English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 November 2015, 15:46   #1
edd_jedi
Registered User
edd_jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London / UK
Posts: 396
Another Unreleased Game - Blaze

Haven't seen this mentioned on here yet, an amazing looking Sonic clone:

[ Show youtube player ]

Looking forward to trying it out later
edd_jedi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 November 2015, 15:47   #2
edd_jedi
Registered User
edd_jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London / UK
Posts: 396
More info here:

https://keithbugeja.wordpress.com/20...e-memory-lane/
edd_jedi is offline  
Old 16 November 2015, 15:52   #3
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,806
Some screenshots were posted here http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...ighlight=blaze ADF also in the Zone.
s2325 is online now  
Old 16 November 2015, 16:59   #4
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,274
Wow that game looks great!
Akira is online now  
Old 16 November 2015, 17:21   #5
mc68060
With MMU and FPU!

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: On your mainboard
Posts: 72
Wow, this is seriously amazing! It even has those Sonic loops! Definitely the best Sonic clone on the Amiga. Unfortunately, there are only two levels but it clearly shows that the A500 could have handled a Sonic clone. Great!
mc68060 is offline  
Old 16 November 2015, 17:39   #6
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Nice, but of course it runs in 25Hz/fps. Full 50fps at that speed? Maybe on AGA only.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 16 November 2015, 18:18   #7
edd_jedi
Registered User
edd_jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London / UK
Posts: 396
I'm going to try it on my real Amiga later, will report back how it runs. From the video it looks like the best platform game I've ever seen on the Amiga. Granted much of it is lifted from Sonic, but it's incredibly well executed and puts most commercial games to shame.
edd_jedi is offline  
Old 16 November 2015, 19:50   #8
Joe Maroni
Moderator

Joe Maroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 38
Posts: 1,278
Send a message via MSN to Joe Maroni
new stuff for AGTW.....
and a gamemap of the first level...

I think we have enough talents here on board to complete the game....

edit: full map will be added with HOL entry...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot.png
Views:	416
Size:	112.3 KB
ID:	46272  

Last edited by Joe Maroni; 16 November 2015 at 19:54. Reason: png size imited...:(
Joe Maroni is offline  
Old 16 November 2015, 20:55   #9
Adrian Browne
Jackie Chan
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ireland
Age: 40
Posts: 652
It's sonic the hedgehog in all but name. Looks impressive except for the distant background - it needs some colour.
But perhaps the lack of detail in the background was a trade off for speed?
Adrian Browne is offline  
Old 16 November 2015, 21:36   #10
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,274
Did anyone manage to get this running on their real A1200?
If I run it from Workbench on a mounted ADF, I get graphic corruption.

Trying to run it from disk has failed several times, I think all my blank diskettes are fucked.

Trying to softkick my A1200 to 1.3 results in the system not recognizing the disk. It says DF0:BAD on Workbench. The bootblock is non-standard for some reason, but I couldn't recognize if it was a virus or not. Viruschecker came out clean but I don't have BootX to check the bootblock.

Can anybody investigate?
Akira is online now  
Old 16 November 2015, 22:15   #11
PortuguesePilot
The Son of Luso
PortuguesePilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Setúbal, Portugal
Posts: 368
This is extremely impressive technically and gameplay-wise and proves that, in the hands of a crafty programmer, the simple A500 was capable of pulling a proper Sonic clone. We can only imagine what a A1200 would be able to pull off!

How unfortunate that this game wasn't finished. I reckon that adding more levels, menus, music and sound would "weight" the game down a bit and I also agree that the backgrounds deserved at least some different colours (this sort of game looks always better when there are plenty of primary colours on screen). But what we get to see from this simple preview is already very impressive.

Owing to the Sonic-craze that, as many of you probably remember, was very palpable back in the day, Blaze would have made it big on the Amiga had it been sold as a finished product.
PortuguesePilot is offline  
Old 16 November 2015, 22:18   #12
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Nice, but of course it runs in 25Hz/fps. Full 50fps at that speed? Maybe on AGA only.
I reckon A500 could handle 50fps, scrolling isn't that much of an overhead and there's really not that much CPU work going on, the Megadrive doesn't have faster CPU than A500 anyway.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adrian Browne View Post
It's sonic the hedgehog in all but name. Looks impressive except for the distant background - it needs some colour.
But perhaps the lack of detail in the background was a trade off for speed?
OCS/ECS really isn't so great when it comes to backgrounds. Using hardware dual playfield means you only get 7 colours on the foreground, which is seriously restrictive. Some good artists can make it work, but it requires compromises to be made.

