English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 November 2015, 21:50   #1
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
A1200D 1D1 ACA1230/56 fully loaded

Hi:

It's been a time I don't see here in this section some new post of new/old hardware pron .

I've never opened a thread to show my A1200 with a 1D1 mobo and an ACA1230/56, which I consider as a not enough recognized beast of the modern amiga hardware.

So I open this thread to show it as I'm going to introduce some new add-ons to my specs like a RapidRoad by Individual Computers, a Clockport Expander by DJBase and a Prisma Megamix by A-Eon from Amigakit that I've obtained as somekind of "developer" (whatever that means ).

I'll be installing them all together with an already existing Indivision MKII using a HDMI output thanks to Kipper2K adapter, and also a Fast ATA MKIV and a tray system CD player -custom bezel using a spare Amiga trapdoor-.

The OS will be AmiKit Real of course . In fact, if I like how the Prisma behaves I will think in adding a new option to MorpheuZ to change some prefs to use it, for example for playing some streaming radio.

I've just received the RapidRoad and the Prisma, but I've just ordered today two Clockport risers from Amigakit (nice people there ) as the Clockport Expander needs to rest over the Fast ATA MKIV.

I won't try the RapidRoad or the Prisma yet, I will try them when I have the risers, so you'll have to wait for more photos. I've got it already connected though: Prisma with red cable to pin 1 on the expander and RapidRoad with red cable the opposite way.

So this is all I've made by now -today- for it:





As I say I promise to post some pictures of it all in a near future and also some video when it's running.

Last edited by Retrofan; 18 December 2015 at 01:14.
Retrofan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 November 2015, 22:06   #2
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 1,843
Nice job!
Daedalus is offline  
Old 28 November 2015, 22:39   #3
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Thanks Daedalus.

Someone can be wondering why to make those USB slots while you can use the rear plastic expansion port the amiga has. I need it for the Prisma. Also, if you think about it, the connections for audio are better there at the back and the USB ones better on a side, just like in a laptop. You need to use them -plug/unplug- more frequently, so better there, more reachable. Just my opinion.

Last edited by Retrofan; 04 November 2016 at 01:43.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 29 November 2015, 07:12   #4
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 424
@ retrofan your Host for the Pictures throws up a Virus warning Buddy


Last edited by supaduper; 29 November 2015 at 07:18.
supaduper is offline  
Old 29 November 2015, 11:39   #5
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by supaduper View Post
@ retrofan your Host for the Pictures throws up a Virus warning Buddy

Thanks for the info. That's extrange, Avast doesn't complain at all.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 29 November 2015, 11:44   #6
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,352
That's MS SmartScreen (smart....) on IE. Crap I'd say.
zipper is offline  
Old 29 November 2015, 12:03   #7
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by zipper View Post
That's MS SmartScreen (smart....) on IE. Crap I'd say.
Very true , but will you take the risk ?
supaduper is offline  
Old 29 November 2015, 12:37   #8
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by supaduper View Post
Very true , but will you take the risk ?
My links don't download anything, they just show the image.
Also "This website has been reported as unsafe". By whom? The other webs hosting images?
Clicking the image doesn't open their website either, only the image (there).


Last edited by Retrofan; 29 November 2015 at 12:51.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 29 November 2015, 12:55   #9
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
My links don't download anything, they just show the image.
Also "This website has been reported as unsafe". By whom? The other webs hosting images?
Clicking the image doesn't open their website either, only the image (there).

I know your image does not download my friend I just reported a possible virus alert as shown by smart screen which I know some people think is a pile of do do
supaduper is offline  
Old 29 November 2015, 13:09   #10
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Use Chrome or Firefox instead and you won't see those lies.

Edit: I'm sorry I haven't received the clockport risers so I can't try the sytem yet.

Last edited by Retrofan; 06 December 2015 at 17:24.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 17 December 2015, 02:57   #11
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Just to update this I've got to tell that I'm sorry, I've received the clockport risers and the lights of both Prisma and RapidRoad are on, so right. But the system wasn't booting but showing the insert disk screen. I've tried pressing the FastAta, just in case it had something wrong with the connection, but I've taked out the Cd drive and I've seen that somehow while inserting some Cf HD one of the pins got inside of the CF adapter and the soldering of it broke.

