English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 January 2016, 13:15   #1
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 41
Posts: 3,124
Hi guys,
Microcosm goes to black and white when you cheat : http://www.gamewinners.com/cd32/Microcosm.htm

This is the invincibility cheat, i remembered that after you used the cheat the game goes balck and white but which trick is used that winuae don't emulate. I didn't tested yet with the last version, yet. But i will.
I know this is game is not so popular but i would like to know which trick they used, it must something not so usual... Because winuae stay in full colours after using the cheat. Any idea ???

ok it still in colours with the last beta... How they did it ???
look, if you read the comment done by "superturbo" here : http://www.lemonamiga.com/games/details.php?id=1604
It confirms that the game should goes display in black and white after cheating : @ chromax: Yes, I´ve seen the ending without cheating. The end scenes looks better in colour than in black & white imo
I just went to the end of the game and even the outro still in colours, something isn't emulated by winuae... I played it on amiga 1200 with a special cd32 game launcher and it turns to black and white too on amiga 1200. Strange.

Last edited by turrican3; 26 January 2016 at 13:35. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
turrican3 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 26 January 2016, 15:25   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
I want real hardware proof and exact used version. I don't trust anything else.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 26 January 2016, 17:40   #3
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,693
I confirm that this happens on my real CD32, my Microcosm version is the one that came with the Spectacular Voyage package.
I then popped the same disk in WinUAE and did the cheat and the video sequences did not turn to black & white.

Let me know how else I can be of help!
Akira is offline  
Old 27 January 2016, 09:14   #4
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 41
Posts: 3,124
Like akira, if i can do something to help, just tell me.
edited : the trick never worked with any winuae version.

Last edited by turrican3; 27 January 2016 at 09:19.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 27 January 2016, 10:15   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
Statefile during grey scale part would help. It does not matter even if statefile does not load properly (for example crashes after loading), it still should include enough information to see what it does.

Does the greyscale also appear when using RGB out or only when using composite/RF? (If it is some composite-only trick)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 27 January 2016, 15:13   #6
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,693
I have my CD32 connected through SVideo, not composite, but can also test on RGB. Will report later because I can't test that now.
You mean a statefile after we introduced the cheat? Because he screen doesn't turn grey. The way I do it to be certain is to pause during a cutscene and do teh cheat there. It immediately turns the cutscene to grey.
Akira is offline  
Old 28 January 2016, 01:57   #7
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,693
OK confirmed behavior to be the same through RGB on my CD32.
I uploaded to The Zone the file "Microcosm-savestates.zip" which includes a savestate of the game pre-cheat and one post-cheat.

I hope this helps!!
Akira is offline  
Old 28 January 2016, 17:21   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
Thanks. "Problem" was found immediately.

BPLCON0 BYPASS (AGA-only) bit does it.

AGA.guide says "Bitplanes are scrolled and prioritized normally, but bypass color table and 8 bit wide data appear on R(7:0)". This explanation can't be exactly right because image is not red, apparently all color components get "direct" color value, not only red component.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 28 January 2016, 17:52   #9
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 2,984
What's the point of this bit?
idrougge is offline  
Old 28 January 2016, 18:00   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
I don't know. Perhaps it was used for diagnostics.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 28 January 2016, 18:33   #11
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 442
This is really fascinating, a bit switch that can change the behaviour of the actual video output! I had this happen to me as well, back when I had real hardware in the 1990s:

I had a demo called "Boundless Void" by Nemol (http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=9256) which at one point, at around 3:14 (see video) displays two "plasma" effects on the screen, one multicolour and then one blue - on my Amiga 500, these parts and the whole demo ran fine, as it was designed for OCS/ECS.

HOWEVER, and this is the interesting part, the demo behaved differently when I ran it on my new Amiga 1200: I was using a CRT TV at the time, and this part of the demo actually caused the picture to roll, like you see with a badly-tuned channel or a faulty TV. But when it went onto the next part of the demo, the picture immediately stabilised!

I know that Standard NTSC/PAL video is KEY to the Amiga's graphical operations, but I wonder what could've caused a bit to be set that would actually alter the fundamental video signal sent out to the TV, just like that? I'm thinking it was somehow similar to the Microcosm trick, but more "down to the metal", so to speak.

Of course, this sort of thing is impossible to see in emulation (haven't actually tried Boundless Void on an A1200 config yet, mind) and of course, CRT TVs are hardly around these days, so it's probably tough to find proof of what I'm saying, but I swear this happened.

Of course, as far as I know, plasma effects simply alter the colour registers, but I'm guessing there was a difference between OCS/ECS and AGA colour registers that involved video hardware.

What do you think?
Foebane is online now  
Old 28 January 2016, 18:52   #12
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 41
Posts: 3,124
I'm happy to see the mystery rising a little.
Thank you Toni, just a little psygnosis gray porn to proove it :


Last edited by turrican3; 02 February 2016 at 03:18.
turrican3 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chaos Strikes Back unsupported version BarryB project.WHDLoad 19 19 March 2017 20:19
Oktagon 2008: HDInstTools reports drive unsupported mark_k support.WinUAE 6 04 April 2015 08:04
Production trick with amiga adrdesign request.Modules 6 19 December 2013 04:09
Maya (le fetiche) looking for unsupported version CFOU! project.WHDLoad 0 05 April 2013 02:46
FIXED: Titanic Blinky (Unsupported version) Retro-Nerd project.Killergorilla's WHD packs 1 01 November 2007 23:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.15813 seconds with 11 queries