English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 January 2016, 10:00   #1
emuola
Registered Whdload user
emuola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 385
Current state of MiST and Amiga cores?

Been asked this a lot by friends, who'd like to have an "Amiga" as an easy piece of hw and not Winuae etc stuff. MiST is cheap enough, but could someone shed some light on how the compatibility etc is currently? Basically all the gyus need is a working A500 core, no AGA required. Of course a working C64 core is also a big plus
emuola is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 January 2016, 11:15   #2
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 712
If you want a C64 core maybe the other option would be the other way around :-)

The MiST's C64 core isn't really that good.

The Chameleon has a Minimig core available for it which is pretty good for A500/ECS level in addition it has the best C64 core around.

Chameleon runs in standalone mode, so consider if thats a better option.
Locutus is online now  
Old 05 January 2016, 12:49   #3
cosmiq
Junior Member
cosmiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Holland
Age: 35
Posts: 296
I'm using my mist frequently (also only for A500 OCS / ECS) and must say that since the new cores from mr. Chaos, everything is quite stable and there's not much that doesn't run on the Mist. I'm also keeping a compatibility list for myself which I could share if interested.
cosmiq is offline  
Old 05 January 2016, 14:13   #4
emuola
Registered Whdload user
emuola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmiq View Post
I'm using my mist frequently (also only for A500 OCS / ECS) and must say that since the new cores from mr. Chaos, everything is quite stable and there's not much that doesn't run on the Mist. I'm also keeping a compatibility list for myself which I could share if interested.
Ok, thanks for the info. A compatibility list would be great

Quote:
Originally Posted by Locutus View Post
If you want a C64 core maybe the other option would be the other way around :-)

The MiST's C64 core isn't really that good.

The Chameleon has a Minimig core available for it which is pretty good for A500/ECS level in addition it has the best C64 core around.

Chameleon runs in standalone mode, so consider if thats a better option.
Ok, didn't realise that

Last edited by TCD; 07 January 2016 at 19:17. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
emuola is offline  
Old 05 January 2016, 15:22   #5
cosmiq
Junior Member
cosmiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Holland
Age: 35
Posts: 296
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...=1&single=true

There's also a french guy who keeps another list. This is my personal game db of stuff that I had on disk back in the days. If you need to know if something works in particular just let me know so I can test it for you.
cosmiq is offline  
Old 05 January 2016, 16:46   #6
1time
Amiga Lover

1time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 564
Im running Mist v1.3 with AGA core 1.1 from Chaos.

At the moment im running WHDLoad 1.82 from my ClassicWB Full v.28 at 7.4 MiPS.

Most stuff is working. (For games and applications atleast)

Version 1.2 of the core is being developed right now.

http://somuch.guru/minimig/minimig-mist/

FBlit and CyberBugFix is not working as they should and the developers are aware of that.

Here you have all the available cores https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-b...e/master/cores

Last edited by 1time; 05 January 2016 at 16:51.
1time is offline  
Old 06 January 2016, 10:44   #7
emuola
Registered Whdload user
emuola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmiq View Post
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...=1&single=true

There's also a french guy who keeps another list. This is my personal game db of stuff that I had on disk back in the days. If you need to know if something works in particular just let me know so I can test it for you.
Awesome list Not bad indeed! Almost everything *I* would play is there working

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1time View Post
Im running Mist v1.3 with AGA core 1.1 from Chaos.

At the moment im running WHDLoad 1.82 from my ClassicWB Full v.28 at 7.4 MiPS.

Most stuff is working. (For games and applications atleast)

Version 1.2 of the core is being developed right now.

http://somuch.guru/minimig/minimig-mist/

FBlit and CyberBugFix is not working as they should and the developers are aware of that.

Here you have all the available cores https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-b...e/master/cores
Impressive, I have to say! So, I guess I can recommend MiST to my buddies alfterall

Last edited by TCD; 07 January 2016 at 19:17. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
emuola is offline  
Old 06 January 2016, 16:10   #8
1time
Amiga Lover

1time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 564
You can absolutely recommend it. Even if the Core is not 100%, you can almost play all the games ever made for any Amiga.

If you ask me, i am surprised that MiST isn't more popular.

This is one of the most underestimated FPGA products out their! (One of the few that actually made it to the market.)

And with a core in this stage you can have a lot of fun with it and it is SUPER easy to get started.

