English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 November 2015, 07:17   #61
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 302
Yes, there us a hughe difference in warranty if you sell as company or a used item between private person.

Cheers,
McT
McTrinsic is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 30 November 2015, 15:35   #62
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 901
Every couple of months...

Whiny bit... err I mean fellow Amigans: "Hey Jens, why don't you make this and that?"
Jens: "Because of the possible complications with these and those."
Amigans: "Oh yes, we understand, but why wont you make it?"
Jens: "Again... because of the possible complications with these and those!"
Amigans: "Yes yes, but why wont you make it?"
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 30 November 2015, 16:02   #63
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 2,343
Yeah, I couldn't part with my Blizzard 1260 either, it still makes the machine feel "modern" in use. But if you look at the classic market, the majority of people buying new hardware are generally looking for WHDLoad-class machines, and when that's the case they probably won't be playing many games that benefit from faster than an 030.

The problem of reputation being tarnished by some people being incompetent or trying to use fake CPUs is made more of an issue by how small the market is. You just have to look at threads where people ask what X or Y retailer/developer is like, and there'll be plenty of people to volunteer stories of bad experiences. If you look at these enough, you start to see that it's usually the exact same story being trotted out again and again, magnifying the small issue that there was into something that can seem rampant. So, even if you get one person who physically broke their chip because they didn't have the right tools (I've seen this done with PGA chips before!), that same story will show up everywhere because everyone likes to propagate tales of woe.

Given the smaller market and the higher risk involved, I'm not sure I'd bother either.
Daedalus is online now  
Old 30 November 2015, 19:17   #64
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,424
It will be interesting to see what happens once (if) Vampire 1200 hits the market. It will severely shift the CPU/$ value compared to anything icomp has to offer...
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 30 November 2015, 19:17   #65
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Aga View Post
Every couple of months...

Whiny bit... err I mean fellow Amigans: "Hey Jens, why don't you make this and that?"
Jens: "Because of the possible complications with these and those."
Amigans: "Oh yes, we understand, but why wont you make it?"
Jens: "Again... because of the possible complications with these and those!"
Amigans: "Yes yes, but why wont you make it?"
Too true, sadly.
Akira is online now  
Old 30 November 2015, 21:32   #66
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 633
Please explain to me why it still is such a challenge to get an FPGA based board? These CPUs are used in more than used Amigas. They can be emulated in software. So I would expect it the instruction set can be re-translated into VHDL or whathever you need to design a FPGA image???

To me, just implementing the CPU in a FPGA seems a lot easier than a whole amiga in the case of a MiniMig/Mist/Arcade.
spudje is offline  
Old 30 November 2015, 22:20   #67
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 767
So how does mounting of the FPU and chrystal socket work, soldering and void warranty required, or not?
kolla is offline  
Old 01 December 2015, 02:43   #68
Marmes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 91
I don't think there are many amiga accelerators that memory goes beyond 80 Mhz. These boards can have memory speeds above 100 Mhz, making it as fast as a PC100 memory from those times. Does it compensate to have a 030 wich equals to a 386, going with prices as high as it's asked. Unfortunatly not for my wallet, but you have a unique technology on amiga if you get one.
Marmes is offline  
Old 01 December 2015, 16:03   #69
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
So how does mounting of the FPU and chrystal socket work, soldering and void warranty required, or not?
Only the ACA1233 has the required preparations for an FPU. And yes, you need to solder. A canned crystal *can* be used, but you can also just close the solder-jumper to route CPU clock to the FPU.

Adding an FPU may make the whole system instable. In that case, it may help to switch off burst mode.

Any soldering on the card(s) will void warranty. I do not recommend adding an FPU.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 01 December 2015, 19:20   #70
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 767
OK, fair enough, I am better off with my old Blizzard then.
kolla is offline  
Old 01 December 2015, 22:33   #71
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
No, it wouldn't. Especially at the price it would be at.
Jens explained it before (also here more recently)and it makes a lot of sense. The cheaper, more modestly powered boards are top sellers, NOT the high end models.

It's a shame he won't produce any without a cpu. That would be the only way it would be affordable.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 02 December 2015, 11:39   #72
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by TjLaZer View Post
It's a shame he won't produce any without a cpu. That would be the only way it would be affordable.
*sigh*

Yet another person that believes component cost is the main cost factor in such a product. No, it isn't. it's just that I'm not willing to pay hundreds of dollars for a CPU that's just not worth it. If I did that, I'd either have to accept that the person selling the CPU gets more money than I would (at much less effort), or I'd have to make the unit extremely expensive (by means of "4-digit amount"). Both isn't acceptable.

