English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 January 2003, 16:03   #1
Domiwarrior
 
Posts: n/a
Eek Gonna Smash This Amiga

Hi,

I have a number of questions to put out there, i recently went back to the "oldskool" and got the old A1200 out for a bit of sensi bashing.

Havent used it for ages and thought 'oh cool' i can just go on the net and get loads of games...............

If only it were that easy, first I tried networking the Mig to the PC via Null modem, Twin express on both pootas and guess what, the PC is shit and doesnt want to play, while the Mig is OK.

I get unrecognised device etc from the PC and then when I close and run Twinx again i get device busy. I know Windows F*$# things up a bit, but I cant even get it running from DOS.

I can see others have had the same probs, but i cant resolve mine, everything is as it should be, baud, port etc, the only thing i can see is the address for com1 is different on the PC to what the TwinX readme says but Windows wont let me change it.

I've heard Amiga explorer is pretty easy, where can i get a copy ? dont say Cloanto.

So then i went to the mega slow task of 720kb disks, then transferring them to the mig by Crossdos, download the .adf, compress the .adf with .lha (or chop it using CHOPPER if LHA cant pack it tight enough to fit on one disk) and copy it to disk, transfer it over to the Mig, and, then unpack the .lha (or join) the .adf on the MIG and then do an ADF2DISK. Takes an absolute age, but is the only way at the moment.

Whilst im doing this on the PC, half the time windows chucks me a nasty blue screen telling me "unable to write to disk" and takes 2 or 3 attempts to get the thing to work (if it works at all).

A little side question, does anyone know why windows does this to me??? (and the rest of humanity i imagine) apart from being worse than a Welsh sheep with Herpes and Slower than a Two legged Turtle.

Sorry I digress....

Imagine my command of the lovely english language, when........ once i finally get the game written to a Meega disk, the game wont work !!!!!!!
I load it on the Mig and i get a Boot sector error or something or a software failiure, (Moonstone, oh yes Moonstone

Is this just duff software on the net or what ? A small list of things I have tried, but cant get to work are,
SWOS (about 4 different versions), Dynablasta, Mega-lo-mania, Moonstone, RickDangerous2, SimEarth, Kick Off, Kick OFF2, Rainbow Islands, Speedball2.

Dunno if anyone can see a pattern here that im not ?

Although to be fair I have got some games across like this (about 20 in 4 solid days of pissing around, AND their all ones im not really interested in............
Some of the ones that have worked are Stunt Car Racer, Wings, SuperCars2, SimCity, Goal, Winter Olympics, JamesPond3, Lemmings.

I then found out about WHDLoad and whacked that on the Mig too, I thought its gotta be something simple, praps its just the poota (couldnt be me, OOOHH no), i knew i could never get Moonstone or Mega-lo-Mania to run on the A1200 and just used to run it on a 500, so i thought it must be the old chipset thingy. so i got a couple of WHD patches to test things out first and put the things on the hard drive.

Surprise surprise, nothing.

When i put the installer onto the Miga in the same directory as WHDLoad, then run the installer all i get is "unable to compile line 156" or something. I only tried 2 patches , Moonstone and Mega-lo-mania, and to be honest I got so pissed off i havent bothered trying anymore.

But this still doesnt explain why on earth i cant get SWOS to run. I did get a demo of Sensi Moon Soccer to run that i downloaded though, which just frustrated me even more.

I am slowly but surely going mental, and feel like smahing the things to pieces, (the PC first of course).

I know its only me not knowing what to do, and am now on a mission to get things going.

The A1200 is standard, 2mb RAM etc 68020 80mb HD. Nothing fancy, is that the problem with WHDload ?

I gave all my old games away about 7-8 years ago, but decided to keep the Amiga, now after getting bored with the PS2, I thought id get back in the spirit of the good old days. The games I desperately wanna get going are, mega-lo-mania, SWOS, Moonstone, Xenon 2, oh fuck the list, just all the old classics.

I know its a long one but in short I need help with a nullmodem link to the PC, tranfering WORKING .adfs to the Mig from the PC by disk (if I cant network it) and getting WHDload working, or any of the games i want to work.

any help out there peeps peeps would seriously be appreciated, otherwise ill be selling off broken bits of PC and Amiga.