Place 4 files in the root of a SD card and start MiST.
1time is offline  
Old 06 January 2016, 17:55   #9
Total Eclipse
Registered User
Total Eclipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Atherstone / UK
Age: 43
Posts: 107
I second the recommendation. I've mainly used the Amiga and Atari ST cores, but occasionally play with the C64, Spectrum and A8 cores as well.

The Amiga core is probably the most "mature", and really does run almost any game you throw at it. Sometimes you need to use specific settings (changing the amount of RAM or the kickstart ROM) to run games from .adf, as some of the .adf images are unpatched and expect a certain machine. Set up a HDD image and use WHDLoad and you don't even need to concern yourself with that, though the Amiga core does allow you to set up to 5 configurations and swap between them, so you can have a 1.3 A500, a 2.04 A500+, a stock A1200, a A1200 with fast mem etc.

The Atari ST core is fairly accurate for most games and applications, though won't run many demo's 100% as some effects relied on completely accurate timings.

I can't comment on the accuracy of the 8 bit cores. I never had a C64 so haven't used that core much other than out of curiosity. Seems okay, but Locutus has commented that it's not particularly good. I've not used it enough to comment either way. The Spectrum core has recently been overhauled and is meant to be cycle accurate now. the Atari 8-bit core has been pleasantly impressive so far, but again, I've not used it much.

I can't comment on the other cores, as most will only output a VGA signal. Neither of my LCD TV's will accept a 50Hz input on VGA, so I use a SCART cable and disable the scan doubler via the Mist's .ini file. Not all cores support this, but fortunately the cores that I want to use do.
Total Eclipse is offline  
Old 07 January 2016, 14:09   #10
emuola
Registered Whdload user
emuola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by Total Eclipse View Post

I can't comment on the other cores, as most will only output a VGA signal. Neither of my LCD TV's will accept a 50Hz input on VGA, so I use a SCART cable and disable the scan doubler via the Mist's .ini file. Not all cores support this, but fortunately the cores that I want to use do.
Hmm, this might actually be a challenge... What does the MiST actually output? Standard vga as 640 x 480@60Hz or only @50Hz?

If it's only 50Hz -> basically all computer lcd/led/whatever do not work at all
emuola is offline  
Old 07 January 2016, 14:37   #11
1time
Amiga Lover

1time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 564
I dont really know what it supports and not. I am using it with a not so cheap up-scaler to get hdmi like this "http://www.ebay.com/itm/Framemeister...-/181327242059" to my Samsung 65".

If you read about the board itself you can find:

# VGA screens #

The video timing on the VGA output depends on the core being used (Atari ST / Amiga / whatever) and the compatibility varies from core to core and from screen to screen.

I have tried VGA direct to one of my old Samsung SyncMaster 711MP LCD and it works perfectly.

Last edited by 1time; 07 January 2016 at 14:55.
1time is offline  
Old 07 January 2016, 15:56   #12
emuola
Registered Whdload user
emuola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1time View Post
I dont really know what it supports and not. I am using it with a not so cheap up-scaler to get hdmi like this "http://www.ebay.com/itm/Framemeister...-/181327242059" to my Samsung 65".

If you read about the board itself you can find:

# VGA screens #

The video timing on the VGA output depends on the core being used (Atari ST / Amiga / whatever) and the compatibility varies from core to core and from screen to screen.

I have tried VGA direct to one of my old Samsung SyncMaster 711MP LCD and it works perfectly.
Ok, thanks for the info I have a Framemeister, but I was just thinking my buddies... It really should be plu-and-play for them. But ok, at least it's very close to that I presume that the Amiga core is one of the vga-friendly ones?
emuola is offline  
Old 07 January 2016, 15:58   #13
chaos
Registered User

chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by emuola View Post
Hmm, this might actually be a challenge... What does the MiST actually output? Standard vga as 640 x 480@60Hz or only @50Hz?

If it's only 50Hz -> basically all computer lcd/led/whatever do not work at all
MiST, at least in the case of the minimig core, will output a PAL @ 50Hz or NTSC @ 60Hz, both in either 15kHz or scandoubled to 30kHz. This will be usually detected as a 720x576p (PAL 50Hz) or 640x480p (NTSC 60Hz) mode. There is no framerate conversion, and probably never will be.

Actually, you'd be surprised how many monitors/TVs actually support 50Hz/30kHz on the VGA input. Not all of course, so if you want to be sure your monitor will work, a short test is needed, or google for your manufacturer/model, there might be someone with the same one.