It would be very difficult to solder it right again, so I've ordered another CF adapter from Ireland that will take a week or so to get here.

That wasn't the only thing I was missing. I've seen now that I don't have a cable that has the dual mono jacks the Prisma needs and at the same time on the other side two RCA connectors for my HiFi, so I will have to buy them. Edit: Ok, I need two mono 3.5 jacks to rca converters like these: http://www.ebay.es/itm/361450187659?...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

With the couple of Clockport risers now the Clockport expander sits over the FastAta now, touching it. It will be a tight fit with all of the cables I've got to get the keyboard resting without problems.

Last edited by Retrofan; 20 December 2015 at 02:41.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 19 December 2015, 02:19   #12
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
I think I should update the upgrade with pictures. So now, although I've got to change the CF adapter, I've got to show how the components will be placed.

The Prisma and the RapidRoad are positioned using double sided sticking tape.

The clockport expander from DJBase as I told rests over the Fast ATA MKIV with a couple of clockport risers from Amigakit and I've desoldered the connector on the right and soldered it again with 90 pins to be under the board, so changing them to be horizontally instead of vertically.

There is an Indi MKII -first model- under them, using a Kipper2K's HDMI adapter. I've put a piece of plastic film between the Indi cable and the Fast ATA because the pins of this last -although they have been filed- could cut the Indi cables as a result of the pressure of the keyboard.

Both the Clockport expander and the Prisma have insulation tape under them.

I forgot to tell that the original Amiga sockets for the kickstarts were desoldered from the mobo and I use sockets for round pins that are better for the Fast ATA.



Edit (22/dec): I'm still awaiting for the CF adapter, but I want to be sure the keyboard isn't touched by the new add-ons -no preasure on it-, so the best way to be sure is to place a transparent Perspex board instead of the keyboard:



Well, this is after taking out the right plastic socket connector of the Prisma and filing it down 1 mm at the bottom and then cutting the pins that same mm and then refitting the plastic socket. I had also filed the bottom corner of the black plastic ribbon female end that plugs on the Prisma, but I will file it a bit more. As you can see (well, you can't) it actually just touches it, so just filing it a bit more it just won't touch it.

I'll be also using a cable tie to catch the fan I've got over the Indi, using the holes the original metal shielding has, as you can see.

Edit: This is an update of the interior as not all of the clockport connectors work right with the Prisma and the RapidRoad:


Last edited by Retrofan; 02 November 2016 at 18:29.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 27 December 2015, 20:11   #13
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Small update.
Well, I've had a lot of problems. The Fast ATA doesn't seem to work now, so I've detached it. Also the CF adapter I bought had made me nuts, as the system wasn't booting and I've seen -after trying all of the rest- it was because of it. First time it happens to me that a new CF adapter doesn't work.

It wasn't just the Fast ATA wasn't working, but also that while trying what was wrong -the adapter-, taking in and out the Fast ATA, a male pin of the sockets that inserts in the female sockets of the mobo -round pin sockets that I've got soldered instead of the originals- broke, so I had to disconnect all, take out the mobo and solder a new female pin to it.

So today, finally, I've taked out the Fast ATA and I've installed another CF adapter and I've tried the RapidRoad with the Clockport Expander and it works . I've tried with a pendrive.

I will wait to have the audio connectors to install the software of the Prisma.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 02 November 2016, 18:17   #14
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
As I promised a video, this is a video of my A1200 using the new Prisma Megamix playing streaming radios with Wifi.


[ Show youtube player ]
Retrofan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
swap Fully-loaded-A600-for-a-060-axx-for-a4000 roomeo MarketPlace 0 03 June 2015 05:57
My A1200D Project phipscube Hardware mods 307 02 April 2013 21:13
My A1200D =) fitzsteve Hardware pics 33 03 October 2010 14:41
WANTED: 1d1 Amiga 1200 or 1d1 motherboard Wasagi MarketPlace 0 16 August 2010 01:11
FS: FULLY LOADED A3000, a bare bone A3000 and lots of Amiga Stuff! emc_errol MarketPlace 0 30 January 2009 22:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23702 seconds with 11 queries