English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 January 2016, 21:21   #1
mulder
 
Posts: n/a
Precise timing in WinUAE for ripping audio

I've been trying to dump some old Octamed mods out to wav from WinUAE.

I'd like to produce two wavs for each mod, one per stereo channel pair. That way I can then create enhanced mixdowns in modern PC software by further editing the wavs to separate each instrument.

The problem is, the timing. It's all over the place. Once I get the two wavs into Ableton, the click track I placed at the beginning doesn't line up and the rest of the track slowly becomes more and more unaligned.

This wasn't a problem when syncing two real Amiga 1200s using click tracks back in the day (not using the midi control function in Octamed - that used to cause a slight delay). If there was any drift it wasn't noticeable.

Is there a way to force WinUAE to render step by step so that there is no timing drift at all?
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 25 January 2016, 21:52   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,513
I guess you are recording in real-time, emulation running with normal speed and playing also sound normally? That means all constant timing adjustments are active to keep audio and video in sync and without glitches.

Try with both sound sync and disable frame rate limit enabled.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 25 January 2016, 22:21   #3
mulder
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the reply Toni.

I just tried with Disable Frame Rate Limit and Disable Sound Sync checked as you suggested. I played the click track twice in the same recording session and then trimmed the wav in a wave editor so that the clicks were aligned at the start. This still produced differences between the two playings.

I need to get to bed as I'm up early for work, but tomorrow night maybe I can produce some examples.
 
Old 25 January 2016, 22:35   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,513
Make also sure fastest possible CPU mode is not enabled or JIT.
Toni Wilen is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why is Amiga clock never precise? ancalimon support.Apps 17 03 June 2014 15:46
Best Audio Config in Winuae for a Creative X-Fi Audio Card shaf support.WinUAE 2 14 June 2012 16:27
Flashback - Audio timing does not match video breech support.OtherUAE 5 25 February 2010 14:43
What version of WinUAE to use for ripping? coffee project.Sprites 2 15 March 2006 00:00
WinUAE blitter <-> bitplane DMA timing accuracy? Photon Coders. General 1 24 November 2004 18:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11867 seconds with 11 queries