Let chip brokers sit on their 040/060 stock. Do not feed them. Do not bid on eBay offerings with these CPUs, as this will drive up prices. Do not play around with a (trial-)broker account and offer lots of $$$ for these processors. This worked fine around 2012/2013 for 68030 processors, and this can work again for 040/060 processors. If there is no movement in these chips for 12-18 months, prices will go down to OK-levels.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 02 December 2015, 12:47   #73
locksmith
Registered User

locksmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: south east
Posts: 107
hello I have a blizzard 1230 Iv its not working for some reason just wanted to know how much I would get for it as I hate looking at it love to get it repaired but it may be better to buy a cheap low end one but I love my blizzard maybe why im still looking at it lol
locksmith is offline  
Old 02 December 2015, 13:06   #74
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
Let chip brokers sit on their 040/060 stock. Do not feed them. Do not bid on eBay offerings with these CPUs, as this will drive up prices. Do not play around with a (trial-)broker account and offer lots of $$$ for these processors. This worked fine around 2012/2013 for 68030 processors, and this can work again for 040/060 processors. If there is no movement in these chips for 12-18 months, prices will go down to OK-levels.

Jens
So there are still big enough stocks of 040s and 060s around? Interesting... Fingers crossed that prices will go down and that you'll be able to produce something with 040/060. Even 040s would be good enough as you could at least sell a finished and tested product and then offer a "060 mode" as untested and at buyer's risk
jbenam is offline  
Old 02 December 2015, 13:10   #75
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 39
Posts: 1,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by locksmith View Post
hello I have a blizzard 1230 Iv its not working for some reason just wanted to know how much I would get for it as I hate looking at it love to get it repaired but it may be better to buy a cheap low end one but I love my blizzard maybe why im still looking at it lol
If you have enough money to buy a new one, if I were you, I would better get a repair quote from stachu. In the end, if you get it repaired, you may end up with a much better accelerator (FPU + RTC + no motherboard issues to fix).
gulliver is offline  
Old 02 December 2015, 23:18   #76
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,171
What's too expensive for a 040 or 060 chip today? I've seen plenty of 040's for $20-$30 and 060's in the $100-$160 range. I get that releasing a board with no CPU makes it hard to warranty but that should be stated that there is no warranty for untested CPUs. Keep the costs down and there will be plenty of us that will buy such a board. Just my take. All for an 040/060 that is sold with chips too. Hopefully one day.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 02 December 2015, 23:25   #77
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by TjLaZer View Post
What's too expensive for a 040 or 060 chip today?
Dude, he just explained the whole thing to you. Clearly.
"Yet another person that believes component cost is the main cost factor in such a product."

Give it a break.
Akira is online now  
Old 02 December 2015, 23:44   #78
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by TjLaZer View Post
What's too expensive for a 040 or 060 chip today?
I am accumulating 040s at 2-3 times the gold price (max. 7.50 EUR each) and 060s at up to five times the gold price: The most expensive XC68060 I've bought lately was 16.50 USD.

Rev.6 mask of the 68060 is something different; I pay up to 30,- EUR each. This is the only way to give an outlook on an 060 card for under 800,- EUR.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 02 December 2015, 23:51   #79
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Dude, he just explained the whole thing to you. Clearly.
"Yet another person that believes component cost is the main cost factor in such a product."

Give it a break.

Dude why don't you chill the hell out? We are having a discussion here and some of us are learning. I'm clearly no expert, and neither are you.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 03 December 2015, 00:33   #80
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,314
You're the one badgering a person with questions that he answered for you already, not me, so chilling is in place for yourself.
Akira is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A1200 Accelerators / Microbotics: M1230 XA emulation Ridrok support.WinUAE 1 13 November 2015 18:47
Question regarding A1200 accelerators Kenan support.Hardware 22 05 June 2013 20:46
REQ: A1200 Accelerators reviews (scans from magazines). PaperMario21 AMR suggestions and feedback 4 25 July 2007 01:58
Any interested in buying NEW PPC and 68K accelerators for A1200? keropi MarketPlace 8 23 February 2005 01:20
Amiga 500/2000 Accelerators For Sale (Derringer 68030 50MHz...) rlake MarketPlace 7 28 September 2004 21:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28244 seconds with 11 queries