English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 December 2015, 05:45   #1
c0dehunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 182
How can I get rid of AROS?

Hello all,
Do the new builds of WinUAE have the AROS implemented in them? I have always used to see the familiar 1987 Amiga bios information while loading a game or demo, but lately I get to see AROS.

How can I get rid of it!?
c0dehunter is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 December 2015, 07:17   #2
Diz_57
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Lancashire / England
Posts: 62
Get rid by using your own roms instead of the built-in
Diz_57 is offline  
Old 29 December 2015, 07:18   #3
ptyerman
Registered User

ptyerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Worksop/UK
Age: 53
Posts: 927
Use a Amiga kickstart ROM file instead of the Aros one. The Aros ROM is included as a free replacement, but isn't compatible with everything.
ptyerman is offline  
Old 29 December 2015, 07:44   #4
c0dehunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 182
Many thanks for your kind responses! What is the name of this AROS Rom? (I am not near my computer to check it myself)
THANKS!
c0dehunter is offline  
Old 29 December 2015, 07:49   #5
ptyerman
Registered User

ptyerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Worksop/UK
Age: 53
Posts: 927
aros-20151124.rom, also aros-rom.bin and aros-ext.bin.
The first is date numbered, so yours may differ.
ptyerman is offline  
Old 29 December 2015, 08:13   #6
c0dehunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 182
You guys are awesome! Many thanks!

Do you know how I got these Roms into my system? I simply downloaded and installed the new WinUAE!
c0dehunter is offline  
Old 29 December 2015, 08:38   #7
ptyerman
Registered User

ptyerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Worksop/UK
Age: 53
Posts: 927
The Aros roms come with WinUAE, they are included so you can run software and games even if you don't have a Amiga ROM.
The easiest way to get all the Amiga ROMS and Workbench adf's, is to get AmigaForever from Cloanto, it has everything you will need. It can be found at http://www.amigaforever.com/.
It is well worth having and includes a Amiga Workbench that boots straight from the DVD on a PC. This can also be installed on a PC.
ptyerman is offline  
Old 29 December 2015, 08:55   #8
c0dehunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 182
Thanks!
c0dehunter is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Got rid of some Winuae slowdown rsn8887 support.WinUAE 10 16 December 2012 10:23
Keep or Get Rid? mfletcher Amiga scene 10 18 February 2011 07:16
What mobo would you keep and would would you get rid? D4Ni3L3 Hardware mods 8 23 November 2009 09:41
seriously thinking of getting rid already jailer support.Other 23 04 February 2009 01:43
Does anyone have an A3000 in the UK they want rid off? Paul_s MarketPlace 0 22 February 2007 23:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13099 seconds with 11 queries