English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 November 2015, 15:28   #1
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 34
Posts: 2,583
Building an amiga arcade stick

Hello there.

I was wondering, how hard would it be to build an amiga 2-button arcade stick from scratch? Has anyone ever tried to do it?

I guess it would be really easy...

A very newbie question about it:would I need to vandalize a master system/mega drive pad, or could I make one just wiring a female 9db connector directly to the +connections of the stick/buttons while grounding the ground connectors?
Shatterhand is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 November 2015, 16:58   #2
robinsonb5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shatterhand View Post
could I make one just wiring a female 9db connector directly to the +connections of the stick/buttons while grounding the ground connectors?
Yes, that's all you need to do for a 2-button stick. Things get more complicated if you want to build one with many buttons, and have them work as a CD32 pad or something - but a simple 2-button stick is just a case of connecting the right wires.
robinsonb5 is offline  
Old 23 November 2015, 18:52   #3
ReadOnlyCat
Code Kitten

 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Montreal/Canadia
Age: 46
Posts: 1,001
Why limit yourself to two buttons when the hardware supports three natively?
There are three digital input lines on the DB9 so there is no reason to connect only two of them.
ReadOnlyCat is offline  
Old 23 November 2015, 19:16   #4
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 34
Posts: 2,583
But what would I do with the 3rd button? I don't think any game supports it...

I have an arcade stick here built with Sanwa parts, I could try to mod it, It looks like it would be really easy to do it
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 18 June 2016, 08:57   #5
ReadOnlyCat
Code Kitten

 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Montreal/Canadia
Age: 46
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shatterhand View Post
But what would I do with the 3rd button? I don't think any game supports it...

I have an arcade stick here built with Sanwa parts, I could try to mod it, It looks like it would be really easy to do it
The games I will write will support it.
ReadOnlyCat is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best USB Arcade Stick for use with WINUAE? ransom1122 Retrogaming General Discussion 39 04 November 2015 11:26
Xbox 360 arcade stick wireless lasborg support.FS-UAE 18 22 September 2015 08:23
Issues with my cocolino adapter and a Megadrive arcade stick Pichamelu support.Hardware 1 17 March 2012 07:35
[Advice] Which arcade stick to buy ? Leo42 Retrogaming General Discussion 1 22 August 2010 17:44
Which Arcade Stick? blade002 Retrogaming General Discussion 14 08 June 2009 23:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.15845 seconds with 11 queries