Samsungs usually work, Dells too (some even support 15kHz mode!), LG monitor TVs work great, I have bad experiences with HP (semi-pro) monitors.

EDIT: fixed explanation

Last edited by chaos; 07 January 2016 at 16:08.
chaos is offline  
Old 07 January 2016, 15:59   #14
Total Eclipse
Registered User
Total Eclipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Atherstone / UK
Age: 43
Posts: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by emuola View Post
Hmm, this might actually be a challenge... What does the MiST actually output? Standard vga as 640 x 480@60Hz or only @50Hz?(
By default, it will output a VGA progressive signal at whatever frequency the normal computer would (so an NTSC Amiga or Atari ST would do 60Hz, PAL would be 50Hz). My TV's won't accept a 50Hz VGA signal, however some of the cores can be told to disable the scan doubler, and instead output a typical RGB SCART signal. You need to buy or make the appropriate cable, but it works very well.

I connect my Mist via SCART and can use all the cores I mentioned in my previous post. There are some that I'd still be interested in trying, but at the moment can't because the scan doubler can't be disabled (The Amstrad core, for one).

Last edited by Total Eclipse; 07 January 2016 at 16:00. Reason: removed 480p reference
Total Eclipse is offline  
Old 08 January 2016, 11:36   #15
emuola
Registered Whdload user
emuola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaos View Post
MiST, at least in the case of the minimig core, will output a PAL @ 50Hz or NTSC @ 60Hz, both in either 15kHz or scandoubled to 30kHz. This will be usually detected as a 720x576p (PAL 50Hz) or 640x480p (NTSC 60Hz) mode. There is no framerate conversion, and probably never will be.

Actually, you'd be surprised how many monitors/TVs actually support 50Hz/30kHz on the VGA input. Not all of course, so if you want to be sure your monitor will work, a short test is needed, or google for your manufacturer/model, there might be someone with the same one.

Samsungs usually work, Dells too (some even support 15kHz mode!), LG monitor TVs work great, I have bad experiences with HP (semi-pro) monitors.

EDIT: fixed explanation
Quote:
Originally Posted by Total Eclipse View Post
By default, it will output a VGA progressive signal at whatever frequency the normal computer would (so an NTSC Amiga or Atari ST would do 60Hz, PAL would be 50Hz). My TV's won't accept a 50Hz VGA signal, however some of the cores can be told to disable the scan doubler, and instead output a typical RGB SCART signal. You need to buy or make the appropriate cable, but it works very well.

I connect my Mist via SCART and can use all the cores I mentioned in my previous post. There are some that I'd still be interested in trying, but at the moment can't because the scan doubler can't be disabled (The Amstrad core, for one).
Ok, thanks again for the info I guess, MiST woulkd make one helluva retrogaming system.
emuola is offline  
Old 08 January 2016, 13:17   #16
cosmiq
Junior Member
cosmiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Holland
Age: 35
Posts: 296
I agree - I also still wonder why it isn't more popular.
You can even go on the internet with it (using a raspberry pi via serial PPP) - it's slow but it works There's a few guys who figured it out how to do it on minimig.net.
cosmiq is offline  
Old 24 January 2016, 11:43   #17
1time
Amiga Lover

1time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 564
A new Beta (20160123) of the MiST MiniMig-AGA from Chaos and Till can be downloaded here: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-b...es/minimig-aga

Download it. Put it on you SD-card and change the name to core.rbf.
1time is offline  
Old 21 February 2016, 23:18   #18
chaos
Registered User

chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 131
A new release of minimig-AGA for MiST is available, grab it here:

http://somuch.guru/minimig/minimig-mist/
chaos is offline  
Old 22 February 2016, 17:26   #19
1time
Amiga Lover

1time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 564
Great work!
1time is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Current state of Indivision AGA 1200 MK2cr? emuola support.Hardware 38 25 January 2015 21:34
Vampire 600 more cores.. Turran support.Hardware 48 14 January 2015 17:39
Mist for Amiga/Atari kipper2k support.Hardware 23 27 November 2014 07:49
WinUAE "save state" to include the current state of floppies. seuden request.UAE Wishlist 2 03 February 2012 09:36
New Minimig cores available tonyyeb News 47 22 February 2010 01:49

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21583 seconds with 11 queries