English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 January 2016, 03:24   #21
clenched
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gainesville U.S.A.
Posts: 581
Check the address on Maptapper picture. ( take into account $b20 payload on savestate ). The bottom damage is disk data being loaded over the map. A way around this is to move the MFM area out of the way.

So change offset $994e9 on the ADF from 4 to 8. This means 1 meg chip ram must be used. ADF with this patch Zoned.

Also, the HOL map has been reworked from this ADF mainly because the dog sawed a hole in the ice before I saved.


This part starts to overwrite map data:
Code:
0000C2E6 43f9 0004 e080           LEA.L $0004e080,A1 
0000C2EC 2b49 0020                MOVE.L A1,(A5, $0020) == $00dff020
0000C2F0 3b7c 8400 009e           MOVE.W #$8400,(A5, $009e) == $00dff09e
0000C2F6 3b7c 0002 009c           MOVE.W #$0002,(A5, $009c) == $00dff09c
0000C2FC 3b7c 8210 0096           MOVE.W #$8210,(A5, $0096) == $00dff096
0000C302 3b7c 4489 007e           MOVE.W #$4489,(A5, $007e) == $00dff07e
0000C308 3b7c 4000 0024           MOVE.W #$4000,(A5, $0024) == $00dff024
0000C30E 0839 0004 00bf dd00      BTST.B #$0004,$00bfdd00
0000C316 0839 0004 00bf dd00      BTST.B #$0004,$00bfdd00
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Clipboard01.png
Views:	127
Size:	56.4 KB
ID:	46835  
clenched is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 January 2016, 03:37   #22
Mister Octopus
Registered User

Mister Octopus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by clenched View Post
Check the address on Maptapper picture. ( take into account $b20 payload on savestate ). The bottom damage is disk data being loaded over the map. A way around this is to move the MFM area out of the way.
As someone who has no idea about the technical side of this stuff, that map is fascinating. Because the damaged textures begin right after the snow that spells out the word "HELP", this looks like the map from some kind of cyberpunk nightmare.
Mister Octopus is offline  
Old 05 January 2016, 18:20   #23
butfluffy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: In the Hills
Posts: 324
just to be sure, is the patched adf zoned by clenched 100% completable without corruption? if so i will delete the other versions and just keep the patched one.
i've been trying to delete as many corrupt disk images as possible when tidying up amiga adfs.
butfluffy is offline  
Old 05 January 2016, 20:52   #24
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel
gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 36
Posts: 2,932
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mister Octopus View Post
As someone who has no idea about the technical side of this stuff, that map is fascinating. Because the damaged textures begin right after the snow that spells out the word "HELP", this looks like the map from some kind of cyberpunk nightmare.
He, that might answer my question
gimbal is offline  
Old 06 January 2016, 04:16   #25
clenched
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gainesville U.S.A.
Posts: 581
Quote:
Originally Posted by butfluffy View Post
just to be sure, is the patched adf zoned by clenched 100% completable without corruption? if so i will delete the other versions and just keep the patched one.
i've been trying to delete as many corrupt disk images as possible when tidying up amiga adfs.
Yes. I've played it completely through twice. The second time taking a bunch of screenshots for HOL including the ending. All the levels look fine now.
clenched is online now  
Old 06 January 2016, 04:40   #26
butfluffy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: In the Hills
Posts: 324
thats great news, cheers
butfluffy is offline  
Old 06 January 2016, 10:20   #27
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 8,978
Quote:
Originally Posted by clenched View Post
Yes. I've played it completely through twice. The second time taking a bunch of screenshots for HOL including the ending. All the levels look fine now.
Nice work with patching the .ADF clenched; appreciated
DamienD is offline  
Old 06 January 2016, 21:21   #28
hipoonios
Amiga Hardcore Gamer

hipoonios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 1,021
Played it through too. Many thanks Mister Octopus, RoePipi and clenched
hipoonios is offline  
Old 24 June 2016, 14:30   #29
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,128
The Band version in TOSEC is broken!

