English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 January 2016, 10:51   #1
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 642
Turrican 1 different versions/gfx?

So, I'm positive I recall having a single disk version of Turrican 1 which had a somewhat different loading screen and a the in-game gfx were more crude. For the life of me, I can't find the disk or a download of that version . Anybody else knows of this version? I;m pretty sure I wasn't dreaming

Thx!
vulture is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 January 2016, 10:56   #2
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
You sure it wasn't a demo?
Arnie is offline  
Old 12 January 2016, 11:04   #3
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 642
Well, tbh no, I'm not sure. But the disk wasn't marked as a demo. However, I wouldn't mind even if it's a demo with those different gfx, if you could point me to its direction, thx!
vulture is offline  
Old 12 January 2016, 11:13   #4
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Click here and have at look through the Turrican disks (there's quite a few)
Arnie is offline  
Old 12 January 2016, 11:17   #5
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 642
Thx Arnie, I think I've tried those already, but I'll have another go when I get back home and report back!
vulture is offline  
Old 12 January 2016, 11:21   #6
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,547
s2325 is offline  
Old 12 January 2016, 11:46   #7
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 8,989
A bit off topic but in regards to Turrican II I've never found a version that has the intro show at HOL: http://hol.abime.net/1535/screenshot
DamienD is offline  
Old 12 January 2016, 11:48   #8
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,547
All versions have intro, you just need to wait
s2325 is offline  
Old 12 January 2016, 11:51   #9
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
A bit off topic but in regards to Turrican II I've never found a version that has the intro show at HOL: http://hol.abime.net/1535/screenshot
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
All versions have intro, you just need to wait


[ Show youtube player ]

It takes around 2 minutes, so it's quite easy to miss
TCD is offline  
Old 12 January 2016, 11:58   #10
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 642
@s2325

it might be it!
vulture is offline  
Old 12 January 2016, 12:12   #11
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 8,989
Quote:
Originally Posted by TCD View Post


[ Show youtube player ]

It takes around 2 minutes, so it's quite easy to miss
Damn; I usually let it run through to until this screen loops again:



Then I gave up; but as you say had to wait longer...
DamienD is offline  
Old 12 January 2016, 12:24   #12
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,443
Yup, there are few credits loops and then the intro appears.

@vulture
Nemmelheim knows everything about Turrican series. You should check it.

http://www.nemmelheim.de/turrican/bonusfiles.php

Last edited by TCD; 12 January 2016 at 12:29. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
Predseda is offline  
Old 12 January 2016, 12:28   #13
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Damn; I usually let it run through to until this screen loops again:



Then I gave up; but as you say had to wait longer...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Predseda View Post
Yup, there are few credits loops and then the intro appears.
I only discovered it when I had to visit the bathroom after playing it for around an hour and dying in world 3. When I came back the intro was playing and I wondered how that happened. Don't think there are many games that take that long to start the intro
TCD is offline  
Old 12 January 2016, 12:29   #14
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 42
Posts: 613
You sure it wasn't Super Obliteration? Its a pang style PD game that uses the turrican sprite.

http://hol.abime.net/5412/screenshot

[ Show youtube player ]
Superman is offline  
Old 12 January 2016, 12:36   #15
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by TCD View Post
I only discovered it when I had to visit the bathroom after playing it for around an hour and dying in world 3. When I came back the intro was playing and I wondered how that happened. Don't think there are many games that take that long to start the intro
What?!! So you tell us you NEVER listened to the whole opening track before???
Predseda is offline  
Old 12 January 2016, 12:55   #16
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Predseda View Post
What?!! So you tell us you NEVER listened to the whole opening track before???
Well, I did using the music menu. When I was younger I wasn't exactly very patient, so I wanted to get into the game as fast as possible
TCD is offline  
Old 12 January 2016, 12:57   #17
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 642
@Superman

Yup, it was definitely a different version of Turrican 1. It might be an early demo though, as already suggested, we'll see.
vulture is offline  
Old 12 January 2016, 15:30   #18
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel
gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 36
Posts: 2,932
My cracked version of Turrican 2 (yes, guilty) crashed before those credits could be shown. Perhaps that also answers why some others have not seen them until now?
gimbal is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CDTV Turrican 2 or Turrican trilogy? CD32 tekopaa request.Old Rare Games 31 12 January 2015 07:02
Two versions of "Turrican 3"? PopoCop support.Games 14 10 April 2013 22:49
Mega Turrican/Turrican 3 Alien Queen Sprite Request Zenotorn project.Sprites 5 09 June 2010 16:39
Indiana Jones 3 and Turrican 2 - CDTV versions on ebay Rarities MarketPlace 1 31 January 2006 15:05
Turrican III / Turrican III - Payment Day - question about covers andreas Nostalgia & memories 14 20 December 2004 22:17

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21529 seconds with 11 queries