Thanks
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 January 2003, 16:12   #2
Steve
Kickstarter Addict!
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 2,123
Exclamation Re: Gonna Smash This Amiga

Quote:
Originally posted by Domiwarrior
I've heard Amiga explorer is pretty easy, where can i get a copy ? dont say Cloanto.
Huh? Cloanto are the only company that sell Amiga Explorer as far as I know. Don't start asking for a free download cos you won't get one! I bought Amiga Explorer from Cloanto last year and it has been one of the best Amiga purchases I've made. It's a great piece of software and makes copying to and from your Amiga a doddle. I simply copy an ADF to my 2MB Amiga 1200 using AExplorer into the RAM directory. I then burn the ADF to disk using the easy to use adf2disk program. Amiga Explorer is very easy to use, fast, and has a nice interface. Go buy it.

Last edited by Steve; 04 January 2003 at 16:18.
Steve is offline  
Old 04 January 2003, 23:12   #3
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 47
Posts: 824
Ok, I can help you out with the disk transfer problem, but I dont know much about the cable methods.

The windwos blue screen when writing to 720k discs also happens to me often. I don' know why, but PC floppy drives and windows seem to be very pedantic when detecting errors on discs. Whenever windows reports a bad disk I can use the same disk without any problems in my Amiga-500 !!

But the cure for this problem is to use 720k discs instead of using 1.44mb discs and taping the hd hole. Then this crappy blue screens should vanish

About the problem that some transferred games won't work on the Amiga I can only advise you to format the discs before writing to them with transdisk or adf2disk or whatever ! I always use transdisk and have no problems of this sort.
Also you can be faster by splitting the adf into 2 equal big halves on the pc and then put them on 2 72k discs. On the Amiga side put the pc disc into df1 and the Amiga disc into df0 and use the -s (starttrack) and -e (endtrack) options of transdisk for writing only the first half ( tracks 0-39 ) or the second half ( tracks 40-79 ) of the adf. This way you can transfer 'on-the-fly' from df1 to df0 and don't need to zip and unzip the files !

Happy transferring
Overdoc is offline  
Old 05 January 2003, 01:11   #4
Big-Byte
Long time member

Big-Byte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 753
You can specify the com port when you run twin.

This is what I have in my batch file (on the pc)

twin <port> <baud rate>
twin com2 115200

Ive never got it to run from windows. Only dos.

Hope this helps
Big-Byte is offline  
Old 05 January 2003, 04:40   #5
Domiwarrior
 
Posts: n/a
Hi guys,

thanks for the reply,

with the disks I have managed to lay my grubby little hands on about 200 old Amiga DD disks, and am using them them to transfer the stuff over from PC to Amiga, this is where I get the blue screen, and it is on the "real" amiga disks. I think it must just be crappy PC hardware doubled with MicroCrap software.

With Transdisk I have tried changing the Com ports but still never got any luck, the address for my Com1 and other ports differ slightly from what transdisk looks for, and Windows wont let you change the address coz it will create conflicts with other stuff.

If you right click 'My Computer' goto properties, goto device manager, goto ports open communications and click resources it should tell you what address (setting) it is set at. Mine is 03f8-03ff

where as Twinx looks for 3f8h-somthing else. Im not entirely sure if this is where the mess up is coming from, and i think it might be, but im not an MCP/MCSE by any means. If anyone is please let me know !

I've got a decent Laptop as well and will try with that in a week or so when it gets back from the shithead who borrowed it for a "couple of days".

The very helpful Amigaboy suggested zmodeming it, I have thought of that before , but thought using a specific program would be far faster and easier, but now I think is gonna be the only way, I've already got Ncomm on the Mig and am gonna try it later, I'll post a message of how i get on.

Im sure there are plenty of others out there who have similar problems with at least one of these issues, but I doubt many have all three.

Thanx again guys
 
Old 05 January 2003, 23:16   #6
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 47
Posts: 824
But when you use DD disks it is strange that your PC reports a bluescreen when writing to them !?!?

