English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 December 2015, 19:24   #21
Zak
Zap´em

Zak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 323
No, when it stopped working in fullscreen, it still didn´t work when switching to windowed mode.
Zak is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 December 2015, 19:40   #22
Realturrican
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Bremen / Germany
Posts: 9
1) Had never a problem with mouse or keyboard.

2) No other gamepad available, sorry.

3) Window mode

run in terminal:
C:\Program Files (x86)\WinUAE>winuae -log -inputlog 4

Yes, I can confirm the previous post.

Xbox 360 gamepads keep working in windowed mode. Tried several setting changes, no problems.

Then changed to fullscreen. One gamepad stops working. Switched back to windowed mode, it works again.

Logs atached.
Attached Files
File Type: rar WinUAE fullscreen vs. windowed.rar (120.6 KB, 29 views)
Realturrican is offline  
Old 03 December 2015, 20:01   #23
Realturrican
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Bremen / Germany
Posts: 9
run in terminal:
C:\Program Files (x86)\WinUAE>winuae -log -inputlog 4

Case A)
Starting WinUAE in *windowed* mode.
Gamepads work perfectly.
Switch to fullscreen.
After changing settings, one gamepad stops working.
Switch to window mode.
Gamepad starts working again.

Case B)
Starting WinUAE in *fullscreen* mode.
Gamepads work perfectly.
After changing settings, one gamepad stops working.
Switch to window mode.
Gamepad does *not* work in window mode, neither back in fullscreen mode.

configs are attached
Attached Files
File Type: rar Configurations.rar (5.8 KB, 24 views)
Realturrican is offline  
Old 03 December 2015, 22:41   #24
Zak
Zap´em

Zak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 323
I played a little around and it seems, when I choose 50 Hz Pal as refresh rate in the display folder (instead of default refresh rate), everything seems to work in fullscreen. At least on my machine.
Zak is offline  
Old 03 December 2015, 23:37   #25
Realturrican
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Bremen / Germany
Posts: 9
Do you mean Display->Screen->"Default refresh rate"?

At my computer/monitor there is no 50 Hz Pal option available. Only 60 Hz NTSC, 100 Hz PAL, 120 Hz NTSC, 140 Hz.

Using the 100 Hz PAL option does not prevent the error (at least here).

Nethertheless since it is a Gsync Monitor I get real 50 Hz in fullscreen with "Default refresh rate".

Is there really a correlation between screen refresh rate and Gamepad input? Would we strange...
Realturrican is offline  
Old 03 December 2015, 23:42   #26
Zak
Zap´em

Zak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 323
That´s correct. Display->Screen->50Hz Pal
as I said on my machine. I don´t have 100Hz to choose.
Maybe try around what you got there, and maybe something works for your machine?

Last edited by Zak; 03 December 2015 at 23:48.
Zak is offline  
Old 04 December 2015, 15:02   #27
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,535
Fullscreen or refresh rate makes no sense.

Preview versions of Windows 10 had some weird bugs in RawInput (for example single event was received from joystick, then nothing until program was restarted..) but this was fixed in final version.

Do you have original Windows 10 release? (build 10240) or recently released November update ("1511", build 10586)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 04 December 2015, 19:09   #28
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,535
Test version: http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae.7z

Use same command line parameters, when pad stops working, keep pressing pad buttons next 10 seconds and then immediately press ALT-F4 to quit emulator. Then attach winuaelog.txt (no need for other log).

ALT-F4 quit guarantees that there is no extra logging and I can clearly see when pad stopped working.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 04 December 2015, 19:54   #29
Zak
Zap´em

Zak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 323
Uploaded winuaelog-zak to the zone.
I upgraded to Windows 10 on tuesday, so I guess I got the bad version.
I tested the 50 Hz thing several times and it works.
Zak is offline  
Old 04 December 2015, 20:15   #30
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,535
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zak View Post
Uploaded winuaelog-zak to the zone.
I upgraded to Windows 10 on tuesday, so I guess I got the bad version.
I tested the 50 Hz thing several times and it works.
Above test version logs also Windows build number, you have november update.

Interestingly your log shows continuous button presses, there is only about 1s gap between last press and WinUAE quit.

So it seems that there is nothing wrong with reading pad but something goes wrong when pad events get routed to emulated port or something like that.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 04 December 2015, 20:57   #31
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,535
winuae.7z updated again. Now even more logging, same logging session again, thanks.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 04 December 2015, 21:12   #32
Zak
Zap´em

Zak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 323
uploaded winuaelog-zak2 to the zone
I still used -log -inputlog 4 parameters
Zak is offline  
Old 04 December 2015, 21:16   #33
Realturrican
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Bremen / Germany
Posts: 9
Windows 1511 (build 10586.17)

WinUAE beta used from post #31

Please find winuaelog.txt attached.
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (45.6 KB, 29 views)
Realturrican is offline  
Old 04 December 2015, 21:22   #34
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,535
Thanks. Both logs show same problem which explains it perfectly. Handle value of input device can change when rawinput is temporarily unregistered, apparently only under Windows 10 and only in some specific circumstances.

Fix coming later..
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 04 December 2015, 21:32   #35
Zak
Zap´em

Zak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 323
Great! Thanks for your support.
Zak is offline  
Old 05 December 2015, 11:48   #36
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,535
winuae.7z updated. There is no guarantee this fixes it, hopefully it does.. Include new log, even if it works.

I still don't have any idea why it happens (device handle gets changed without removing/inserting the device, handle that application is supposed to use as a device identifer..), it is also handle that is not "owned" by application, it can't be locked (or similar) and there is nothing mentioned in API documentation.. It is either undocumented feature or a bug (It could be a bug if it didn't exist until Windows 10 build 10586. I can't duplicate it but these kinds of odd things usually have multiple dependencies.. HID RawInput is still very rarely used)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 05 December 2015, 13:21   #37
Realturrican
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Bremen / Germany
Posts: 9
Latest beta works fine (5 min tested). Changed several settings via F12, both gamepads kept working. Great Job, thanks a lot!

Please find logs attached.
Attached Files
File Type: rar WinUAE logs.rar (41.4 KB, 19 views)
Realturrican is offline  
Old 05 December 2015, 19:00   #38
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,535
Thanks. Log shows what I assumed, handle value changes but workaround code correctly fixes it. Hopefully this is fully fixed now
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 05 December 2015, 20:43   #39
Zak
Zap´em

Zak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 323
Yes, new update works fine. In windowed mode and fullscreen. Thanks!
Zak is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Only 2 Buttons and D-Pad Work on CD32 Joypad fondpondforever support.Hardware 7 30 January 2015 13:33
Can't get PortAudio to work since upgrade to 2.3.3 ral-clan support.WinUAE 0 24 September 2011 17:40
Best USB Joypad for WinUAE DH request.Other 7 04 October 2008 16:01
Joypad in Winuae komunita support.WinUAE 15 09 June 2006 20:11
My joypad won't work. Doh! dreamkatcha support.WinUAE 2 19 March 2002 23:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20012 seconds with 12 queries