On the topic of Garfield: A Winter's Tail, I wanted to know why the Band trained version of the game doesn't work. It turns out some idiot encrypted the TetraPack 2.1 intro using the decryption key that happens to be stored (but never set) at $8:
Code:
        move.l  (8).L,d3
lbC000E move.l  (a0),d0
        eor.l   d3,d0
        move.l  d0,(a0)+
        cmpa.l  a1,a0
        blt.b   lbC000E
        lea     (lbL0024,pc),a0
        adda.l  #$20,a0
        jmp     (a0)

lbL0024	dc.l    $FC042F
        dc.l    $FC07DC
        dc.l    $FC07DD
        dc.l    $FC07DC
        dc.l    $FC07DC
        dc.l    $FC02EC
        dc.l    $FC0435
        dc.l    $FC02EC
If you've been cracking for a while, it's trivial to work out that the data at lbL0024 is an AmigaDos header ($3f3, 0, 1) so the value the game is expecting at $8 happens to be $fc07dc. I checked WinUAE and it has $fc0818, so the file unpacks as garbage and then jumps to it, crashing the machine.

To fix this particular problem, if you change offset $42c in the disk image from $2639 0000 0008 to $263c 00fc 07dc, the instruction move.l (8).L,d3 becomes move.l #$fc07dc,d3 and the decryption takes place. And once you do this, the +3 trainer appears correctly!

Clenched's fix can also be applied to that same image to make it a complete version.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	the_band_garfield_2.png
Views:	67
Size:	2.5 KB
ID:	48957  
Codetapper is offline  
Old 24 June 2016, 21:17   #30
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,392
Thanks Codetapper, but I can't actually get the fixed version you put in the zone to work in WinUAE. After the title screen I just get a black screen and it stops on track 83.
Belgarath is offline  
Old 24 June 2016, 22:19   #31
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Belgarath View Post
Thanks Codetapper, but I can't actually get the fixed version you put in the zone to work in WinUAE. After the title screen I just get a black screen and it stops on track 83.
Did you run with 1Mb chip memory?
Codetapper is offline  
Old 24 June 2016, 22:24   #32
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,392
I tried with 1mb, but not 1mb chip...My bad, works great now. Thank you
Belgarath is offline  
Old 24 June 2016, 22:32   #33
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,518
Quote:
Originally Posted by Codetapper View Post
so the value the game is expecting at $8 happens to be $fc07dc. I checked WinUAE and it has $fc0818, so the file unpacks as garbage and then jumps to it, crashing the machine.
It is $fc07dc if Kickstart is 1.2.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 24 June 2016, 22:53   #34
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
It is $fc07dc if Kickstart is 1.2.
I thought I tested v1.2 too but no matter. At least it works no matter the value now! Some crackers still using v1.2 in 1989!
Codetapper is offline  
Old 25 June 2016, 21:58   #35
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Codetapper View Post
I thought I tested v1.2 too but no matter. At least it works no matter the value now! Some crackers still using v1.2 in 1989!
Ahem..... I was
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 26 June 2016, 17:26   #36
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,138
@Galahad
You weren't using an Action Replay I too back in '89, were ya?!

Last edited by DrBong; 26 June 2016 at 19:02.
DrBong is offline  
Old 26 June 2016, 19:00   #37
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 8,978
Hey guys,

So just to be clear, Codetapper's recent Zone upload is the fixed trained version with clenched's fix also applied?
DamienD is offline  
Old 26 June 2016, 19:04   #38
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,138
@DamienD
That's not quite how I understood it because of this snippet from Ian:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Codetapper View Post
Clenched's fix can also be applied to that same image to make it a complete version.
Doesn't sound like clenched's fix has been applied, but Belg should know.....
DrBong is offline  
Old 26 June 2016, 19:09   #39
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 8,978
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBong View Post
@DamienD
That's not quite how I understood it because of this comment:

Belg should know, though.....
Yeah that's how I understood it too... Just thought I'd clarify.

...would be cool if someone skilled could now patch Codetapper's fixed version with clenched's fix so we have a 100% trained version

Unfortunately though, I'm in no position to test anything at the moment. Still sunning it up in the Dominican Republic
DamienD is offline  
Old 26 June 2016, 19:17   #40
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,138
@DamienD
Haha, you might have to stay there a little longer (indefinitely even!) with all the Brexit pandemonium that's been going on back at home BTW you should never leave home without an Amiga (emulator)!!!
DrBong is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Winter Supersports 92 Big-Byte support.Games 2 01 February 2014 13:39
Demon's Winter Escordian Games images which need to be WHDified 15 04 February 2010 18:56
Winter games mai support.Games 1 25 February 2009 22:45
"Giochi Di Inverno": Winter Challenge/Winter Olympiad 88 - Italian language hack? s2325 Retrogaming General Discussion 18 22 December 2008 17:59
Amiga Future: Garfield Strips 1.0 released AndreasM News 0 16 March 2008 16:40

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.43888 seconds with 12 queries