English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 November 2015, 15:26   #1
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
New 68030 accelerators for A1200

The ACA1233-40 has been out of stock for a while now, but there are two new top models with 68030 processors, full MMU and 128MByte memory available as limited editions: The ACA1232 with 50MHz and the ACA1233 with 55.55MHz. Both cards use a new SD-Ram controller that was developed specifically for the higher-speed versions of these accelerators. In addition to that, chipram access speed has been optimized.

Please note that these limited editions are only available in very small quantity. We have therefore set an order limit of one per customer.
Schoenfeld is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 November 2015, 21:20   #2
tassel
Tassel / LaBaN

tassel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Kristiansand / Norway
Posts: 42
Wish I could afford this. it is a fantastic accelerator card . keep the hardware come . you make me bankrupt with all you hardware
tassel is offline  
Old 24 November 2015, 22:08   #3
Amicol
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Hartlepool / England
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by tassel View Post
Wish I could afford this. it is a fantastic accelerator card . keep the hardware come . you make me bankrupt with all you hardware
Same here, but I can't risk robbing another bank

My 060 accelerator was only slightly more expensive...
Amicol is offline  
Old 24 November 2015, 22:38   #4
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 629
Will they work on Amiga Reloaded?
spudje is offline  
Old 24 November 2015, 22:49   #5
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,419
@Schoenfeldt have you ever accessed your site from an Android phone? AFAIK Its broken...
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 24 November 2015, 23:40   #6
Hodor
Retro Human

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Spain
Posts: 73
300€ itīs a bit far from my budget. They are pretty cards otherwise.
Hodor is offline  
Old 25 November 2015, 00:21   #7
crazyc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gravesend - UK
Posts: 408
I somewhat agree about price but have you noticed what B1230s have been going for on ebay? For old cards with no warranty and missing some of the improvements in the new cards?

I am a Blizzard fan personally but prices have gone a bit nuts in the last year..
crazyc is offline  
Old 25 November 2015, 00:50   #8
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 767
If it was with 68882, I would buy one, or if I can easily move the FPU from my Blizzard 1230III. Kinda tedious with these "very close to what I want" products, why must it be so insanely difficult to get a fully functional new CPU/MMU/FPU card with reasonable ammounts of RAM, something that actually is an upgrade from old Blizzard cards

Last edited by kolla; 25 November 2015 at 02:31.
kolla is offline  
Old 25 November 2015, 02:36   #9
Marmes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 91
Why are they so expensive? Comparing with what was sold in the beggining of this year? what are the diferences? Appart from the 15.5 Mhz increase?
Does it come with chocolate?
Marmes is offline  
Old 25 November 2015, 04:48   #10
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,170
Supply/demand
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 25 November 2015, 07:19   #11
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 302
Its the guarantee to work as specified. Parts are pushed to the limit.
McTrinsic is offline  
Old 25 November 2015, 08:58   #12
Yulquen74
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Kleppe / Norway
Posts: 162
got mine last week. looking forward to test it.
Yulquen74 is offline  
Old 25 November 2015, 11:13   #13
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marmes View Post
Why are they so expensive? Comparing with what was sold in the beggining of this year? what are the diferences? Appart from the 15.5 Mhz increase?
The SD-Ram controller is the main development of this CPU card, and that had to be developed "from scratch" for these higher-clocked cards. This development must be paid for with a tiny amount of cards. Further, the 55.55MHz versions went through a burn-in test that the 50MHz cards don't need to pass.

Cheaper cards don't seem possible for me at this point. I don't have any trustworthy source of CPUs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marmes View Post
Does it come with chocolate?
No, but it comes with warranty :-)

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 25 November 2015, 14:14   #14
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 629
Jens, will these cards work with Amiga Reloaded?
spudje is offline  
Old 25 November 2015, 15:08   #15
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by spudje View Post
Jens, will these cards work with Amiga Reloaded?
Yes, they will.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 25 November 2015, 15:51   #16
esc
 
Posts: n/a
Jens,

I'm interested in learning more about the SD-RAM controller. How is this different from past methods? What benefit does this have now? And is this something that you will be utilizing in future accelerators as well? Thanks, I don't have a need for one of these cards specifically at this time but that bit of information has piqued my interest.
 
