English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 November 2015, 22:34   #1
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,958
WinUAE 3.2.0 released

WinUAE 3.2.0 released. http://www.winuae.net/

Major updates:

- 64-bit compatible 680x0 JIT.
- 64-bit compatible PPC emulation.
- PCI bridgeboards.
- Commodore PC/AT bridgeboards.
- A2410 RTG Zorro II board
- DCTV video port graphics adapter (Partially)
- Genlock "emulation", including transparency and ECS genlock features.
- Directory harddrive and hardfile KS 1.2 and older full autoboot support.

New emulated expansion hardware:

Accelerator boards:
- DKB Wildfire

HD controllers:
- 3-State Apollo 500/2000
- A2090 previously missing ST-506 support
- Elaborate Bytes A.L.F.
- Kupke Golem Fast SCSI/IDE
- Mainhattan Data Paradox SCSI
- Multi Evolution 500/2000
- OMTI-Adapter
- Spirit Technology HDA-506
- Tecmar T-Card/T-Disk
- Vortex System 2000
- Xebec 9720H

Commodore x86 bridgeboards:
- A1060 (A1000 Sidecar)
- A2088
- A2088T
- A2286
- A2386SX

x86 bridgeboard expansion devices:
- AT IDE HD controller (A2286 and A2386SX)
- XTIDE Universal BIOS compatible IDE HD controller.
- ISA VGA display card (Cirrus Logic GD542x based)

PCI bridgeboards:
- G-REX
- Mediator 1200/4000
- Prometheus

PCI bridgeboard compatible PCI cards:
- FM801 sound card
- ES1370 (SB128) sound card
- RTL8029 network card

Notes:

- SSE2 capable CPU is now required.

Other Updates:

- CD and sound card emulation audio output quality improved.
- 68020/030 prefetch emulation improved.
- High DPI display support improved.
- AGA subpixel scrolling emulated.
- Support shortcut paths (.lnk) in command line.
- More undocumented chipset features supported.
- Right control = right Windows key option.
- Memory accesses only -cycle-exact mode.
- UAE devices (uaeserial etc) are compatible with KS 1.2 and older.
- Improved compatibility with very old A500 config files.

Bug fixes:

- WinPCap network mode didn't detect any devices.
- 68030 data cache emulation fixes.
- Custom to/from RTG mode switch didn't check for filter changes.
- JIT on/off on the fly change (outside of GUI) was unreliable.
- Keyboard layout changed (B/C only) during device re-enumeration.
- D3D9 non-shader mode forgot scanline texture when switching modes.
- Audio wave recording created huge broken wave files.
- It was not possible to select HDF PCMCIA SRAM and IDE options.
- Flash ROM and RTC file dialogs didn't allow creation of new files.

And more.

[bug reports in this thread will be ignored]
Toni Wilen is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 November 2015, 02:11   #2
jdryyz
Registered User

jdryyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 65
jdryyz is offline  
Old 12 November 2015, 02:51   #3
Neil79
Senior Member
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 38
Posts: 2,518
Neil79 is offline  
Old 12 November 2015, 06:56   #4
stevsurv
Beta 1.666
stevsurv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in 1985
Posts: 229
stevsurv is offline  
Old 12 November 2015, 07:49   #5
modrobert
old bearded fool

modrobert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bangkok
Age: 50
Posts: 425
Quote:
- 64-bit compatible 680x0 JIT.
modrobert is online now  
Old 12 November 2015, 07:50   #6
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 41
Posts: 3,159
turrican3 is offline  
Old 12 November 2015, 09:02   #7
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 767
Wow, what is left to emulate now?!
kolla is offline  
Old 12 November 2015, 10:17   #8
HOL2001
Amigamaniac

HOL2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Neheim / Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 465
Many thanks!
HOL2001 is offline  
Old 12 November 2015, 10:30   #9
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
Excellent stuff. Many thanks Toni
DamienD is offline  
Old 12 November 2015, 10:50   #10
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 302
Great!

Thanks!!

Woot!

As a side note, how would I file a request for a specific hardware to be emulated?

Cheers,
McT
McTrinsic is offline  
Old 12 November 2015, 12:15   #11
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,552
Quote:
Originally Posted by McTrinsic View Post
As a side note, how would I file a request for a specific hardware to be emulated?
http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=56
thomas is offline  
Old 12 November 2015, 12:42   #12
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,943
Many thanks for years of hard work. I hope we can find many more interesting things for you to emulate.
alexh is offline  
Old 12 November 2015, 12:55   #13
esc
 
Posts: n/a
Hi Toni,

How can someone use the Mediator emulation without a PCI Graphics card being emulated as well? I was under the impression the Mediator relied on using some of the RAM on a PCI Graphics card in order to operate.
 
Old 12 November 2015, 13:26   #14
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 486
Quote:
Originally Posted by esc View Post
Hi Toni,

How can someone use the Mediator emulation without a PCI Graphics card being emulated as well? I was under the impression the Mediator relied on using some of the RAM on a PCI Graphics card in order to operate.
You can use Mediator without a graphics card, all drivers won't require it. For example 10Mbps NICs (10/100 OTOH will require it), sound cards, and modems do work without a gfx card.
jPV is offline  
Old 12 November 2015, 13:49   #15
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,600
Toni your name will stand out forever in time for being the greatest ever emulator coder. And aren't we all lucky that its for the greatest machine ever AMIGA.

ransom1122 is offline  
Old 12 November 2015, 14:01   #16
CMTX
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Mallorca es Funki
Posts: 34
This emulator is becoming something very HUGE, congratulations!!
CMTX is offline  
Old 12 November 2015, 14:06   #17
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,176
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Thanks Toni for this great job, it's so good to get it better and better each time !
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 12 November 2015, 14:17   #18
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 646
WinUAE 3.2.0 released

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
WinUAE 3.2.0 released. [url]http://www.winuae.net/

Amazing work Toni.. You are a coding machine.

When i get some $$. I will donate again and I encourage everyone else to do so. Think about how much you spend on new plastic cases and accelerator cards and other add-ons.. And how awesome WinUAE is..
Vot is offline  
Old 12 November 2015, 14:45   #19
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vot View Post
I will donate again and I encourage everyone else to do so.
I have multiple times and well worth doing for all the hard work / dedication Toni puts into WinUAE and this community
DamienD is offline  
Old 12 November 2015, 17:15   #20
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,958
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
Wow, what is left to emulate now?!
Lots of expansions, unfortunately boot ROM dumps are missing. Unexpanded A1200 compatibility is not good enough. And more.

Quote:
Originally Posted by esc View Post
How can someone use the Mediator emulation without a PCI Graphics card being emulated as well? I was under the impression the Mediator relied on using some of the RAM on a PCI Graphics card in order to operate.
PCI devices that don't require PCI DMA work, like NE2000 or RTL8029 network adapters.

Sound cards do require PCI DMA but it is also not problem under emulation, full PCI DMA can be optionally enabled (OS4 sound drivers located on non-classic install CDs do work in emulation if full PCI DMA is enabled, without any VRAM hacks).

In real world only G-REX can do to/from Amiga RAM PCI DMA transfers.
Toni Wilen is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 2.3.3 released Toni Wilen News 26 19 November 2011 00:01
WinUAE 2.3.1 released Toni Wilen News 20 14 March 2011 13:20
WinUAE 2.1.0 released Toni Wilen News 46 22 May 2010 11:52
WinUAE 2.0.1 released Toni Wilen News 17 30 December 2009 01:38
WinUAE 1.3.4 released Paul News 11 02 January 2007 05:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.31994 seconds with 11 queries