   #208
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
Exciting times!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 02 May 2016, 12:25   #209
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 729
Woo Hoo ! sagasd.device has entered the Amiga world , brilliant stuff as I have this nice cheap SD card extender to use on it

Click image for larger version

Name:	Amiga SD cared ex.jpg
Views:	164
Size:	323.6 KB
ID:	48342
supaduper is offline  
Old 02 May 2016, 13:08   #210
flype
Registered User

flype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 66
Hi, also some nice progress on screen changing resolutions

http://www.apollo-core.com/knowledge.php?b=1&note=938

about SD, some useful infos :

http://www.apollo-core.com/knowledge.php?b=1&note=912


Videos :

[ Show youtube player ]

https://vimeo.com/164901762
flype is offline  
Old 02 May 2016, 13:36   #211
jdog320
I dunno

jdog320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Anywhere City
Posts: 115
Is the SD slot using a UHS interface?
jdog320 is offline  
Old 02 May 2016, 13:43   #212
flype
Registered User

flype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 66
Protocol SPI.

Works with SD HC (up to Class 10).

I personaly only tested 2 x 8GB SD HC (Class 10) cards.
flype is offline  
Old 03 May 2016, 01:07   #213
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,617
Hi All,

Phew, Where to begin, there has been a lot of new developments during the course of the last few days and i think you will like them.

- Lets start off with the SD card functionality, it is now working and speeds are in excess of 3.4MB/s (That is Megabytes, not bits) and you can set what format you want to use whether it be fat95 (ideal for copying files to and from your PC) or the other popular formats. Most SD cards appear to be compatible, some cards may be slower but they are cheap and you can spend a couple $$ etc to get a class 10 (apparently sandisk not too good, but we need to verify this)

Here is a (quite long) video of setting up a 128GB SD card in OS3.9)..
a great tutorial...

https://vimeo.com/164901762


- Next up is the completed SFS bugfix which is for those people having issues with the drives.


- Next up the next core will have support for large drive partitions


and next, the big one i think people are waiting for...

Programmable screen resolutions which can be also modified by the end user so people should be able to find something that works for them. Video links are at the bottom. The new core should be released soon, we are just doing a little more testing, there has also been a few more speed tweaks and also a little reworking of instructions to make them that little bit faster.

I am going to paste Flypes post here......

---------------
Great news here !
If all goes well, next core release will have the so awaited screen changing resolution feature

Last week-end, we in team tested the feature. This is very promising as it has been validated in many different resolutions.

You can see a early video of the feature testing here :

[ Show youtube player ]

These are early tests, driver will need to be updated, which should not be long wait.

Basically, the core supports any 'consistent' resolution, in all depths. It is just a matter of defining new screen definitions in SYS:Prefs/Picasso96Mode.

We at the moment successfully tested these resolutions, in any depth :


- 640x480@60Hz
- 800x600@60Hz
- 848x480@60Hz
- 960x540@60Hz
- 1024x600@60Hz
- 1024x768@50Hz
- 1120x832@50Hz
- 1152x900@50Hz
- 1280x720@24Hz
- 1280x1024@24Hz
-----------

The screen resolution functionality has been cleaned up a little more so it will be the easiest and most efficient display adapter available for your Vampire equipped Amiga. Due to the fact that the Vampire uses CPU power to provide HDMI output you would think it drains the CPU power but tests are showing (using the minibench) that at high Res there are still 90MIPS free for the CPU to perform other tasks. Please remember that sysinfo is not a very good tool for measuring 68040 CPu etc


For those that want to read the full progress reports please head over to http://apollo-core.com/knowledge.php if you have questions or want to contribute etc please join the IRC channel (shown in forum)


And finally, i would like to leave you with this picture....

http://postimg.org/image/76mq3dci9/

Merry Xmas!
kipper2k is offline  
Old 03 May 2016, 04:56   #214
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
And finally, i would like to leave you with this picture....

http://postimg.org/image/76mq3dci9/
You just made my day!!
UberFreak is offline  
Old 03 May 2016, 08:26   #215
TuKo
Apollo Team

TuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 184
Many thanks kipper for the update description ;-)

Here is a screenshot from new SAGA driver running 960x600x24 :
http://imgur.com/rZYKEFY

Last edited by TuKo; 04 May 2016 at 07:55.
TuKo is offline  
Old 03 May 2016, 11:55   #216
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 633
Nice to see the A1200 version making its first steps to reality!! Can't wait to be able to place a pre-order for that!
spudje is offline  
Old 03 May 2016, 14:30   #217
grond
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
Due to the fact that the Vampire uses CPU power to provide HDMI output you would think it drains the CPU power but tests are showing (using the minibench) that at high Res there are still 90MIPS free for the CPU to perform other tasks.
This is worded a bit inaccurately. Of course, the hdmi part is totally independent of the CPU but -- just like the Amiga custom chips -- needs to read graphics data from the memory. Thus, the RTG modes take some bandwidth from the enormously fast on-board fastmem. This means that with RTG enabled the CPU sometimes will have to wait for the access to the memory because RTG DMA is prioritised (you wouldn't want to get random black sports on the screen under high CPU load, would you?). RTG DMA is buffered so that it can give priority to the CPU as long as the buffer isn't running too low which gives some memory bandwidth and thus lost speed back to the CPU. As kipper said the effect on CPU speed is quite low but it gets bigger with increasing screen resolutions and colour depths.
grond is offline  
Old 04 May 2016, 00:46   #218
SteveUK
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Shropshire / UK
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
And finally, i would like to leave you with this picture....

http://postimg.org/image/76mq3dci9/

Merry Xmas!

Fantastic... are we one step closer to getting Vampire CD32??
SteveUK is offline  
Old 05 May 2016, 11:02   #219
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,609
I am guessing that 960x540@60Hz is the ideal mode for any 16:9 1080P monitor as it means zero stretching and each pixel is represented by a 2x2 group of pixels on monitor???

I am REALLY impressed with Vampire... Roll on the full "AmigaPlus" on FPGA...
Methanoid is offline  
Old 05 May 2016, 13:05   #220
TuKo
Apollo Team

TuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 184
1280x800 is my best bet on my Dell 24" 16/10 screen ;-)

TuKo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newly received A1200 zerohour1974 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 13 12 March 2015 03:35
Received a fake and copied OS 3.9 D4Ni3L3 support.Other 5 26 June 2010 13:38
The Omega of hardware p0rn..? Charlie Hardware pics 11 12 September 2009 03:42
Hey Zetr0! some p0rn Charlie Hardware pics 1 16 August 2008 13:15
Just Received SWOOPER in the mail stainy HOL contributions 0 05 May 2006 11:55

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.42435 seconds with 12 queries