Did you format them correctly to 720kB ? Also don't forget to check the 'full format' box when formatting them from Windows, because otherwise they will just get quick-formatted, which basically is a directory deletion
Maybe also your PC's diskdrive is a crappy one which cannot get along with 720k DD disks ?
Overdoc is offline  
Old 06 January 2003, 03:20   #7
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,135
Post Re: Gonna Smash This Amiga

Quote:
Originally posted by Domiwarrior
I load it on the Mig and i get a Boot sector error or something or a software failiure, (Moonstone, oh yes Moonstone

Is this just duff software on the net or what ? A small list of things I have tried, but cant get to work are,
SWOS (about 4 different versions), Dynablasta, Mega-lo-mania, Moonstone, RickDangerous2, SimEarth, Kick Off, Kick OFF2, Rainbow Islands, Speedball2.
I can at least confirm that Mega-Lo-Mania, Rainbow Islands and Speedball 2 will not work on an A1200 unless you have AGA fixed disk versions. I do have AGA fixed versions of all these btw (probably all on TOSEC too)

Either that or you use the incredible WHDLoad of course!

Quote:
When i put the installer onto the Miga in the same directory as WHDLoad, then run the installer all i get is "unable to compile line 156" or something. I only tried 2 patches , Moonstone and Mega-lo-mania, and to be honest I got so pissed off i havent bothered trying anymore.
First your installer is probably incredibly old. Get a new one from Aminet. (Although I must say I use an old one and have NEVER had a problem with any install script saying that it had compile problems - and both those games you mention are high-profile ones which would have had a lot of people testing them so I cannot believe that those would have errors in them!) - probably the files are corrupt rather than the patch being buggy.

You picked 2 large games - Megalomania is approx 1.1Mb of files, add on workbench loading, 512k chip memory + 512k expansion memory + whdload + stack which is a lot more than 2Mb. Moonstone is even bigger and requires a registered WHDLoad.

Quote:
But this still doesnt explain why on earth i cant get SWOS to run. I did get a demo of Sensi Moon Soccer to run that i downloaded though, which just frustrated me even more.
The cracked versions of SWOS run perfectly on floppy on a 1200. It sounds to me like that transfer program you are using is utter garbage.

Quote:
The A1200 is standard, 2mb RAM etc 68020 80mb HD. Nothing fancy, is that the problem with WHDload ?
You are trying to run large games on a minimum spec Amiga. Download a small 512k game and run that in WHDLoad. eg. Puzznic, Plotting, Bubble Bobble, Loopz etc. You can check for a small game by looking at the readme or using WHDInfo. Pick one that only needs 512k chip and doesn't have megabytes of files.

Quote:
I know its a long one but in short I need help with a nullmodem link to the PC, tranfering WORKING .adfs to the Mig from the PC by disk (if I cant network it) and getting WHDload working, or any of the games i want to work.
I recommend a program called NetworkPC and a parallel crossover cable. You can buy the cable for about $15 NZ (5 UK pounds) and you get about 1Mb/min (that is MegaBYTES not bits) transfer. This is how I get all my stuff to/from my Amiga from the PC. Only thing I'm not sure how it likes Windows 2000/XP - but for 95/98 it's great. On the Amiga side you get access to a new device called "PC" and you can use Dopus to copy files back and forth. I personally use this myself to access my PC with it's CD drives since my Amiga doesn't have one.

Incidentally any program that forces you to format the disks on the Amiga side first is junk - disk images are just that - a complete image of the disk which is written track by track over the destination disk.
Codetapper is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Smash frikilokooo Games images which need to be WHDified 2 04 July 2013 11:40
Smash TV RickyC support.Games 2 28 July 2009 19:21
Smash TV Tim Janssen Nostalgia & memories 17 27 May 2007 07:30
YOU HAVE 2 HOURS TO LIVE!! So what Amiga game ya gonna play? Dastardly Retrogaming General Discussion 45 31 December 2002 15:22
I'm ONLY gonna do this once, or at least rarely often. MethodGit request.Old Rare Games 26 28 December 2001 18:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18306 seconds with 11 queries