I presume the background is made entirely out of sprites and copper effects.
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 17 November 2015, 03:31   #13
Joe Maroni
Moderator

Joe Maroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 38
Posts: 1,278
Send a message via MSN to Joe Maroni
Get sprites from here:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=80352

And HOL entry was already created....

Blaze

Last edited by Joe Maroni; 17 November 2015 at 03:32. Reason: added link
Joe Maroni is offline  
Old 17 November 2015, 11:15   #14
edd_jedi
Registered User
edd_jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London / UK
Posts: 396
Can't get it to run on my A4000 via Workbench or booting from floppy. Is it easy to make a WHDLoad install for it?
edd_jedi is offline  
Old 17 November 2015, 18:24   #15
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,274
Quote:
Originally Posted by edd_jedi View Post
Can't get it to run on my A4000 via Workbench or booting from floppy. Is it easy to make a WHDLoad install for it?
I guess you are facing the same problems I am. Gets stuck on floppy load after black screen? Corrupted graphics when ran from Workbench?
Anybody did manage to run this on a real AGA machine? Does it really run on 1.3 machines? And what's with the custom bootblock, is it a virus or what?
Akira is online now  
Old 17 November 2015, 18:59   #16
quahappy
Born again WinUAE user

quahappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South Yorkshire, UK
Age: 49
Posts: 1,661
Wow. This is extremely impressive! Played it that much I almost forgot that this was on WinUAE and not the MegaDrive lol.

I'm not technically minded but am in total agreement with Joe that it would be wonderful if someone (or more) took this on board and finished it.
quahappy is offline  
Old 17 November 2015, 19:03   #17
mc68060
With MMU and FPU!

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: On your mainboard
Posts: 72
Could this be used to port Sonic 2 to the A500? AFAIR Sonic 2 has been disassembled and commented and all the data files are available. If they could be converted to the BLAZE level format, it could really work out.
mc68060 is offline  
Old 17 November 2015, 19:15   #18
Neil79
Registered User
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 38
Posts: 2,518
Neil79 is online now  
Old 17 November 2015, 19:35   #19
PortuguesePilot
The Son of Luso
PortuguesePilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Setúbal, Portugal
Posts: 368
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
(...) Does it really run on 1.3 machines?(...)
Yes, it does. I've tested it on my Amiga 500 with the original 1.3 256k ROM and a 512kb RAM expansion. It loads perfectly just like in WinUAE.

I don't own any AGA machine (sadly), so I cannot test Blaze with the AGA chipset or KS 3.x. Sorry.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mc68060 View Post
Could this be used to port Sonic 2 to the A500? AFAIR Sonic 2 has been disassembled and commented and all the data files are available. If they could be converted to the BLAZE level format, it could really work out.
Though not a bad idea, I think that Blaze is a nice game in itself and deserves to be finished as it was once idealized. In some aspects, I consider Blazer to be better than the original Sonic the Hedgehog.

The ideal scenario would be for someone to finish Blaze up and someone else use its engine and port Sonic over the Amiga (with a "delay" of only two decades and a half :P).
PortuguesePilot is offline  
Old 17 November 2015, 21:35   #20
edd_jedi
Registered User
edd_jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London / UK
Posts: 396
I'm not too interested in a Sonic 2 port, this is exciting because it's a new game.
edd_jedi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Game unreleased-Nuxelia- vitux project.aGTW 91 21 April 2017 23:06
Unreleased Amiga Game?? hansel75 Amiga scene 3 05 February 2014 16:01
unreleased game Antheus Tony Landais HOL suggestions and feedback 5 20 May 2013 10:36
Convert my unreleased game to WHDLoad? jimmy2x2x Games images which need to be WHDified 52 16 April 2011 23:20
Once again, an unreleased game is found! dlfrsilver project.aGTW 82 20 October 2008 00:22

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.30712 seconds with 12 queries