English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 October 2015, 22:41   #1
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 45
Posts: 1,884
booting a CD32 capable machine from HD

Hi,

For test purposes, I'd like to boot a machine using CD32 ROMS & CD-ROM hardware, but not burn a bootable ISO each time (I'd like to embed the RN CD32 track loader in a program of mine).

Would it work with WinUAE if I add a bootable hard drive to a standard CD32 config? (well, would it become a sort of custom SX32)?
jotd is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 October 2015, 23:18   #2
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,955
Yes, can connect the Hard disk CD32 on WinUAE, only thing you have to be careful not to touch in any way on the hard disk Windows, i enclose my old VideoTube showing how to do.

[ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 28 October 2015, 23:28   #3
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 45
Posts: 1,884
Nice & simple (well, simpler than with a real CD32!!!).
I meant "adding a bootable hard file" but that should work as well.
Thanks I'll try that
jotd is offline  
Old 29 October 2015, 00:13   #4
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,955
I did not understand fine, in video WinUAE boots directly from disk CD32
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 29 October 2015, 09:07   #5
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 45
Posts: 1,884
So no way to make it boot from HD?
jotd is offline  
Old 29 October 2015, 09:26   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
Normal directory or hardfile harddrive should work fine with CD32 config.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 29 October 2015, 09:53   #7
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,955
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
So no way to make it boot from HD?
Yes, wishing you can copy the contents of the Hard disk CD32 on a Hardfile Directory or Windows, and start it as HD to boot WinUAE, or as HD data.

The transaction made by me in the video, He served in the past to update the HD CD32 and to test future ISO for my CD32 expanded (CD32 SX32/030 750/MB) to create [ Show youtube player ] with the favorite games of my two children now aged over 30 years .

[ Show youtube player ] my Video Tube showing how to generate on AMiGA A4000 a ISO CD bootable for CD32

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 29 October 2015 at 10:11.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 29 October 2015, 13:18   #8
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 45
Posts: 1,884
Yeah, I was creating those CD32 bootable CDs with JST installs a long time ago.
Frustrating without WinUAE!! specially when CD-RWs are not recognized by the console.
Now I have an even better project for the unexpanded CD32, but I need to collect technical info first.
jotd is offline  
Old 29 October 2015, 15:55   #9
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,955
Mine Compilation It is different from that which has in the network, the GUI it is similar but the content is different, there are games in the Doom series and many games that start with WHDLoad that on a CD32 Standard 6820/2MB do not start for obvious reasons.
The tool to create this kind of Compilation is CD32ToolKitAssistant
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amithlon capable PC system Methanoid MarketPlace 0 19 June 2014 15:59
Any manual for booting Gloom 3 & 4 on real CD32 ?! nittamituaki support.Games 12 10 November 2012 06:14
Creating a Self-Booting CD32 CD (Here we go again...) Heavy Stylus support.Hardware 69 14 August 2008 19:08
Amiga 1200 capable AliasXZ New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 21 January 2008 10:49
CD32+SX32 problem booting CD32 discs Rochabian support.Hardware 6 28 February 2007 20:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18445 seconds with 11 queries