Old 25 November 2015, 16:28   #17
Bester
 
Posts: n/a
Just ordered one, order ID 10000 at icomp.de (hopefully I get a chocolate for that ).

Will use it on my 1D.4 for now, but primarily will be for an Amiga Reloaded when released (thanks Jens for creating such things, love my C64 Reloaded).



 
Old 25 November 2015, 19:34   #18
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by esc View Post
I'm interested in learning more about the SD-RAM controller. How is this different from past methods?
Previously, the SD-Ram was clocked at twice the CPU speed. This would have required 100MHz ram clock, which is instable with the 10ns CPLDs. Further, at 100MHz, the setup and hold times of the old 68030 CPU cannot be met: 4.5ns setup before clock and 7.5ns hold after clock were only met with a trick on the 40MHz cards, but can't be met at 100MHz ram clock using the current ACA1232/1233 wiring.

The new controller works at the same speed as the CPU clock - that's the main difference.

Quote:
Originally Posted by esc View Post
What benefit does this have now?
It works reliably :-) Seriously, there are a few people who took the ACA1232 and overclocked it to 100MHz system clock, resulting in 50MHz CPU clock. Such a card is pretty fast (faster than the new cards I'm currently offering), but it's instable - it crashes after a few minutes warm-up time. Most of the customers who did that have sent me mails about going back to 80MHz system clock, which is the highest stable clock with the previous design.

Quote:
Originally Posted by esc View Post
And is this something that you will be utilizing in future accelerators as well?
Kind of. The next step would be to work with faster CPLDs (or an FPGA) and have another go at 100MHz (or more) system clock. The whole magic is in generating the right clock phases and reading the SD-Ram datasheets between the lines :-)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bester View Post
Just ordered one, order ID 10000 at icomp.de (hopefully I get a chocolate for that ).
Yep, seen the order - thanks. I think there is one "please pardon the inconvenience"-chocolate left from the C64 Reloaded update-round (that was before you got yours).

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 25 November 2015, 19:36   #19
esc
 
Posts: n/a
That is an excellent explanation and perfect responses to my questions. Maybe I'll order one as a just-in-case item. (just-in-case I need to buy another a1200 to use with this new accelerator!) Thanks
 
Old 25 November 2015, 23:56   #20
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,419
@Schoenfeldt I'm always impressed when new hardware comes out for the classic Amiga.
However, there is one thing I've wondered about, (and likely it has been asked numerous times before, but cant find the answer right now).
What is the main reason for not producing a 040 card? AFAIK 040 chips are easily obtainable and prices are reasonable.. (Heck, I have one lying around at home that Im not using).
(It could use the same "unlock system" as used on ACA1221?)
I have a vague memory of an argument that e.g. a 060 card would simply be too expensive, but seeing 030 cards @ €400 makes me question whether it would be possible to produce a 040 at that price?
eXeler0 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A1200 Accelerators / Microbotics: M1230 XA emulation Ridrok support.WinUAE 1 13 November 2015 18:47
Question regarding A1200 accelerators Kenan support.Hardware 22 05 June 2013 20:46
REQ: A1200 Accelerators reviews (scans from magazines). PaperMario21 AMR suggestions and feedback 4 25 July 2007 01:58
Any interested in buying NEW PPC and 68K accelerators for A1200? keropi MarketPlace 8 23 February 2005 01:20
Amiga 500/2000 Accelerators For Sale (Derringer 68030 50MHz...) rlake MarketPlace 7 28 September 2004 21:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.30030 seconds with 11 queries