English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 November 2015, 04:27   #1
G.A.Pster
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: portland USA
Posts: 8
Question Newblet with questions.

I bought some Amigas a while ago and am now finally playing around with them. Iíve got 4 Amigas and all they can do is display the ďhand holding diskĒ image for workbench V1.2. So Iím assuming I need a workbench disk(s)? I found workbench V2.1 locally, would it work or do I need v1.2? (http://portland.craigslist.org/wsc/sop/5318048180.html) And a couple more questions: How well do PC Amiga emulators work for playing games, do they work as well as Dosbox? Do games and other programs boot directly off the disk or does the workbench OS have to run first? thanks
G.A.Pster is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 November 2015, 07:14   #2
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 476
You may be able to boot WB2.1 on it, but not everything will work and colors might be off etc, but for testing and for some things it even may work. In any case it isn't designed to be used across the different Kickstart (ROM) versions.

Games and other bootable disks will boot without the Workbench disk. WB is only needed if you want to use the actual OS, but with games etc you'll do without it.

Amiga emulators are pretty good, and WinUAE even excellent, to emulate Amigas. But you need pretty much knowledge about Amigas to set them up. And they never can give you the exact feeling and smoothness of a real 50Hz/60Hz CRT display
jPV is offline  
Old 24 November 2015, 08:36   #3
G.A.Pster
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: portland USA
Posts: 8
Since I canít obtain workbench it being copy written, and even if I could it might or might not work with my ROM.

Is there any freeware amiga program for copying disks, than can read PC formatted disks?

I read with WB 2.0 onward files can be read from PC formatted disks. (Doesnít do me any good)
G.A.Pster is offline  
Old 24 November 2015, 14:34   #4
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 914
If you want a legal license for Workbench, you can buy a suitable version of Amiga Forever.

Someone with appropriate hardware can make a physical floppy for you to use (if there's no one close by in North America, I'll be happy to do it). That is by far the easiest way to get started.

Games, for the most part, boot by themselves. Application software may or may not depend on Workbench - usually the early stuff had a bare-bones setup included so it could work stand-alone.
ajk is offline  
Old 25 November 2015, 02:37   #5
G.A.Pster
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: portland USA
Posts: 8
Smile

Would WB v1.3 (included in the AF Value Edition) work with my WB v1.2 ROMs?

Can I boot WB off of a CF card with adapter and not need a WB disk? (I have A500s)

Is there any kind of like "dos" mode I can get into for testing the keyboards without having a disk? (maybe hold some combination of keys?)

thanks for all the help. And thanks for the offer.
G.A.Pster is offline  
Old 27 November 2015, 14:59   #6
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 914
I believe Workbench 1.3 should work fine with Kickstart 1.2. IIRC the main difference from 1.2 to 1.3 was something related to hard drives, shouldn't be a major issue with a floppy based system.

You haven't said which Amiga models you have, but with Kickstart 1.2 I'm guessing A1000, A500 or A2000 models.

You can't use a CF card since the A500 does not have a hard drive controller. You'll need extra hardware, etiher old or modern.

An A2000 may have a hard drive controller installed, you'll have to check inside. Though Kickstart 1.2 would lead me to think that you haven't got one.

The A1000 is the trickiest to upgrade in any way.

As for testing the keyboard(s), ctrl-amiga-amiga should reset the computer. Probably no way to test them more thoroughly without a bootable floppy. Even "dos" needs to be loaded from somewhere
ajk is offline  
Old 27 November 2015, 15:36   #7
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,527
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajk View Post
I believe Workbench 1.3 should work fine with Kickstart 1.2.
There are two modules in WB 1.3 which don't work with Kick 1.2. One is printer.device and I don't remember the other one. But this does not hinder the disk from booting.

WB 2.0+ cannot boot on Kick 1.x.

BTW, if you don't have at least one Amiga which boots, you need somebody who sends you WB on a real floppy disk. There is no way to write a downloaded file to an Amiga floppy disk without a running Amiga (or special expensive PC hardware).
thomas is offline  
Old 29 November 2015, 08:43   #8
G.A.Pster
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: portland USA
Posts: 8
I have A500s and Amiga 1000s
Thanks guys.
It's good news I can use WB 1.3, I think maybe I'll buy AF Value Edition and see if anyone stateside can put it on a disk for me.

One last question just out of curiosity.
Can old apples, tandy, atari or some other computer write Amiga format floppies?
G.A.Pster is offline  
Old 29 November 2015, 08:55   #9
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by G.A.Pster View Post
I have A500s and Amiga 1000s
Thanks guys.
It's good news I can use WB 1.3, I think maybe I'll buy AF Value Edition and see if anyone stateside can put it on a disk for me.
And with A1000 you'll also need the Kickstart disk to boot before you can boot Workbench or any other disk, because Kickstart isn't on ROM on A1000 like it's on the other models.
jPV is offline  
Old 01 December 2015, 06:56   #10
kneehighspy
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: cerulean / usa
Posts: 73
if you are in north america, i may be able to help you with disks, i have a 1000 and an amiga 3000d.
kneehighspy is offline  
Old 01 December 2015, 15:32   #11
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
You might want to look at a pre flashed Gotek drive. It's a floppy drive emulator that can read adf's like real floppies
Arnie is offline  
Old 07 December 2015, 10:57   #12
illy5603
Registered User
illy5603's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SPaT CiTY
Posts: 509
Send a message via MSN to illy5603
Hi G.A.

One nice thing about having an A1000 and a 500 with 1.2 roms is that you can most likely play all of those cool old EA games like "Dr. J and Larry Bird go One on One" and "Marble Madness" correctly. Those were the two games I wanted to play the most when I bought my A500 in 1989 but by that time, they came with 1.3 roms and those games didn't like that at all. I never did get to play them until WHDload came out and people starting hacking games to work on it.

Get workbench disks made for you if you can, or just start buying some old games off of one of the bays and forget about workbench all together. There really isn't much to do with floppy based workbench IMHO. I guess it's interesting if you have never used it, but not very useful without a hard disk.
illy5603 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Various Questions Pheonix support.Hardware 0 06 January 2015 05:28
Various questions Feltzkrone project.SPS (was CAPS) 17 09 November 2010 12:11
2 or 3 questions mickyclarke New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 04 November 2005 11:55
Questions mwertz support.WinUAE 4 23 December 2003 18:31
A few questions! One1 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 2 30 October 2002 17:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18952 seconds with 11 queries